My Cart (0 items)
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

SALE!

Salifert Flatworm Exit Aquarium Test Kit

SKU: 205112


  • Does a good job By illya on 4/13/13

    I first tried a different manufacters product and it killed the flatworms but it also decimated the rotifers and bothered the bristle worms badly that they were out in the open looking to escape it.

    Shortly after the pods came back and so did the flatworms, So i got the flatworm exit and tried it, I was very impressed to see that it only affected the flatworms and nothing else. After 2 days i noticed there were some really tiny ones left so i treated again using 1/3 more this time and they are gone now. Just keep a close eye on any fish/anemones/corals that seem stressed by it, mine had no effects at all from it. You may have to use more then they recommend but if closely monitored there should be no issue. use a bucket and put one gallon of tank water in and a few flatworms, put one drop in every 15 min until you see them effected by it. That will tell you how many drops per gallon is needed.
  • it worked for me By Dustin on 3/31/13

    i had a good amount of flatworm in my 300 gal.folled the directions to the T havent seen a flatworm in weeks and it didnt seem to affect any corals or fish
  • Problem Solved By Troy on 3/2/13

    I had to dose the tank twice, but it took care of the problem. Please read and follow the directions to ensure that you don't have any issues with your livestock. It has been two months since the dosing and no signs of flatworms...
  • Great Product By Richard j on 10/10/12

    Removed all flatworms in my mixed reef tank. Just make sure to follow the instructions fully and they will be gone.
  • Good for crowd control. Not eradication. By 5 years in the hobby. on 4/3/12

    I've used this product 3 times in the last 2 years. Each time it devastates the flatworm population yet they always seem to come back after a few months. Since the last 2 times I used it I haven't added anything new to the tank so can honestly say there has been absolutely NO new contamination.

    As an experiment during a tank upgrade, I put all my live rock in a large holding tank with a double dose of flatworm exit for a super extended 2 day period w/out removal or carbon and proper flow. All my corals were put in a dip and visually inspected prior to placing in the new tank as well. My theory was to do a controlled environment where I could absolutely eradicate the flatworm population by super dosing without risking my livestock. 6 months later they were back up to noticable levels.

    I still use the product because it does indeed kill flatworms. But within about 6-8 months they will be right back up to where they were to begin with. I honestly do recommend this product because I have been able to safely use it three times no side effects to the rest of the tank, and it seems to get 95% of the flatworm population. Just don't buy this and expect to have it as a one time use product. If you got flatworms, they are there to stay ^_^

    5 Stars recommend: Yes it is the only thing I'm aware of to feasibly combat flatworms. Just use it as a bi-annual maintenance method.
    5 star value: Its a bit pricey at the LFS. But online its cheap and I order it with large purchases and get the free shipping. Saves me a bit of money and consider it a small cost to the overall maintenance of my tank.
    3 star performance: It works, but isn't the end all be all to flatworm control. I've been using it 2 years now and will continue to do so until there comes another solution. I would love to see it be 100% effective to get the 5 star, but as it doesn't do the job all the way(which I was lead to believe it did)....3 stars it is.
  • Problem Solver By Dan on 7/7/11

    I've used this a couple times and it is effective. The recommended dosage is about 1 drop per gallon, so I've been able to treat my tank multiple times with one kit. The directions are clear about taking precautions during treatment-all good advice. I turned off my carbon filtration during the treatment for about 1 hour. In my case, flatworms started to die (with the recommended dosage) in about 5 minutes while some hung on for 30 minutes or so. The initial treatment seemed effective, but after a few days, I noticed the first new signs of small flatworms. A follow up treatment took care of them. I had no fish in the tank but did have a few soft corals, an urchin, and severl snails in the tank-all survived with no ill effects.
  • It just works By Lance on 6/14/11

    If you have flat worms this stuff just works. I had to use it three times to totaly get rid of them. Just follow the directions.
  • Great Product By Chester on 9/2/10

    wow great stuff, after adding few min later could see all the flatworms floating in the water column would definitely recommend this to anyone dealing with flatworms
  • A Mainstay for Tanks By TERRI on 7/22/10

    Flatworms can arrive in your tank when you least expect them! I will be purchasing some corals and fish soon so Salifert's Flatworm Exit was a no-brainer. Another great product for Reefers'. Thanks BRS!
  • Flatworm exterminator By Alan on 2/27/10

    This product will kill flatworms in affected tanks. It may take about 5 minutes for the product to work. If nothing happens, just add more drops. Remember to siphon out the dead and slimy suckers. Also, make sure the product hasn't expired. There are few negative response from reef inhabitants. My clam was the only thing that was unhappy about the treatment.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Salifert Flatworm Exit Aquarium Test Kit