My Cart (0 items)
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

Aquahub DIY Top-it-Off Kit Premium

SKU: 202330


  • Works Great and Cost Effective! By Shaun on 7/8/2014

    When I decided to finally add ATO to my sump (which I should have done a while ago looking back), I was looking for a simple and cost effective solution as I needed to keep to my budget for this upgrade. After considering all the options, and the price tags, this was the clear winner! Paired with a TOM Aqua Lifter pump, this has been a flawless solution. Easy to build using the provided instructions, I had it built and in operation within an hour. Molding the float mount took the longest but was simple though tedious. The components provided in the box seem of quality, but will be easily and economically replaceable if they become defective. This would not be possible with more commercial ATOs in most cases and I prefer self repair. Would definitely buy again if I had a need for a second one.
  • good system if it's done right. By The guy from Langley British Columbia. on 2/23/2014

    If you are electrically inclined there good and work well, The 12 volt part has to be carefully connected and crimped with a proper crimper for sound operation and connection to the relay. Other reviews I've read said they quit working and I think they have not made sound connections which on low voltage is very important, my background is in HVAC and controls so I know this is a very important point to make.
  • Works great, so far so good. By The guy from Langley British Columbia. on 2/23/2014

    I thought I would try this DIY auto top off kit. I have had other name brand ato's and not been very happy with them. So if your electrically inclined it's a snap to make up. I like the 2 float system for extra shut down safety redundancy. It works great so I'll get another for my frag system. All the parts are good quality as well.
  • Best value for the money By paul on 11/5/2013

    The kit took a little less than an hour to assemble. (The biggest tasts were drilling holes into the little bottle to keep the float switch free of snails/junk.

    The electronics were easy to screw and snap together. The relay also has a little diode (to tell you it's on, in case you don't hear the loud click) -- and I drilled another hole into the black hobby box and put clear silacone over it to make a window.

    But for $40 bucks, I've now bought 4 of these for my tanks. The float switch works fairly precisely. I rigged it to a cord with multiple outlets, so the top off tank gets a quick dose of calk from a sealed bottle when it turns on the top off pump. brilliant
  • Great product! By Mike on 8/5/2013

    For the price of this product you cannot beat it. the instructions were very helpful and everything went together with ease. You do have to buy an extension cord for the kit. But for the price of the kit you can't complain. some of the reviews complain about a clicking noise from the relay, if you have it mounted in the box you can barely hear it. I have my unit mounted on the outside of my stand and asked my wife if she could hear it and it was a No.
    great product will buy more for my other aquariums.
  • Good price and easy top off system to set up By Paul on 5/31/2013

    I set this up to keep my nano tank water level filled. With the nano tank the evaporation can cause havoc. Having this system set up keep me form worrying about that while I'm away or when I go on vacation. The system was easy to set up for a DIY project.
  • Super Easy to Install... By Larry H on 3/28/2013

    I bought two of these units last week. They have been working flawlessly. Sorry I didn't put them on sooner!

    I'd say there was only one thing that wasn't much fun. That was the cutting and bending of the plastic bracket that holds the floats. I wished they would redesign it with some sort of universal sliding bracket for the floats to mount to. I'm closely monitoring my water levels in my refugiums and making sure these ATO's are working correctly. If I find a glitch or a hiccup, I'll be reposting what happened. So far, so good though!
  • OK By Jeremy on 2/20/2013

    I used this for a while with an aqualifter pump. It is a good entry value for ATO but mine would not kick on anymore after 8 months of use. I changed the relay, but that did not solve the issue. It must lay somewhere in the float switches.
  • Reliable By Matt on 1/17/2013

    I ran one of these kits on my 29 gallon for just over a year with no issues. I just installed one on my 120 gallon this last week. Super easy build and install. All you need is a cheap extension cord to wire into the relay so your pump can turn on and off. The float switches have been reliable and there is an emergency switch in place in case one does fail. While the moldable float switch holder does work for most people (I used in on my 29 gallon setup), I opted to build my own holder out of acrylic for the new build. Overall I would recommend this as a good affordable ATO solution.
  • Good directions By tom on 1/11/2013

    The kit requires an extension cord. Otherwise would be 5 stars. Easy directions. Hanging bracket is easy to mold, it turns clear while flexible.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Aquahub DIY Top-it-Off Kit Premium