Reef Crystals Salt Mix - Instant Ocean

Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Water Changes - EP 1: Saltwater Aquarium Maintenance

Reef Crystals Salt Mix - Instant Ocean

61 Review(s)

Choose a size

Instant Ocean Reef Crystals Salt Mix 160 Gallon Bucket
SKU: 300605
Instant Ocean Reef Crystals Salt Mix 200 Gallon Box
SKU: 208274
  • Great value By on 9/20/2016

    This is the only salt mix I've never used, and I've never had any issues with coral or fish health. Plenty of calcium. But the bucket first then refill the bucket with the bags from the 200 gal box. Only gave 4 stars because it takes several hours after mixing for the water to become clear. I mix my water in a barrel with a heater and pump and if I wait more than a few days to do a water change, this light brown build up starts coating the heater and pump. I assume it is calcium precipitation. I have never tried another salt brand, so I don't know if this is normal. If you are not a procrastinator, than this shouldn't affect you
  • Fine Salt, Poor Value By on 5/19/2016

    I used about all of the salts out there and have had good results with Reef Crystals. The biggest reason that I stopped using it is that you get less per bag then other brands. A singe 50 gallon bag makes between 40-45 gallons of water for me. With Kent, I get a solid 50 gallons. In addition, the RC bags do not have a zip-lock feature which tends to be messier and absorbs more moisture from the air. Just not a good value IMO.
  • Switch to Red Sea Coral Pro Salt By on 5/4/2016

    Years ago, when I first got into the marine aquarium-keeping hobby, there weren't many choices in salt mixes available to marine aquarists - Instant Ocean, being one of the very few I was aware of. So, when I recently got involved in reef aquarium keeping, I naturally gravitated to the brand that was familiar to me, and started with IO - Reef Crystals. While I don't want to be unfair to IO, which is one of the lowest-priced options on the market, the hardest part of getting my aquarium readied for reef livestock has been achieving targeted water chemistry parameters to adjust for the types of animals I hope to stock my tank with. It has been a huge source of frustration - constantly trying to balance the effects of one additive after another in order to mimic the animals' natural habitats as closely as possible. I have had to use magnesium supplements as well as buffers (Reef Buffer and Eight . four). And my pH would be at 8.3 for approximately 30 - 45 mins, until it again dropped to around 8.09. In all fairness, I'm using a couple of other new-to-me products (reef saver rock, and Ocean Direct Live Sand). I'm not sure if either or both of those products may have contributed to my issues. However, I have recently switched to Red Sea Coral Pro Salt. In my short time in this genre of the marine aquarium keeping hobby, I have tried several Red Sea products and have come to love and trust them. The RS Coral Pro salt mix is one of my favorites. Thank you, Red Sea!!!
  • Good but watch your numbers By on 2/24/2016

    I use this a lot but you really need to check your PH before doing your water change. I mix it a few days in advance and the PH averages 8.16.
  • Solid product By on 2/21/2016

    I have only two complaints about this product, the first is that some of the crystals seem to stick around as a thin flake, but they do eventually dissolve. The other is that after the salt is removed from the packaging and stored it cakes up as if it were in a humid room. But i live in Colorado and humidity doesn't really occur here, so that was/is a little mystifying. But other than that it is still salt and works exactly like you want it to.
  • repeat purchase By on 10/30/2015

    I have been using this product for about a year. Switched out one time, but came back. Does take a little work to get it day. Not too bad. I did get a bad box one time, could have been damaged in transit. BRS made good on it right away, to their credit!
    Prams remain steady with little adjustment weekly. Overall a good product.
  • Great product By on 7/25/2015

    I have used this salt mix for as long as I have been in the salt hobby, Granted I do not have a high demand tank but all my parameters are spot on, and now that I am using RO/DI made at home, my tank had jumped from looking ok to being well on its way to becoming picture perfect, I dont see any reason to change from this salt mix
  • I use this for qt tanks By on 5/15/2015

    I use other salt mixes that I feel mix better and have better numbers for my main tank that has corals, but for qt tanks where you do a lot of water changes because of meds, this is much more economical and works great.

    I got the bucket one first and then the box after that. The box has 4 bags inside that are 50 gallons worth of salt each, so I just dump one in the bucket whenever I use it all and am good to go for another 50 gallons. If I know I will be using a lot, I use 2 bags and still have room to spare. The bucket is nice because of the seal, it keeps the salt dry even in the humid south where I live.
  • best of its class By on 3/27/2015

    i think on my personal opinion that in the range of this price of salt this one is the best i also like oceanic because u can prepare it fast but reef crystal have better results for me, 0 phosphates and i like to buy the one of 200 gals instead of 160 to save some money
  • All I use! By on 2/10/2015

    I have always had great results with this product, highly recommend!