ReefLink Wireless Controller - EcoTech Marine

ReefLink Wireless Controller - EcoTech Marine
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • ReefLink Wireless Controller - EcoTech Marine
  • MACNA 2013: EcoTech ReefLink
  • ReefLink
  • ReefLink Wireless Controller - EcoTech Marine Included Parts
  • ReefLink Wireless Controller - EcoTech Marine Front
  • ReefLink Wireless Controller - EcoTech Marine Rear
  • ReefLink Wireless Controller - EcoTech Marine Data
  • ReefLink Wireless Controller - EcoTech Marine Specs
  • ReefLink Wireless Controller - EcoTech Marine Box 1
  • ReefLink Wireless Controller - EcoTech Marine Box 2

ReefLink Wireless Controller - EcoTech Marine

SKU: 208093
Performance
43 Review(s)
$99.00
Please wait...
OR
  • It's servicable By on 4/30/2016

    Ok I have this for about a year now, and for the most part it works just fine. When it doesn't want to work it's a complete headache. When I first set it up I could NEVER get it to work wirelessly. It would get on the wireless network and get an IP address just fine, but would never sign into ecosmart live. It's works well on the hard wire, for me it's perfectly serviceable.

    That being said it can still be fairly flakey from time to time, and sometimes a firmware update to the unit will result in a couple of hours of headache. When it works it's absolutely great and being able to control things from my phone is rather cool. When it doesn't it's at least 2-4 hours of headache.

    I can honestly say that in the past year it has for the most part gotten better through firmware updates, but there can be a lemon from time to time.

    I would give it 5 stars if it were not for the intermittent issues and the fact it will NOT get on wireless. Eventually I will probably move up to a Neptune system and replace this, but that may be some time off. For the price it gives you ALOT of options and control when it works.
  • Reeflink By on 4/26/2016

    Wireless option is not good loses connection several times a day. Sure you could hard wire but should you have to?
  • I want to love this product but can't yet By on 4/23/2016

    Ecotech Marine has become one of the goto venders in the marine hobby. Most every product they put out is top notch, however they totally missed the mark with this product. I absolutely want to love the Reeflink and I do when its working but that seems to be few and far between. The first issue I have is with the internal wireless device. You can not get a good connection with it. It constantly drops and will not stay connected. In order to avoid the issue I've hardwired the device but get similar results. It will connect to echosmart live for a few days then drops off again for a few more. I do have to say that Ecotech Marine customer service did contact me immediately after sending in my issues and provided some things to try but I have not had the chance to complete them yet. I wish they would just provide a firmware update to correct the manny problems with this piece of gear. I recommend anyone considering this to wait until the bugs have been worked out.
  • 90% off line waste of money By on 4/16/2016

    Bought this Reeflink a few Months ago, used it for 2 3 weeks and sold it! It kept going off line every time i want to use it. Keep contacting Ecotech support but they were not much help ending up blaming my Neptune system interference even though reeflink is hard wired to my router. therefore, it is a waste of time and Money. I will wait for a better light then will switch the radion out.
  • don't bother By on 3/28/2016

    I never submitted a review on this product when I first got it, and I should have. I might've saved some other people some major aggravation. Unless you have a router nearby that you can plug this thing into, don't even waste your time. I tried for hours and over many days and NEVER got it to work. I work in the tech industry. I know what I'm doing. And this product is just worthless unless it's hardwired. Although I can't say much about hardwired products with EcoTech either.
    I have, or I should say HAD, Radions and MP40s. Great products. But programming the pumps through the weird controller is a pain and takes a chart to know (maybe) what you've set the pumps to do. And the lights, well you can plug them in directly to your PC with a USB cable and after a half dozen or so tries, PC reboots and light powercycles, you might get lucky and connect.
    I sold the ReefLink 2 weeks after purchasing it and after a year of using MP40s and Radions, I sold them too. I now have Neptune WAV and Kessil lighting on my tank. I just wish I’d done it sooner and saved myself hours of frustration.
  • Works Great By on 1/23/2016

    Had to write a review just because of the negatives, If you have even a little bit of experience with electronics you'll have this running great all the time. The few issues i have had were because of my poor wireless router which was dropping the connection to all devices in the house (including my hardwired reef link), once I upgraded the router I have had no issues imagine that. If it tells you the device needs to be restored when your device has been working fine for weeks or months, restart it and give it 30 minutes to refresh and you'll find it will connect to your account once again. This is a great device that gives me flexibility to control my reefs flow and program lighting schedules with no problems, if you on the fence id say go for it.
  • Keep your calm, It can be done By on 10/30/2015

    For lack of a 3.5 star option, I heir on the positive side when it comes to Ecotech because they do have excellent customer service.

    So here is the rundown. I own an aquarium design firm. I work with frustrating equipment fairly regularly... So I may have a stronger tolerance towards the hiccups that I can assume you'll probably run into when trying to dial in this device. Just for what it's worth.

    First things first, go through the walk through that the card in the box suggest. As soon as you have it recognized on your pc, be sure to do a firmware update. I can see where one might think, "Why would a brand new product need an update already?" Well, it does. And getting on a level playing field right out the gate makes things a lot less frustrating.

    Other Tips:
    - Connect it to a router, it has an option for wireless, don't kid yourself. (This unit comes with an ethernet cable)
    - Before you even open the box. Pull your devices up through EcoSmartLive and just make sure you have all your ducks in a row. This means, have you aquarium named, have your devices named, make sure you can in fact adjust the program. For some even this step can be enough to get you steamed, others it's a no brainer. Just depends on how you individually manage your equipment.

    ******Be sure you have the connection manager downloaded. When it's been 6-8 months since the last time I've configured I forget this step.*****

    - After you have your devices all configured with the hardwire direct to your pc/mac. Start fresh. I even restarted my computer. It may sound way overkill, but with Ecotech I like to make sure the connection manager is fully closed out, I'm logged out of EcoSmartLive and I can do things in the proper order without accidentally having left something open.

    My experience (and that's all it is), is Ecotech products work amazingly well and far exceed the industry standard for control when you do each step, carefully, and in the correct order. Maybe that's a lot to ask for products that aren't exactly cheap, but when you get these things firing on all cylinders... It's a good day.

    Best of luck!
  • I have to keep redoing it from a factory reset everytime i try to use it By on 9/24/2015

    This thing is a joke, everytime i want to use it i have delete my account and start over with a factory reset this this is the biggest waste of 100 bucks they make great lights and fans stay away from this thing what a waste of money
  • Smooth installatiion By on 9/18/2015

    The Reef Link wireless controller was my second Eco Tech purchase. Purchased a Vectra M1 and this is the only, so far, Eco Tech product on my network. My network is quite busy and it handles video streaming , two computers, Apex system. The Reef Link installed without a hitch and was fully recognized by my router.

    RJ
  • Reeflink By on 9/7/2015

    This product is great for programming Ecotech devices. I use this to program my radions and vortechs. It is a little quirky when trying to use it with the wireless, but once I plugged it into the router I've never had another issue.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: ReefLink Wireless Controller - EcoTech Marine