My Cart (0 items)
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

Marineland Maxi-Jet Powerhead 1200

SKU: 202264


  • Only 1 good out of 3 By Dan on 6/20/2014

    This pump is not a quality pump for the serious reefer. I have purchased three of these pumps because they were highlighted as recommended for driving the reactors I placed on my reef. I had to replace the impellers on 2 out of 3 because the pump was not providing pressure. Marineland customer service was very good about sending me replacements but it just seems like a lot of effort to get working correctly.
  • You have been advised, so don't complain By Mike on 3/29/2014

    BRS was very upfront it letting any buyers know that this pump will make noise if used in a back-pressure application. I purchased them because I was more interested in using them as a low-cost wavemaker due to the fact they are also packaged with a propeller style impeller and a shroud that fits it. When I assembled and tested it this way, I was disappointed at the loud buzzing sound it made when running. I then discovered why: there was a manufacturing issue with the magnet attached to the propeller. The hole for the shaft was slightly off-center, so the propeller assembly vibrated when running. I observed the magnet for the standard impeller in the kit didn't have this flaw, so I just pulled the parts apart and swapped the magnet portions, and problem solved. Yes, these pumps in propeller mode can chatter somewhat on startup, but if used in a continuous application this shouldn't be too much of a bother.
  • Noisy By Tek on 1/7/2014

    Not as quiet as the old MaxiJet pumps. Makes noise when used to mix saltwater and even more noise when used with a reactor. Spend a bit more and get a pump with a ceramic shaft.
  • Not good By gatorGRAFIX on 12/25/2013

    I bought one of these as recommended in the BSR video for the Deluxe GFO reactor. Hooked it up in my sump and plumed it as in the video. It IS loud and it will hardly tumble my GFO at all unless I fill it about 20% full. Tech was no help either. Very disappointed. Guess I'll have to spend more money on a better pump. Fiddled with it for weeks. :(
  • Wow, lots of accessories By Bryan on 10/8/2013

    MJ's have always been reliable. I hadn't bought one in years and wow, it comes with a lot of attachments now to convert to whatever you want. Well worth the cost.
  • Shocked me after about a year of use for water changes By Dangerous on 8/6/2013

    I used this pump to perform routine water changes for about a year. One day I was doing a water change and went to pump the new water into the tank and there was a loud popping sound which resulted in a strong shock and smoke coming out of the unit. For some reason the GFCI did not trip but I will never buy one of these pumps again.
  • Makes water changes super easy! By Stephanie on 7/24/2013

    Used this in the powerhead configuration for water changes. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because it's a bit bulky. Works well otherwise.
  • LOUD........ By Tim on 5/29/2013

    This Maxijet is OK as long as you are not running it under any type of load such as a media reactor. If you do it makes a very loud noise.

    I would recommend using the Cobalt pumps if you are running it under any type of resistance.
  • great pump By justin on 3/26/2013

    Quit your winning if you can't handle the 3 seconds of noise on start up then why are you spending $30 on a pump.this thing moves massive amount of water in the circulation mode.these pumps are meant to be ran wide open not restricted.I have mine running in powerhead mode with a hydro flo water deflector and have never seen so much water movement. I spent $40 on a system that moves as much water as mu buddies $500 system.
  • Versatile By Clint on 2/18/2013

    The maxi jet 1200 is good and versatile little pump. I use mine as a circulating pump to mix saltwater and to refill my tank during water changes. Hard to beat for the price. I use the 600 model to circualte my ro water as well.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Marineland Maxi-Jet Powerhead 1200