Hydor Smart Level Controller Auto Top Off

Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Hydor Smart Level Controller

Hydor Smart Level Controller Auto Top Off

SKU: 207981
29 Review(s)
Please wait...
  • Worth the Money By DAVID on 9/10/2015

    The only thing that I would buy with this ATO is a ball value to adjust the water flow so the it will not fill the sump too much when the levels go low. Doing thing this works great. I have see someone complain about the calcium deposit on the sensor after 8 months. I am going on 9 months now. It must be safe to amuse that they DON"T clean their equipment with Tunze Citric Acid which can be purchased on BRS. I try to clean all the equipment every 3 months.
  • alarmed failure with the pump in the on position By Charles on 8/31/2015

    after running this for 8 months, it failed in the on position flooding the sump and the resulting room. i found that the max level sensor was covered in calcium deposits. i removed it and reset the water level. it cycled and stopped correctly. on the first natural cycle after the cleaning it failed the same way flooding the room again.

    the alarm sounded both times and the pump was not turned off by the controller.

    i have opened a warranty case with hydor that has not been responded to yet. Prior to this failure i would have rated this as a 4 out of 5 star item. the false alarms from this unit are numerous. now that it is having real alarms and not stopping the pump, i have real concerns.

  • Do not do it By Joesreeftank on 8/23/2015

    Mine was less than one year old and failed on, Yes good thing My fish room has a shower liner that contained the 5 to 10 gal of water.. but what realy bothers me is no phone number to call!! you need to communicate via email, very frustrating. I still have not been able to take care of this issue. I went ahead and purchased the Tunze... Much better item it will really keep your water at the level you set it.. The Hydor had to drop i a
    half inch to kick the pump on and in my sump that's about 1.5 gals
  • Works great. By Jonathan on 7/25/2015

    I've had it for about 6mo and it works great. I had to use a 100gph pump.
  • Good could be Great By Steve on 7/1/2015

    Super easy no moving parts. Only draw back suggestion is make the "space between the High water sensor and the alarm sensor bigger. It is too easy to trigger an alarm.
  • A great ato system, works well By Laurie on 5/18/2015

    I have this ato in my Red Sea max 250 rear sump, the level is critical for the protein skimmer to work properly and it keeps it spot on. Because the Hydor use's conductivity to operate it's very important to keep the sensor clean for proper operation as I found out when I had a low water alarm after approximately 2 weeks from the original new set up. But like any ATO system it has to be kept clean, so every water change I'll clean the sensor with RO water. It's called maintenance and not a huge concern. Glad I went with the Hydor ato.
  • Love it! By Steve K on 4/15/2015

    I have wanted an auto top off for a long while. I purchased the Hydor because there are no moving parts to jam. It was easy to set and forget!
  • Great ATO By James on 3/23/2015

    I decided to go with this one over making my own and i am very happy with it. The only thing to be aware of is that when you turn it on after doing maintenance it will still give high water alarm for a few seconds to a minute as the temp of the sensor normalizes so that it accurately senses water level is lower than the alarm level. Give it time and alarm will stop.
    There is a switch on the unit so you can turn it off when needed with out having to unplug it.
    Also I use it with a dosing pump so it fills slow and have the sensor in my return chamber so it is only about a 1/4 gallon between the two min/max sensors to help with stablitiy.
  • Not the best auto-top-off on the market. By Luke on 3/10/2015

    The hydor smart level controller is something I bought out of necessity when my Tunze ATO stopped functioning properly. I don't particularly like Hydor because most of their products seem big and clunky like the Koralia Wave Maker for example.
    One major design flaw I noticed with this ATO is that the power cord on water level sensor is positioned horizontally. The problem with this is that when you run the wire up and over your sump it has a tendency to pivot the sensor 90 degrees so that all three water sensors are facing down, thus becoming ineffective at measuring the waters level. I had to zip-tie the chord to the sump using a stick-on bracket so the sensor wouldn't pivot.
    The second problem I had with this ATO, which many others have, is the alarm function. While it is nice to have an alarm to warn you when the sump is too full, I thought it was rather annoying whenever I did a water change or other maintenance. Usually when I do a water change I am not exact on replacing the water volume, usually 1/2 to 1/4 of a gallon off. When I filled the tank with this much extra water my ATO would alarm me for hours until that much water evaporated. I would end up unplugging the ATO until the water was below the sensor.
    Overall I think Hydor could make some easy adjustments to improve this product.
  • Love it - hope this one lasts By bigtang1 on 3/8/2015

    Does a great job My only issue is that this is my second one I bought one as soon as they were released and it failed recently I bought another one but if this one goes I'll move on

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Hydor Smart Level Controller Auto Top Off