Omega 180i Protein Skimmer - Vertex

Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Vertex Omega Skimmer: Better than the Rest? | Product Spotlight
  • Vertex Omega 180i Protein Skimmer View 1

Omega 180i Protein Skimmer - Vertex

SKU: 208132
Performance
32 Review(s)
$499.99
Please wait...
OR
  • 2nd Review By on 8/24/2017

    So I am updating my review from about 2 years ago. Bought this for my first ever large scale tank (120g) I have not had a single problem with it. It puts out nasty skim that is very dark. I don't have any other skimmer to compare it to but I think this was one of the best investments I could have done for my tank. It continues to work great and is very quiet. Only thing I did not like about the skimmer was the small red PVC nub that is supposed to hold the C02 hose in place near the adjustment valve. It snapped off while I was trying to connect the tubing to it. No biggie I still like the skimmer and would recommend it to anyone. Just be careful of the nub. Get someone with dainty hands to attach it and you'll be good. Only improvements I would like to see is an adapter so I can connect some extension tubing to drain the skim away into a separate container. I have managed to get something on but it is next to impossible to get off when you want to clean the cup I don't like worrying about a dangling hose full of slime on my carpets.
  • Great product guy's By on 11/8/2016

    Just installed this skimmer and it live up to its name..
  • No support, no spare parts. By on 8/20/2016

    My skimmer has been noisy from day 1 and continues to get worse. Have tried to get a replacement impeller as this seems to be a known issue but these are impossible to find! Vertex have no support line and do not respond to email. This is not an issue with BRS but if you get an issue it seems binning it and buying another brand is the only option!
  • 2nd Review!! Update!! By on 5/18/2016

    Your needle wheel will break free from the shaft in your pump... On my 3rd one in 1 1/2 years. First one lasted 4-5 months. After I replaced it, I would only shut down skimmer for water changes. To empty collection cup I would just dial down the bubbles below the neck. The issue is the pump is so strong when it fires up at full speed it snaps free. Vertex first told me it was my surge protector. Not. I'ts a design flaw, no if's and's or butt's about it. A D/C slow start pump would completely eliminate this problem. Skimmer is still a beast!!! When working.
  • Works great between broken impellers. By on 5/11/2016

    I've had this skimmer for just over 1-1/2 years. And just put in my third impeller, having purchased a spare when I had to replace the first one. Specifically, the impeller is bonded to the ceramic shaft, and whatever was used to bond it, cracks. This allows for 'excess' noise and vibration. That Noise and vibration is what lead me to find my second impeller defective. Not sure this product is worth another $66 impeller.

    PS, no, I am not miss handling it. After think "I" broke the first, I've been treating it with kid gloves.
  • Great Skimmer! By on 4/19/2016

    From the packaging to the final install and operation - Quality shines!
    Highly recommend this skimmer.
  • Great performance By on 4/3/2016

    I purchased the 180i a few weeks ago. I followed the break in procedure. After a couple hours I had skim after two weeks it fully broke in. It's now pulling the darkest and worst smelling skim ive had. Ever. Highly recommend. And highly recommend following break in procedure.
  • magnificent skimmer By on 3/10/2016

    i don't know why people give 4 or 5 stars i tell you this i wish i could give 6 but there are only 5 stars i m in the hobby for about 6 years and i have used so many skimmers in the past non of them impressed me like this one its so beautiful it works amazing worth of the $ go for it you will be one happy reefer
  • Great Skimmer By on 2/27/2016

    I have a Red Sea Reefer 350 (Approx 80 Gallon Total System with rock and sand) and originally bought the Omega 150. The 150 would pull out some nasty skim, but seemed a little undersized for my system and bioload. I upgraded to the 180 and wow what a difference. My tank is really thriving now. The 180 is very easy to dial in and IMO much easier to clean than the 150 since i can take off the skimmer cup and reach my hand into the chamber to clean. The 150's neck is too small to reach into. To summarize this skimmer has amazing build quality, is easy to dial in, and very easy to clean without removing from the sump. I highly recommend.
  • Great Skimmer By on 2/3/2016

    I've been primarily a reef octopus kinda guy. Could never really dial them in 100%. I got this vertex skimmer and right off the bat this thing is a beast. Built with highest quality components and detail is amazing. This has been running strong and hard since day one installed and has never once given me an issue. I'm a vertex man from now on.