Radion XR30w G3 Pro LED Light Fixture - EcoTech Marine

SAVE
$150.00
EcoTech Radion XR30wG3 Pro LED Light Fixture
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • EcoTech Radion XR30wG3 Pro LED Light Fixture

Radion XR30w G3 Pro LED Light Fixture - EcoTech Marine

SKU: 300256
Performance
9 Review(s)

reg. $749.00

Special Price: $599.00

Discontinued

  • Not very well made, terrible customer service. Poor value for $$$ By on 9/13/2016

    I had one of these for a year, they looked great while running. The button controls were awkward so I programmed it using the software and never touched them again. The light stopped working after one year. Sent it back in, as it is clearly not supposed to stop working that soon. Customer support sent a replacement immediately and charged $600 to my credit card immediately. They stated that there was water damage to the unit, from touching the buttons with a wet finger. I have only used the buttons twice (with dry hands because this thing cost $$) because they were so awful to use, and the unit has been suspended 18" over the aquarium the entire time I have owned it. Apparently they are not made to be used near water. Also when I did not want the replacement unit they charged me $600 for, I returned it and asked for them to send my original unit back. The have not yet refunded me for the returned unit, and my original fixture was returned to me completely disassembled (literally loose circuit boards in a box). To add insult to injury there are not even enough screws to put it back together. (missing 8) I was appalled with their customer service.
  • Growth within a week By on 5/31/2016

    A few other reviewers have clearly pointed out the high cost of this device. They're correct it's not cheap by any stretch of the imagination. That being said, my corals love these lights. Where previously I saw some growth over the course of a month I now see the same level of growth within a week. IT's getting kind of ridiculous and I'm having to frag stuff out just to make space.

    If you're going to do this, purchase a reeflink. Being able to use ecosmart live and control the radions and vortechs from my phone has been great. Especially entertaining to guests and I don't have to worry about plugging or unplugging items or messing with a timer. Additionally, if I want to see it during off hours I can easily turn it back on and play with the color spectrum. Loved these so much that I bought more for my next tank upgrade :)
  • Perfect for the deep pocket By on 5/5/2016

    So lets be honest, you are not buying this because it has special LEDs or other ground breaking IP. I know that was not the reason for me. You can easily build a replicable system (in terms of LED choice and dimmable) for about $400 said and done with fans, hanging kit, etc and still have controller support.

    So with a hanging kit and this light you are looking at $800, double the cost of a DIY or alternate solution with the same exact LEDs, or more.

    I was extremely skeptical on buying until I got to see one in person. A store owner let me run demo on a string of 6 XR30W Pros he had from his tablet. Sold. The software is why you buy this light. The customization of your scheduling, color control, odds and ends just blew me away. Apex integration, which I plan on doing in the future, and the ability to sync or differentiate all the lights in your system put the big picture in place for me. If you have no interest in configuring your tank(s) schedule down to the K and light intensity by the minute, then this light is probably not for you. The small extras like "storm mode" and "cloud cover" add a unique touch to the environment.

    My plan is to buy 9 more of these lights; I currently have one. Ecotech gets 3 stars from me because no matter how many lights you buy, nobody is allowed to sell/market these lights for less than what you see on BRS. This is the only company I've ever bought from (Ecotech I mean) that will not discount you even 1% on such a large sum of money ($8,000 in my case) for lighting (even commercial companies who I buy 10's of thousands of dollars from will budge). So, the economy of scale is not there and anyone running larger systems or multiple smaller systems are at a disadvantage with this light, in which case I would say go Halide or T5, which in all likeliness is what I will end up doing.

    Ecotech knows they have priority in the LED market and they are making use of that.

    All in all, great looking product, great function, great support, but total scrooges.
  • NICE LIGHT AND FEATURES BUT PROGRAMMING CAN BE A PROBLEM By on 4/28/2016

    Bought this light to replace my previous LED lighting system, when I made a modest change from a 30 gallon to a 38 gallon reef. Unfortunately the new tank has a brace in the middle and I had to use the tank mount for the Radion a bit off center. I purchased the wide angle lens to get better coverage on the one side that wasn't receiving enough light.
    The main problem was programming my Radion with the Ecosmart Live. Fortunately the people at Ecotech's customer support helped out.
    It's been two weeks with the new lights. So far, I can tell you that my SPS corals which are midway to higher look no better than they did with my previous lighting. However, the zoanthids, scolymias and acans that I have on the sand bed look better than ever, and growing, as well, particularly the Scoly's.
    I am still in the acclimation process. I started out at 20% intensity and am currently at 35%. I'll probably go a bit higher, but don't want to push it.
    Maybe I can ask the people at my LFS if I can rent or borrow a PAR meter which would make it easier to fine tune the lighting.
  • Stunning By on 3/18/2016

    Outstanding. Put 2 of these over my 110 tall and my tank and they look amazing. Price is steep but I'm quite happy with the purchase.
  • Pricey, but awesome By on 1/2/2016

    These do everything you want them to and even have a bunch of showy functions. I don't plan to use clouds or lightning storms in my house, but hey, it's part of the cool factor to say you do.

    At first, I couldn't believe the price of these lights, but I bit the bullet and got them. I'm really glad I did. My Apex controls them wonderfully and before I had it, I used the EcoSmart Manager. Both work really well and do everything you want them to.

    If you can handle the price tag, you can't go wrong.
  • Nice lights but my corals suffered By on 11/27/2015

    The lights intergrate well with Apex Neptune controller so I did not have to purchase the ReefLink. I noticed that my corals were dying or at a standstill. I didn't have PAR meter so I didn't know how strong I should run these. I ran at 20-40% but corals were still dying. I ended switching to T5s. Corals are very happy now. They did more growth in a month then they did in 2 years!
  • Ecotech XR30 By on 9/7/2015

    These lights are WOW! I had cheaper LEDs, and they did fine with my SPS. But these XR30s are incredible with all the features. The color they produce is amazing! I keep the red/green channel very low, 10% max at peak lighting over my 180 reef. The only downside is the price, but if you can bite the bullet you will not be disappointed. I would definitely get the reeflink also.
  • WOW By on 8/24/2015

    This light is more then what I expected!. I ordered two of these to hang over my reef and I can't believe the dramatic impact they have. I'm having a difficult time connecting them to my apex but the echosmart live software is fantastic so I may not have too. There is plenty of light, so much so that I'm only running mine at 15%. I'll be purchasing a PAR meter soon so that I can dial in my setup to optimum levels. Don't hesitate if you're on the fence with these.