My Cart (0 items)
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

Salifert Flatworm Exit Aquarium Test Kit

SKU: 205112


  • Killed Fish Within 45 seconds of Addition By MikeyB on 12/11/2014

    First: I have been in the hobby for 15 years, I have a 300 gallon tank with 75 gallon sump, deep sand bed in both main tank and sump. I mention these things to first establish I'm not new, and second that perhaps the deep sand bed could have something to do with the final crash my tank had after using this product, but not with the initial response my fish had.

    As my title suggests, within 45 seconds of the addition of this product, I had my achilles tang die. The reaction was almost instantaneous. This means there is no way the death of the achilles could have been caused by a buildup of toxin from the resultant genocide or Planaria within my tank. All of my other fish (purple tang, several yellows, clowns, sailfins, etc.) showed signs of great stress. This presented either through color change or mucus excretion. On the positive side, the reaction of the Red Planaria was likewise rapid. On the negative side, I had a lot of them in my tank and even with precautionary measures to filter them out as quickly as possible, a complete tank crash ensued. So please be careful when using this product! It does kill the Planaria, however, the ancillary damage can be extreme, and apparently not all of it due to toxicity derived from dead flatworms.

  • works great. lots of water and carbon changes. By sylvester on 8/6/2014

    I'm gonna wright this cause I was scared for my coral and fish but everything looks good and the flat worms are gone. I changed 25% water and used 2 lbs of carbon in a dual reactor. I would recommend this to anyone with a flatworm problem.
  • Does a good job By illya on 4/13/2013

    I first tried a different manufacters product and it killed the flatworms but it also decimated the rotifers and bothered the bristle worms badly that they were out in the open looking to escape it.

    Shortly after the pods came back and so did the flatworms, So i got the flatworm exit and tried it, I was very impressed to see that it only affected the flatworms and nothing else. After 2 days i noticed there were some really tiny ones left so i treated again using 1/3 more this time and they are gone now. Just keep a close eye on any fish/anemones/corals that seem stressed by it, mine had no effects at all from it. You may have to use more then they recommend but if closely monitored there should be no issue. use a bucket and put one gallon of tank water in and a few flatworms, put one drop in every 15 min until you see them effected by it. That will tell you how many drops per gallon is needed.
  • it worked for me By Dustin on 3/31/2013

    i had a good amount of flatworm in my 300 gal.folled the directions to the T havent seen a flatworm in weeks and it didnt seem to affect any corals or fish
  • Problem Solved By Troy on 3/2/2013

    I had to dose the tank twice, but it took care of the problem. Please read and follow the directions to ensure that you don't have any issues with your livestock. It has been two months since the dosing and no signs of flatworms...
  • Great Product By Richard j on 10/10/2012

    Removed all flatworms in my mixed reef tank. Just make sure to follow the instructions fully and they will be gone.
  • Good for crowd control. Not eradication. By 5 years in the hobby. on 4/3/2012

    I've used this product 3 times in the last 2 years. Each time it devastates the flatworm population yet they always seem to come back after a few months. Since the last 2 times I used it I haven't added anything new to the tank so can honestly say there has been absolutely NO new contamination.

    As an experiment during a tank upgrade, I put all my live rock in a large holding tank with a double dose of flatworm exit for a super extended 2 day period w/out removal or carbon and proper flow. All my corals were put in a dip and visually inspected prior to placing in the new tank as well. My theory was to do a controlled environment where I could absolutely eradicate the flatworm population by super dosing without risking my livestock. 6 months later they were back up to noticable levels.

    I still use the product because it does indeed kill flatworms. But within about 6-8 months they will be right back up to where they were to begin with. I honestly do recommend this product because I have been able to safely use it three times no side effects to the rest of the tank, and it seems to get 95% of the flatworm population. Just don't buy this and expect to have it as a one time use product. If you got flatworms, they are there to stay ^_^

    5 Stars recommend: Yes it is the only thing I'm aware of to feasibly combat flatworms. Just use it as a bi-annual maintenance method.
    5 star value: Its a bit pricey at the LFS. But online its cheap and I order it with large purchases and get the free shipping. Saves me a bit of money and consider it a small cost to the overall maintenance of my tank.
    3 star performance: It works, but isn't the end all be all to flatworm control. I've been using it 2 years now and will continue to do so until there comes another solution. I would love to see it be 100% effective to get the 5 star, but as it doesn't do the job all the way(which I was lead to believe it did)....3 stars it is.
  • Problem Solver By Dan on 7/7/2011

    I've used this a couple times and it is effective. The recommended dosage is about 1 drop per gallon, so I've been able to treat my tank multiple times with one kit. The directions are clear about taking precautions during treatment-all good advice. I turned off my carbon filtration during the treatment for about 1 hour. In my case, flatworms started to die (with the recommended dosage) in about 5 minutes while some hung on for 30 minutes or so. The initial treatment seemed effective, but after a few days, I noticed the first new signs of small flatworms. A follow up treatment took care of them. I had no fish in the tank but did have a few soft corals, an urchin, and severl snails in the tank-all survived with no ill effects.
  • It just works By Lance on 6/14/2011

    If you have flat worms this stuff just works. I had to use it three times to totaly get rid of them. Just follow the directions.
  • Great Product By Chester on 9/2/2010

    wow great stuff, after adding few min later could see all the flatworms floating in the water column would definitely recommend this to anyone dealing with flatworms

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Salifert Flatworm Exit Aquarium Test Kit