HW-Marinemix Reefer Salt Mix 160 Gallons - HW Wiegandt

hw-Marinemix Reefer Salt Mix
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • hw-Marinemix Reefer Salt Mix
  • Purely Synthetic Salt - HW MarineMix | Product Spotlight
  • hw MarineMix Salt

HW-Marinemix Reefer Salt Mix 160 Gallons - HW Wiegandt

SKU: 208270
Performance
127 Review(s)
$76.99
Please wait...
OR
  • Awesome Salt Mix By on 10/11/2017

    I currently have a 16 gallon AIO Nano tank. It has been running exclusively with this salt for 2 1/2 years now and my readings are spot on. I had a few LFS even ask me what kind of salt I use when they do a free test reading for me. I love this stuff.
  • Too many particulates floating in it By on 10/11/2017

    I mix up 7-10 gallons per week. I've used Reef Crystals, Tropic Marin Pro Reef, Aquaforest Reef Salt and now... HW- Marine mix.

    HW is the worst so far. There is so much crap that doesn't dissolve and just floats around in the water. I use a brute trash can and pump to mix and usually let it set for at least a day. Doesn't matter. I'll use up this box...but I won't buy it again.
  • Great product By on 9/18/2017

    This is a great salt. It is a little pricey but you get what you pay for. I have been using it for almost 2 years and it is very consistent and mixes fast and clean.
  • Does not maintain Alkalinity By on 9/10/2017

    Bought this salt on BRS recommendation that is mixes easily and doesn't leave a brown crust in mixing vat. It does mix fast and clear, but maintaining alkalinity takes twice as much dosing and maintaining Ph is a constant struggle.
  • Confused about the poor reviews here. By on 8/1/2017

    I switched from the Red Sea Pro to the Red Sea Blue bucket and then to this. I liked the pro before when I had only a few softies and fish because it was enough added Alk to hold over my tank until the next week. Then I started dosing and wanted to start with a more natural level of Alk/Calc so I went to the blue bucket. It was fine. Then on a whim I decided to try this salt and I have to say I like it even more. The corals seemed to respond to it, which has never occured to me by simply changing salt. My tanks parameters are very close to what this mixes to, so doing a water chage doesnt upset my tanks balance. I'm currently slowly lowering my alk parameters from 9 to 8 since my tank has been running unusually clean with basically zero nitrate/phosphate despite being overfed and no GFO or carbon dosing (its the overpowered refugium light I added I think sucking up the nutrients, I used a Mars Hydroponics LED from amazon in case your curious, its an absolute monster). Once the Alk is running at 8 instead of 9 I will have to figure out if this salt is still ok to use. I may have to switch to something with lower Alk, or simply program my doser to turn off for a day after water changes. The other thing I like about this salt is that it mixes EXTREMELY fast. I can mix 20 gallons for my water change in like 10 minutes. I let it age for an hour, but I dont think its necessary. It also has not left any residue in my Brute WC container, so thats kind of mysterious that some are complaining about that..
  • Update...Not so good By on 7/27/2017

    When I first started using this salt I was extremely pleased with the results and consistency of tge product. Now halfway through my third box of this salt mix, not so impressed anymore. Noticed I was slowly increasing the amount of salt mixed to achieve desired readings. Also noticed it was leaving a brownish residue in my primary mixing bucket. It also almost caused a catastrophe as it "slimed" my filter media making it hard for the water to pass through. Initially I thought there must be something wrong with my RO/DI system and replaced the 3 pre filter, RO membrane, and DI resin. Even after changing the filters in the RO/DI unit and thoroughly washing out my primary mixing bucket, this salt mix would form a slimy residue on the filter floss and media totally clogging up my system. Not sure what the problem was, I even drained, cleaned, and refilled my ATO container with fresh new water. This slim issue was driving me crazy. So not only was I dealing with a slim issue, but the parameters of a newly mixed salt batch was totally low as well. So I stopped using this product and have gone back to RedSea Coral Pro and dropped this review from 5 stars down to 2 due to inconsistency in this product. Maybe I just got a bad batch, but not willing to pay this money in hopes for a good batch of salt mix.
  • good salt By on 5/21/2017

    i have no problems if my parameters need adjusted i do so love it
  • Best salt that I've used and I have use the lot By on 4/25/2017

    I don't know why it's getting these negative reviews I've been using the salt for over two years now I've tried tons of different salt as well as the Red Sea product I use a zeovite reactor and I have an SPS dominated tank as well as a mixed reef tank and fish I must say I don't understand what the issues are maybe they're not mixing it properly but mine makes his clear within two 2 hours like I said used to have problems with the Red Sea with alkalinity but now I have a nice steady eight
  • BRS Recommended? By on 4/24/2017

    I bought the big box on the Black Friday sale based on the BRS recommendation since I was about out of my Red Sea Pro. I've used this now nearly 6 months, and my alkalinity has been a constant issue. Period! Stonies are stressed, I'm having to buffer heavily, which is real bad, and it's thrown my system off totally! Tested yesterday before water change, was 8.0, did a 5ga change on about 30ga volume, and took a sample to my lfs later in the day, it was 7.0! Avoid this stuff! The only positive I can give it is it mixes super easily and clear. I've never had debris, cloudiness or anything. But, all in all, I'm heading right back to RedSea Pro and washing my hands of this stuff, and I still have a small bucket left (RedSea little bucket full). Maybe it'll be a better weed killer around the yard.
  • Totally awesome By on 4/18/2017

    This salt is best in market being synthetic it's totally medical grade product. How someone does not like this I'm clueless. I have no reside compared to other brands