My Cart (0 items)
AI Director - Aqua Illumination
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • AI Director - Aqua Illumination

AI Director Wireless Controller
Aqua Illumination

SKU: 208095


  • Wasn't thoroughly tested by AI By Great in theory on 5/5/2014

    The idea of this product is great... control your lights from your computer or phone. Except I think AI released the product without testing it appropriately. Since the day I purchased this product my lights have not worked properly. The director does not connect wirelessly (I have it connected to ethernet), the power is continuously lost which makes my light malfunction (they'll stay on all day or not turn on at all), updating the firmware continuously fails, I've had to reset my lights and director at least once a day since I bought it, I've spent days at a time without lights on my tank because I had to disconnect the power (or the lights would stay on all night). I could go on but the point is that this product was a waste of money.

    All in all, if you're set on AI, I would go for the controller. Stay away from the director.
  • Not what it should be By Frank on 3/31/2014

    I would not get this unit at this point, their are software issues. Your lights will not work right. But you need to wait for the large software update this could come out with in the next few weeks.
    And then I don't know if this is the way to go at this point. But for the money this is what you get issue after issue as for calling AI they try to help you but the tech are tide as well. not right for this company to do this. And as for anyone who' s don't have the money to spend this is what you will get is issue. Not what I would have thought I deal with.
  • Takes time, but i now trust it to work By Alex on 3/11/2014

    I was very disappointed when i purchased the director, and ended up using the other controller i had.

    The next day, a new update was available fixing the bugs i was having, what a "coincidence"!

    Now that i have set up the system, and contacted customer service after having minor problems that were my fault, everything now works.

    I believe that it is best to factory reset ALL the lights you own BEFORE you hook them up to the director, then update the firmware. I had problems before i did, and no longer have problems after resetting them.
  • Easy to Use By Victor on 3/10/2014

    The Director made setting up my Hydra's easy, it did have a few bugs with the wireless, maybe because it wasn't connecting to my wireless AP, I was able to solve that issue by wiring it up to my network.
  • A little disappointed By Mike on 3/2/2014

    I bought this to control my Vegas figuring it would give me all the controllability that was promised with the Vegas. NOT....You have the same level of control as you do with Hydras. Bottom line...I could have saved $300 buying 3 Hydra fixtures and got purple and uv to boot. I spoke with AI about this and the promise more features will become available with future firmware upgrades but this has left a bit of a sour taste in my mouth. I didnt have any trouble connecting it to the internet or my lights as mentioned in other reviews. I guess overall I'm pleased with the Director it is much better than the previous controller option.
  • Love it but make sure you get the latest firmware By HM on 1/31/2014

    When I first got it I had problems we it from a faulty cable to requiring a manual update. But the AI support is really great. I alway got a response the same day.

    I've had It up for about 2 months now and my corals are really responding great. I have my weather set to match the Barrier reef and it's cool to see the light change everyday. Stormy days are great when you see all the lightning.

    Corals really like it too because since installing my flowerpot coral started giving me babies. Never did it before the new light fixture with weather matching and lunar cycle.
  • Works great after firmware updates By Frank on 1/26/2014

    I ended up going with the AI lights rather than Eco Tech for my new reef. The deciding factor was the whole system would be cheaper. The Hydra 52 has 52 LEDs and 7 channels, and UV lights for $599 and the Radions only have 38 LED's, 6 channels, and no UV for $649. To top it off, the AI director is only $99 compared to $200 for Ecotechs Reef Link.

    The director was rushed to market but I bought it later so the firmware updates had already fixed the problems people have experienced. It is basically a little black box that you control with your computer. I wire it directly to my network so I have now experience with issues you may encounter linking it to your wifi.
  • could be better By anthony on 1/21/2014

    got my director same time i got my hydra 52 (check for my review under hydra 52 if your considering it)

    This product was nicely packaged, reminded me of the apple tv. the product was sleek and very clean, something you could put anywhere without creating an ugly area.

    Now...... lets get to business.
    It took me 3 days to completely set up the director. The firmware is not up to date with any WEP security or any updated systems for that matter. you would have to directly connect your director to the router via ethernet. This takes about 4-6 hours to update (on its own) and then you have to connect via wifi and wait another 1-2 hours for the software updates. AI was very helpful with this process so props to them on that. The little time i got to actually use the software of the director on my hydra it seemed very smooth but a little confusing if you have no working experience with computers and basic software manipulation. The stop/ start cycle game me some real issues as it would not start from the beginning of the day instead it would start at 4 instead of 1. This problem could of been easily adjusted but i did not have time or the patience as the humming of the hydra tempted me to throw it out the window. after i could no longer stand the sound emitting from my hydra i decided to return the whole setup after AI told me that this hummin/buzzin was normal and tested to a "tolerable" level. Good luck i hope they fix all the kinks
  • On the fence By BAJAB on 1/21/2014

    It was a little frustrating at first to get it configured, but will stabilize once you're able to update the firmware (which could take a day to show up as an option). The only bug that I'm dealing with now is the "manual" function sometimes does not working on my mobile device. I bought this for the new Hydra 52 which is an excellent light, but it is severely handicapped without this controller so I really didn't have a choice, which is a little upsetting and a slap in the face given the bugs that I had to deal with.
  • Junk By Ryan on 1/5/2014

    don't bother , its so hard to use and messes up way to much to be worth it. use the small controller instead.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: AI Director Wireless Controller - Aqua Illumination