HW-Marinemix Reefer Salt Mix 160 Gallons - HW Wiegandt

hw-Marinemix Reefer Salt Mix
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • hw-Marinemix Reefer Salt Mix
  • Purely Synthetic Salt - HW MarineMix | Product Spotlight
  • hw MarineMix Salt

HW-Marinemix Reefer Salt Mix 160 Gallons - HW Wiegandt

SKU: 208270
Performance
93 Review(s)
$76.99
Please wait...
OR
  • Updated review. By on 9/2/2016

    After replacing the filter cartridges on my BRS 6 stage+ RO system and making fresh RO, this salt mixes clear and does not precipitate like previously. I do feel like it has alot of floating particles on the surface after mixing. Hence the 4 stars.
  • Good salt By on 8/29/2016

    Easy to mix. Params on this salt seem on point every time (alk, calcium, etc). The one negative though is this stuff likes to clump up.
  • Will not mix clear. By on 8/28/2016

    No matter how I mix this stuff. Massive amounts of floating particles and will not mix clear. Going back to RSCP immediately.
  • Not for me By on 8/13/2016

    After using this salt mix for 3 months (2 boxes) I've switched back to Red Sea. The good - This salt does mix up fast, clear with no residue, and to advertises parameters. But for some reason I couldn't keep a stable pH. After about a month I started seeing some corals recede. By month 3 I had lost several colonies including my clam that I had for 4 years.

    Some additional info - Tank is a 120g with a 30g sump. Water changes are done weekly. To see if I could get the pH up I tried daily water changes for 5 days. With this salt my pH was between 7.6 - 7.8. I do use a 2 part solution but no other additives. ORP with this salt was also low, in the 250 range. Skimmer foam wasn't as thick and produced less skimmate. No fish or soft corals were lost. All livestock issues were with LPS/SPS corals and my clam.
  • Great product By on 8/9/2016

    Switched from reef crystals and I'm very happy that I did.
  • Great salt, but.... By on 8/5/2016

    This has been a great salt for me, but when a large package marked "REEFER" is sitting on your door step and you have large amounts of light pouring out from behind your window shades.., your neighbors are prone to start rumors. All kidding aside, I am on my 3rd box and this salt mixes very easy, no residue, good clarity and mixes very close to the parameters that I keep my DT at.
  • Will not make 160 Gallons - Still like the product By on 7/24/2016

    I probably won't stop using the salt, mixes fast and without the brown film. Parameters meet my needs. I am pissed they advertise that it makes 160 gallons because that is not true! I use a Ace Roto Mold 55 gallon container and I fill it to the 50 gallon mark every time. Salt is mixed to specific gravity of 1.023, which is actually less than the advertised 1.024. I've gone through 6 boxes and each box has made about 140-145 gallons.
  • Good stuff By on 7/13/2016

    Mixes well,,,havent had any issues!
  • Bad Alk By on 6/27/2016

    I started my new 75G with this salt and immediately noticed I had low ALK. So I mixed the salt up by rolling it around and i've done two water changes since my startup and i'm still getting low ALK in my tank. Just tested a new batch and it came out to 5.936 dkh. I've never had a problem like this with other salts (reef crystals, red sea pro and regular). I do not recommend this.
  • So far So good By on 6/8/2016

    Started off with Salinity on my office tank. I have recently switched to this stuff. Only 2 water changes so far, so i'm not sure there is much going on. Haven't done any solid testing with it, but the tank seems to be doing a bit better with it. Though I am also a bit more religious about my additives now, which could also be contributing.