Aqueon Aquarium Water Changer

Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • How To Use the Aqueon Aquarium Water Changer
  • Water Changes - EP 1: Saltwater Aquarium Maintenance

Aqueon Aquarium Water Changer

Performance
22 Review(s)

Choose a size

Qty
 
25 Ft. Aqueon Aquarium Water Changer
SKU: 206098
$37.99
 
 
50 Ft. Aqueon Aquarium Water Changer
SKU: 206097
$56.99
 
  • Extremely Poor Build Quality. By on 8/1/2017

    It may be somewhat difficult to review this product without using any expletives but I will give it a shot. I ordered my first one of these because I needed a way to clean my sump of detritus, the fact that it could pull water upwards without a siphon was the main reason I needed something like this. As far as water changes go, I just use a big piece of 2" hose that I drain to my sink. The large diameter hose makes water chages a breeze since it can drain 20 gallons in under 60 seconds. When I got the first one it came with a crack in the connector directly behind the one were the hose attaches to the T. I was disappointed but no big deal, BRS replaced it for me quickly with zero hassle. The second one arrives and I pull it out of its box to see it has the EXACT same flaw. A massive crack in the ring that connects the hose connecting section to the vertical section that connects to the faucet. I attempted to use it even with the crack, but it didnt function right and any type of tension on the hose and the whole assembly would fall off since the cracked ring is what holds the horizontal section to the vertical section. I didn't even bother returning it, I just chucked it in the garbage out of disgust. When you inspect the product and feel the plastic you realize it's EXTREMELY flimsy. I now instead use a Mag 9 Pump with a hose connected to the intake to clean my sump (every 6 months) and I just pump the outlet into a filter sock. I'm rather surprised that there aren't more reviews of this product with the same complaint as me. Judging by the two identical cracks I experienced I figured it would be more prevalent. If you get one that isn't broken from the factory, im sure it will break down the line at some point or another.

    Here are pics of the affected units: http://imgur.com/a/jjwp9
  • YAY! No More Buckets! By on 4/20/2017

    I purchased the 50' hose for my 120 gal tank...it works perfect! No more carrying 5 gal buckets! Note- you need a fixture that can accommodate a hose connection. If your aerator doesn't screw off your faucet it won't work. They send adapters with the product but it has to screw into a threaded end. Check before you order!
  • The adapter piece By on 4/8/2016

    My sink doesn't have a screw off part so I have waisted my money the thing want even screw on my sink is there another option
  • This product is great!! By on 3/8/2015

    This makes doing a water change so much easier, I have no issues wih this product
  • No way to tell how much water has been removed By on 2/10/2015

    I change a percentage of my water weekly. However not only does this product waste water, you have no idea how much water you have removed. It is too easy to either siphon too much, or not enough. Not for me....I'll go back to buckets
  • meh By on 12/13/2014

    It's fine. The tubing doesn't mate very well with the barbed fittings. Something is not right. You can get them on, but it seems like something was overlooked when choosing the tubing and/or developing the inlet and outlet fixtures. It works fine, though. The only downside (that I just noticed when using it the first time) is that by having your water dumped in the sink you have to kinda guesstimate how much you pulled out. I think I prefer the other version with the hand pump and siphoning into a bucket.
  • Save your money By on 7/29/2014

    I purchased the 50ft model to do water changes on my 330 gal reef system. My opinion, save your money and purchase a Python gravel vac. They use a larger internal diameter hose than the Aqueon model. When I used the Aqueon vac the hose starts to collapse from the suction. My Python that I had a few years back never had that problem, so I was a little disappointed in the performance of Aqueons siphon.
    I do like the shutoff valve on the gravel tube though.
  • Versatile and Handy By on 3/8/2014

    I bought the 50' version and it was well worth it.

    In the summer I can hook it up to the garden hose spigot outside. In the winter it connects to a sink faucet. It works great when using it as an old fashioned manual siphon as well. It fits on the outlet of a maxi jet so I can refill the tank from my mixing barrel. It works with a 1/2" barb fitting and hose clamp if your mixing station is hard plumbed to an external pump.

    It has saved me a lot of carrying buckets!
  • Better than a bucket! By on 12/29/2013

    Have had no issues with the plastic inserts and I am currently threading it in and out of my bathroom faucet on a weekly basis.
    Creats descent suction for getting mild algae off your rocks but will clog if anything larger gets sucked in there accidentally.
    Been going on a year now and will buy another if it fails on me. Worth the investment
  • No more buckets for me! By on 6/4/2013

    Easy to use and no more buckets!

    As other reviewers have said...make sure your sink and/or drain can handle the flow. I use a laundry tub for mine, so I have no issues.