jQuery UI Accordion - Default functionality

Hydor Smart Level Controller Auto Top Off

Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Hydor Smart Level Controller

Hydor Smart Level Controller Auto Top Off

SKU: 207981
Performance
25 Review(s)
$94.99
Please wait...
OR
  • Good could be Great By Steve on 7/1/2015

    Super easy no moving parts. Only draw back suggestion is make the "space between the High water sensor and the alarm sensor bigger. It is too easy to trigger an alarm.
  • A great ato system, works well By Laurie on 5/18/2015

    I have this ato in my Red Sea max 250 rear sump, the level is critical for the protein skimmer to work properly and it keeps it spot on. Because the Hydor use's conductivity to operate it's very important to keep the sensor clean for proper operation as I found out when I had a low water alarm after approximately 2 weeks from the original new set up. But like any ATO system it has to be kept clean, so every water change I'll clean the sensor with RO water. It's called maintenance and not a huge concern. Glad I went with the Hydor ato.
  • Love it! By Steve K on 4/15/2015

    I have wanted an auto top off for a long while. I purchased the Hydor because there are no moving parts to jam. It was easy to set and forget!
  • Great ATO By James on 3/23/2015

    I decided to go with this one over making my own and i am very happy with it. The only thing to be aware of is that when you turn it on after doing maintenance it will still give high water alarm for a few seconds to a minute as the temp of the sensor normalizes so that it accurately senses water level is lower than the alarm level. Give it time and alarm will stop.
    There is a switch on the unit so you can turn it off when needed with out having to unplug it.
    Also I use it with a dosing pump so it fills slow and have the sensor in my return chamber so it is only about a 1/4 gallon between the two min/max sensors to help with stablitiy.
  • Not the best auto-top-off on the market. By Luke on 3/10/2015

    The hydor smart level controller is something I bought out of necessity when my Tunze ATO stopped functioning properly. I don't particularly like Hydor because most of their products seem big and clunky like the Koralia Wave Maker for example.
    One major design flaw I noticed with this ATO is that the power cord on water level sensor is positioned horizontally. The problem with this is that when you run the wire up and over your sump it has a tendency to pivot the sensor 90 degrees so that all three water sensors are facing down, thus becoming ineffective at measuring the waters level. I had to zip-tie the chord to the sump using a stick-on bracket so the sensor wouldn't pivot.
    The second problem I had with this ATO, which many others have, is the alarm function. While it is nice to have an alarm to warn you when the sump is too full, I thought it was rather annoying whenever I did a water change or other maintenance. Usually when I do a water change I am not exact on replacing the water volume, usually 1/2 to 1/4 of a gallon off. When I filled the tank with this much extra water my ATO would alarm me for hours until that much water evaporated. I would end up unplugging the ATO until the water was below the sensor.
    Overall I think Hydor could make some easy adjustments to improve this product.
  • Love it - hope this one lasts By bigtang1 on 3/8/2015

    Does a great job My only issue is that this is my second one I bought one as soon as they were released and it failed recently I bought another one but if this one goes I'll move on
  • Simple and efective By James on 2/19/2015

    I have mine connected to a 55 gal. reef tank. I have a canister filter so the sensor is in the tank. I adjusted water flow from the top up tank with a ball valve so as to give the sensor more time to detect temperature change. Right now the pump turns off when the water reaches half way up the max level sensor there by giving me added distance from the alarm sensor so as not to cause a false alarm from wave action.
  • Love it By David on 2/10/2015

    An accurate ATO. What I like about this product is that if it is left in the "on" position for more than a couple of minutes it will beep. A great fail-safe addition!
  • Great product By Eric on 2/8/2015

    This is my first ATO after using an unreliable gravity drip system for the past 10 years. Easy to set up and operate. Love not having to worry about float switches sticking. I am using the Tom Aqua Lifter pump which provides the perfect flow rate and quiet operation. The only complaint I have is that the volume of water between the low and high point sensors is on the high side in my current un-baffled sump. My new sump, that is under construction, has a smaller return pump chamber and will fluctuate volume faster thus keeping salinity more constant.
  • Works like as advertised. No problems. By Ron on 1/27/2015

    Using the Hydor to top-off my sump from a small bucket that is sourced from my ro/di system, Using a float valve to control the ro/di input to the bucket adjacent to the sump

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Hydor Smart Level Controller Auto Top Off