My Cart (0 items)
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

Elos KH (Alkalinity) Aqua Test Kit

SKU: 205141


  • Good test kit By Jesse on 2/27/2014

    Fast and easy to use. Color change can be difficult to notice at first, but after a couple of tests over white paper it was easier to see.
  • Good Stuff By emixa on 1/13/2014

    this test kit keeps my numbers where i want them which is also demonstrated through the up-keep of my corals.
  • Easy to use, fast results, and relatively accurate By ReedersReefer on 5/22/2013

    I recently ran out of my first Elos test kit reagent, and have come back to purchase more. This kit is by far the easiest to use, the fastest KH test available, and is relatively accurate (it only measures in increments of .5). For the ease of use and the low cost (it is cheaper than any other KH test kit on the market), I would recommend this to anyone that likes fast and easy testing. For those with more time for tank maintenance or need more accurate results, I would suggest the Salifert kit instead for a couple dollars more.
  • easy By Brass on 3/12/2013

    this alk kit is one of the easiest to use. i got rid of my hanna checker cause this is faster, easier and more accurate.


  • Color change By Deb on 2/21/2013

    Elos has a video about reading the color change. It's not obvious from the kit instructions and I had to hunt down the video just to know how to read the test. Knocked a star for that. Like the other poster says, you count the drops until the yellow turns to the orangish yellow coming out of the bottle. The yellow-green isn't the final reading. Colors are pale, but do the test over a white piece of paper and you're good.
  • Great Alk Test Kit By Dan on 2/2/2013

    Most of the reviews on here that state that this particular test kit is 'hard to read' I think my have issues differentiating colors or may not have been using proper lighting to watch the colors change against. I don't mean that in a bad way, at all. It is simply that I've found the colors very easy to discern. It's true maybe the first time you're testing you might be unsure, but the last color before a full yellow becomes a yellowish green, but when you add that last drop and it becomes a full bright yellow, very easy to see both the change in color and the difference between the slightly yellow-green to full blown yellow. Pinpoint accurate, every time I've used it. And very, very easy to use.
  • Good test kit By adam on 10/11/2011

    I always use Elos for KH testing and have always had good results. My one complaint is that the color shift from blue to yellow is not very obvious. It took some practice learning how to read the colors to make sure my readings were accurate. Overall a great test kit.
  • Ecellent test !!! By Ricardo on 5/26/2011

    Very reliable easy to follow instruction and the results are valid. Very effective to discern colors on the Elos Alk Test.
  • Poor choice By Frank on 4/14/2011

    I purchase the Ca, KH, Mg and PO4 Elos kits all at the same time. All the other kits worked great. When it came to the KH testing, the colors would not change. I put in about 30 drops of reagent and the color just kept getting darker. I repeated the test two more times with the same results. I was unable to obtain a reading. My tank was still cycling so I went to the lfs and purchased a Salifert test kit. I paid more than BRS price but I wanted it right then to see if I was doing something wrong. The Salifert kit worked the first time. My KH was 8.3 dKH and 148ppm. It only took me one time with the Salifert kit. I would not recommend purchasing this kit. Go with a Salifert or the LaMotte. BRS is still great. I think that I might have gotten a bad kit.
  • Fun guessing game! By Erik on 3/22/2011

    Elos has not impressed me much with their test kits. It may be because I test Alk. the most and this appears to be their worst kit. When I secured the plastic cap on my glass vial, the glass shattered at the top. Whatever, I have other vials... But still a bummer. Next, adding the drops to the vial and guessing when the color is changing is nearly impossible. It happens over the course of a few drops of range (was it 10 or 14 drops that changed the color) and even then, the color is so faint you constantly second guess yourself. It's TERRIBLE!

    I'm sure if you have super-human sight, it's a great kit because it reads in .5 dkh readings.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Elos KH (Alkalinity) Aqua Test Kit