Apex Classic Controller with Lab-Grade pH Probe - Neptune Systems

Apex Controller with Lab-Grade pH Probe - Neptune Systems
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Apex Controller with Lab-Grade pH Probe - Neptune Systems
  • Save Money with Apex Aquarium Controllers
  • How an Apex Controller Can Save You Money - BRStv Product Spotlight
  • Apex Controller with Lab-Grade pH Probe - Neptune Systems Ph Probe
  • Apex Controller with Lab-Grade pH Probe - Neptune Systems Temperature Probe

Apex Classic Controller with Lab-Grade pH Probe - Neptune Systems

SKU: 207491
Performance
81 Review(s)
$549.95
Please wait...
OR
  • Needed item for our expensive reef tanks By on 10/18/2017

    Started with one of these a few years ago to control my tank. After getting it I fell in love with it and haven't looked back. Firmware updates are a bit of a pain and few bugs. But if you code things correctly it should always notify u of issue with it self. I have 3 eb8 pm1 wxm ald afs.
  • Awful Customer Service! By on 10/5/2017

    AWFUL customer service… I've had my Apex for almost a year and I absolutely love it although I recently moved and needed some assistance and their customer support is awful. They try to handle everything via e-mail which is no always the best way to help. It disconnects from Apex Fusion constantly and getting support is a HUUUGGGEEE hassle! I've been on the phone with them for over an hour two times. Each time is because it won't connect to Apex Fusion. It takes them forever to fix the problem and they have me manually restart it over and over until it works. Now I'm waiting for them to e-mail me again because the whole system keeps restarting about every hour and I can't connect to Apex Fusion. If a company is going to offer customer support then at least do it correctly and pick up the phone…
  • Spent the Extra $$ for the Classic -- Glad I Did By on 9/10/2017

    Caveat -- I'm really new to this. Bought the Classic for a 90 gallon tank; my first. I connected directly to my home network via cable so no wireless to deal with. Setup wasn't that bad, but getting to some of the advanced features can be a little daunting for the non-techies out there. Part of the problem is that there is documentation for each of the user interfaces, i.e. Fusion on the web, directly into the controller via the home network, and the Display unit. Once you get used to it though it's not too bad and the one time I called Apex I was blown away the the customer service via Team Viewer.

    Main point I want to make is that I considered the less expensive 4 outlet Jr. but I would have had to expand by now so I'm very happy with the two probes and main controller. I have a skimmer, lights, return pump, ATO powerhead, and 2 heaters connected so far.

    Part of the fun I get out of this hobby is monitoring parameters and the Apex feeds my habit like a drug pusher! I especially like the feature that allows me to add notes and measurements. Worth every penny in my opinion.
  • Worth Every penny By on 8/26/2017

    Ive had mine for well over two years and it has saved me more times than i can count. Makes everything so much easier, basically takes care of my whole tank for me. Took care of my tank when i went out of town for two months and only lost one or two corals from them fighting with each other. Keeps temperature at 71.15 or above 71.1 and below 71.2 there is no was the heater by itself could do that.
    I cant imagine how people were able to keep reef tanks without them. If youre considering buying one, do it. It may seem expensive, but itll soon pay itself off once it saves you from a disaster.
  • There IS a Learning Curve to Set Up Apex Classic By on 6/22/2017

    The "getting started" page is helpful but sketchy. Instructions are vague and not detailed (as recommend outlets etc) Key to installing is to allot yourself a couple hours set up prior to connecting to your tank.

    Apex customer support is exceptional IF you can get by receptionist (if you call them) they try to do all their customer support via email and you might have to wait a couple of days for an answer (even though their reply says 12-24 hrs)

    Overall, after getting wifi set up - all is good and the options are endless at what this will do for you. I highly recommend the Apex Classic but only gave 4 stars because of support hassle.
  • Everyone reefing should have one By on 5/18/2017

    Keeps my temp at 78% and don't have to worry about over heating. Controls all equipment. Had a large octopus mess of wires before now it's all neatly plugged into apex was able to eliminate alot of cords. E-mails me if something was to go wrong. Nice peace of mind
  • Glitchy, and terrible support By on 2/7/2017

    I began with Apex Jr and then upgraded to Apex Lite. I've had times with the display either goes black or becomes unresponsive. These *seemed* to coincide with recent power outages, however, every power outage does not result in a problem. The really bizarre thing is that I am locked out of my fusion account. I've done password reset multiple times and cannot get logged in to my account. Tried to get help and support's suggestion was to reinstall the whole thing (I have not done this). For now, I've got everything running manually without the controller. Yup, after all that time and money, I've got it all plugged into a power surge protector. total waste of money. Planning to completely replace with a totally different brand, based on disappointing performance and terrible service.
  • Why would you EVER run tank without one??? By on 1/3/2017

    This controller is awesome. The more you invest in the ecosystem, the better it gets. While the programing is a bit difficult, the product itself is amazing. If you are serious about getting your tank running the right way, you need this thing.

    One thing that isn't widely advertised it's the APEX's ability to track your measured parameters. Being able to simply do your test, put in what type of test you used (for me it's the Red Sea test kits) and the output and it graphs it over time really helps getting dosing down to a science. And yes,

    After less than a year, I already own the IO control unit, the wmx module to control my AI SOL lights, the Par meter and have plans to get more.

    All in all, 9 out of 10 (if the programming was easier, I'd give it 10 out of 10). Absolute MUST if you are serious about getting your tank on track.
  • Functions great until it dies / Poor customer service By on 12/30/2016

    I've had my Apex Classic for several years. It works great and I like the controls. However, I've had multiple hardware and software issues. One time I had a problem with the display module, I called tech support and they were kind enough to log into my system to troubleshoot. They did some re-programming and broke all my modules in the process. The guy was able to fix the EB8 bars but he could not fix the display module or the PM1 module that HE BROKE!!! I had to send it back to them at my cost, and they charged me to fix it.

    I had another similar experience, again was having a display module issue. It was working but was glitchy. Tech support was kind enough to log in my system to troubleshoot, and in the process he completely broke the display module. IT wouldn't even turn on anymore. His conclusion was that the display unit has hardware issues, and also my main unit (the apex unit itself). He recommended I send both them in or I can buy a new one... I ended up buying brand new apex unit.. Very costly.

    Overall, I like the Apex and it works great.. .but I expect this hardware to work 2-3 years before it needs replacement.
  • Absolute waste of money By on 11/1/2016

    I've had my apex gold for just under a year and I've had consistent problems with the system for the past six months. The controller never stays connected to fusion (even though it is hard wired directly into my router via Ethernet).
    First off, the brain went out. I had to pay out of pocket to ship it back to California for repair. Once that came back, customer service decided that the EB8 was bad. So I had to pay ship that back to them as well. After that came back I attempted twice to hook the controller back up, and now I'm still having problems. I woke up this morning to a tank that wasn't running for hours due to it's inability to stay connected/he EB8 continually clicking on and off. Fortunately, there were no casualties, but for an 'insurance plan' for your aquarium, I would certainly recommend a different product. Had I'd known what I know now, I NEVER would have purchased this overpriced piece of junk.