PINPOINT Salinity Calibration Fluid

Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

PINPOINT Salinity Calibration Fluid

SKU: 205412
Performance
13 Review(s)
$7.99
Please wait...
OR
  • A must for precise SG measurements! By on 1/17/2017

    I've compared to other independent sources. It is truly accurate. A must have to ensure your refractometer is calibrated. I use it weekly to check. Be sure to agitate the bottle prior to use. On one occasion my calibration was way off. Until I checked again after shaking the bottle. If you are going to run hypo-salinity in a QT--you need this in your tool kit.
  • Calibration fluid By on 3/22/2016

    Had used RO/DI water but bought a hydrometer and the reading was off the charts. Got this and my refractometer was right on the money good stuff
  • Great Product By on 3/15/2016

    I was able to calibrate my refractometer and probe without issue.
  • Inaccurate By on 1/23/2016

    I've had four bottles of this stuff and only one has actually been accurate. I recently purchased another Pinpoint salinity monitor and the fluid that came with it reads about 30ppt on my refractometer and 43mS on the monitor. Be careful!
  • concerns about evaporation By on 12/8/2014

    I've used RO/DI water to calibrate but heard using a solution at a specified density.
    So I got it and found that the difference between the RO/DI and this solution is about .01
    I'll use the solution but make sure its' container is tightly shut because if there is any evaporation, it would definitely affect the results
  • SOLID By on 8/29/2014

    If you're calibrating a refractometer or pinpoint salinity monitor this is an absolute must. Fluid can be reused. 53.0 mS = 35.0 ppt.

    The only thing that I wish pinpoint did was make make the opening on the bottle large enough to slide the pinpoint salinity monitor probe into.
  • Does what it supposed to do By on 4/18/2013

    It does exactly what its supposed to do. Its a good idea to calibrate every month or so.
  • Starting a salt tank? Get This By on 9/28/2012

    I had a refractometer from previous projects and had always calibrated it with distilled water. After having some issues with my tank, I decided to take out all the varibles of what could be wrong. It ended up that my refractometer was way off. Get this solution and start your tank on the right foot.
  • happy, and not By on 8/27/2012

    I'm happy that is fluid is exactly what it says it is. Calibrated at 53 ms = 1.026 SG = 35 ppt.

    Not so happy that I discovered my refractometer (calibrated with RODI at 1.000) was more than 5 ppt off. Time to correct the salinity in the tank!
  • Must have By on 2/14/2012

    I bought this just out of curiosity, I had been calibrating my refractometer with ro water and wanted to see how accurate it really was. When I recieved and tested my refractometer I was astonished, it was almost .01 off. I was running my reef tank at much lower salinity than I had thought. Youll never run out once calibrated you can just make a batch of salt that is the salinity you like and refill the bottle.