Instant Ocean Reef Crystals Salt Mix

Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Water Changes - EP 1: Saltwater Aquarium Maintenance

Instant Ocean Reef Crystals Salt Mix

56 Review(s)

Choose a size

Instant Ocean Reef Crystals Salt Mix 160 Gallon Bucket
SKU: 300605

Out of Stock
Sign up to get notified when this product is back in stock

Instant Ocean Reef Crystals Salt Mix 200 Gallon Box
SKU: 208274
  • repeat purchase By juschillin2 on 10/30/2015

    I have been using this product for about a year. Switched out one time, but came back. Does take a little work to get it day. Not too bad. I did get a bad box one time, could have been damaged in transit. BRS made good on it right away, to their credit!
    Prams remain steady with little adjustment weekly. Overall a good product.
  • Great product By Shaun on 7/25/2015

    I have used this salt mix for as long as I have been in the salt hobby, Granted I do not have a high demand tank but all my parameters are spot on, and now that I am using RO/DI made at home, my tank had jumped from looking ok to being well on its way to becoming picture perfect, I dont see any reason to change from this salt mix
  • I use this for qt tanks By Alex on 5/15/2015

    I use other salt mixes that I feel mix better and have better numbers for my main tank that has corals, but for qt tanks where you do a lot of water changes because of meds, this is much more economical and works great.

    I got the bucket one first and then the box after that. The box has 4 bags inside that are 50 gallons worth of salt each, so I just dump one in the bucket whenever I use it all and am good to go for another 50 gallons. If I know I will be using a lot, I use 2 bags and still have room to spare. The bucket is nice because of the seal, it keeps the salt dry even in the humid south where I live.
  • best of its class By Machote on 3/27/2015

    i think on my personal opinion that in the range of this price of salt this one is the best i also like oceanic because u can prepare it fast but reef crystal have better results for me, 0 phosphates and i like to buy the one of 200 gals instead of 160 to save some money
  • All I use! By Wade on 2/10/2015

    I have always had great results with this product, highly recommend!
  • Good stuff! By Terrie on 12/3/2014

    I was told about this. I bought a box, gave it a try, and have stuck with it every since.

    The only draw back is it does not dissolve as described, but I also mix it at least 5 - 7 days ahead of time so that's not an issue.

    Buy the box, it comes with 3 bags... the bucket does get hard to open after awhile.. I always had to get someone to open it for me!
  • It was time for a change By Adam on 11/18/2014

    Been using the reef crystals for years and wished i would of smartened up a long time ago and switched salt mixes. It never really dissolved as quickly as it claimed and there was always residual salt left in the bucket. Very cloudy even after sitting for a while, and would leave the tank cloudy for about a day after water change. I guess this salt is ok in a pinch, but would rather use a better quality salt mix. Corals not only look better now that i switched from reef crystals but look healthier as well.
  • good consistent mix By Josh on 7/13/2014

    Been using it for over 4 yes with no complaints
  • My go-to salt By Albert on 6/29/2014

    What can I say? This salt dissolves fast, and is incredibly affordable. The parameters of the mixed saltwater is also in line with what I need to keep my corals healthy. Sure there are a lot of other great salt out there, but for the price I would highly recommend reef crystals!
  • Possibly Bad Batch IO By Jim on 6/27/2014

    I've used IO for many years and have not felt the need for the overpriced boutique salts. I bought two 200g boxes for a new tank build. This batch seems to be severely lacking in CA and it does not come close to its claim of "When dissolved in pure water to a specific gravity of 1.026, Instant Ocean® should provide a solution that has 400 mg/L calcium ion and 1320 mg/L magnesium ion." I tested Ca and KH, at 1.024, and while KH is 10.5 Ca is so low its off the Red Sea chart at ~150. The lowest they go is .58/290. That test was verified and after adding 4 tsp of Turbo Calcium levels measured 400 the next day. I should also add that the levels are probably lower being I had a calcium reactor online several days prior to testing.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Instant Ocean Reef Crystals Salt Mix