My Cart (0 items)
Aquahub DIY Top-it-Off Kit Premium
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Aquahub DIY Top-it-Off Kit Premium
  • Aquahub DIY Top-it-Off Kit Premium Parts
  • Aquahub DIY Top-it-Off Kit Premium Float Switch Relay
  • Aquahub DIY Top-it-Off Kit Premium Box

Aquahub DIY Top-it-Off Kit Premium

SKU: 202330


  • Help for Greg on loud buzzing By Aquahub.com on 10/27/2014

    The buzzing is probably caused by having a pump or other source of magnetic interference too close to the float switch. As the pump rotates, the magnet inside creates rapid waves of magnetic force which cause the reed switch to flutter and the relay to go on and off very rapidly which creates the annoying buzzing sound. Move the pump as far away from the float switch as possible, this should solve the problem. If the buzzing has already caused the relay to fail, write us at Aquahub and we will send you a new relay. Thanks


  • Overall good auto top off, but very loud and annoying! By Greg on 10/5/2014

    For the money the auto top off has worked good. but the unit is pretty loud as it turns on and off repeatedly.

    My tank is in our living room and its REALLY hard to ignore the continuous buzzing sound it makes every time the float switch makes the unit kick on. I wish there was a fix because at times it can be kicking on every few seconds
  • Great little kit By JR on 8/20/2014

    I put this kit together just a few days shy of going on vacation (yes, the ultimate test) and paired it up with a two gallon bucket of RODI and a tiny fountain pump. I am super happy at the results. My sump has yet to sway from the top off point and just like putting a model car together it was fun and gave you the options to really build your own design. Great and affordable kit.
  • Works Great and Cost Effective! By Shaun on 7/9/2014

    When I decided to finally add ATO to my sump (which I should have done a while ago looking back), I was looking for a simple and cost effective solution as I needed to keep to my budget for this upgrade. After considering all the options, and the price tags, this was the clear winner! Paired with a TOM Aqua Lifter pump, this has been a flawless solution. Easy to build using the provided instructions, I had it built and in operation within an hour. Molding the float mount took the longest but was simple though tedious. The components provided in the box seem of quality, but will be easily and economically replaceable if they become defective. This would not be possible with more commercial ATOs in most cases and I prefer self repair. Would definitely buy again if I had a need for a second one.
  • good system if it's done right. By The guy from Langley British Columbia. on 2/23/2014

    If you are electrically inclined there good and work well, The 12 volt part has to be carefully connected and crimped with a proper crimper for sound operation and connection to the relay. Other reviews I've read said they quit working and I think they have not made sound connections which on low voltage is very important, my background is in HVAC and controls so I know this is a very important point to make.
  • Works great, so far so good. By The guy from Langley British Columbia. on 2/23/2014

    I thought I would try this DIY auto top off kit. I have had other name brand ato's and not been very happy with them. So if your electrically inclined it's a snap to make up. I like the 2 float system for extra shut down safety redundancy. It works great so I'll get another for my frag system. All the parts are good quality as well.
  • Best value for the money By paul on 11/5/2013

    The kit took a little less than an hour to assemble. (The biggest tasts were drilling holes into the little bottle to keep the float switch free of snails/junk.

    The electronics were easy to screw and snap together. The relay also has a little diode (to tell you it's on, in case you don't hear the loud click) -- and I drilled another hole into the black hobby box and put clear silacone over it to make a window.

    But for $40 bucks, I've now bought 4 of these for my tanks. The float switch works fairly precisely. I rigged it to a cord with multiple outlets, so the top off tank gets a quick dose of calk from a sealed bottle when it turns on the top off pump. brilliant
  • Great product! By Mike on 8/5/2013

    For the price of this product you cannot beat it. the instructions were very helpful and everything went together with ease. You do have to buy an extension cord for the kit. But for the price of the kit you can't complain. some of the reviews complain about a clicking noise from the relay, if you have it mounted in the box you can barely hear it. I have my unit mounted on the outside of my stand and asked my wife if she could hear it and it was a No.
    great product will buy more for my other aquariums.
  • Good price and easy top off system to set up By Paul on 5/31/2013

    I set this up to keep my nano tank water level filled. With the nano tank the evaporation can cause havoc. Having this system set up keep me form worrying about that while I'm away or when I go on vacation. The system was easy to set up for a DIY project.
  • Super Easy to Install... By Larry H on 3/28/2013

    I bought two of these units last week. They have been working flawlessly. Sorry I didn't put them on sooner!

    I'd say there was only one thing that wasn't much fun. That was the cutting and bending of the plastic bracket that holds the floats. I wished they would redesign it with some sort of universal sliding bracket for the floats to mount to. I'm closely monitoring my water levels in my refugiums and making sure these ATO's are working correctly. If I find a glitch or a hiccup, I'll be reposting what happened. So far, so good though!

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Aquahub DIY Top-it-Off Kit Premium