Smart Level Controller Auto Top Off - Hydor

Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Hydor Smart Level Controller

Smart Level Controller Auto Top Off - Hydor

SKU: 207981
Performance
35 Review(s)
$94.99
Please wait...
OR
  • Meh. It's a maybe. By Fred on 1/21/2016

    Mine failed after 6 months. Had to fight with Hydor through email to get them to send me a replacement. After a couple weeks the replacement came, I used it for a few weeks then sold it on eBay, as soon as I got the Tunze unit installed. Like most people say, buy the right piece of equipment first. This may work for you for a little while, or it may fail. The sensor can either be too sensitive, have too much leeway, or be just right, depending on where it is positioned in the sump, the size of your sump/chamber and how the sump is configured. No adjustments. Do yourself a favor, save up a few bucks and buy a known good product, the Tunze.
  • Failed in the on state By Eric on 12/27/2015

    I've had this for about 2 years or so now. Up until tonight it worked fine. I woke up to it alarming at 2am. My sump was full but not yet overflowing. So... I drained the excess and got levels back to normal. Then I checked the sensor, it was in the proper position and not dirty. Over the last hour and a half i have experimented and no matter what i do the ATO powers up, goes though its calibration cycle and then turns on the ATO pump. The top prong on the sensor is dry, the bottom two are submerged, so it ought to think all is normal and not turn on the ATO pump. I'll be looking for an alternative, probably a tunze
  • Decent By HannSolo on 12/20/2015

    #1 You absolutely need to remember to drill a hole in your tube to break the siphon.

    #2 The delayed reaction on the sensor requires an appropriatly sized pump or youll need to invest in a Y fitting and a ball valve to control how much topoff water is pumped into the sump.

    #3 I would recommend testing the system with regular saltwater for the topoff and removing water untill it kicks on so you can see it in action.

    #4 Whoever decided some sticky tape would work well in your wet sump to keep the cord horizontal must be retarded. You'll need to invest in some extra magnets to keep the sensor from pivoting
  • not a reliable means of top off in a sump By jake on 12/14/2015

    This product does not work well. Simply put there is too much lag time in between the sensor shutting off the pump and by the time it does shut off it over fills to the point of constantly setting off the alarm. Even taking it out of the sump on my dt setting it up on my 30 gal qt tank it would let about 3 gallons of water evaporate before even turning on and refilling. At 3 gallons my salinity rose significantly ad well as my copper ppm which is a no go.. if they could fix the lag time in response to the sensor shutting off the pump it would be a great product. I would not recommend this product to a fellow reef tank owner.
  • Stopped Working after 2 weeks By Kevin on 12/9/2015

    It worked fine for the first week. After 2 weeks it stopped working. My water got low. I had thought that maybe there was in issue with the alarm and it stopped the pump. So, I filled it to the proper height, checked the pump was working, and restarted the unit. Still did not turn on.

    Checked the sensor in my sump. Still clean and did not move. Don't get this ATO. I got a Tunze instead and it's working great.
  • Would not recommend it or buy anthr By Whitedog on 11/16/2015

    Screwed with it for days and still just about any action in the sump including it topping off sets off that stupid alarm. It's to the point I just ignore it now. One day it will be real and I'll get screwed.
  • Worth the Money By DAVID on 9/10/2015

    The only thing that I would buy with this ATO is a ball value to adjust the water flow so the it will not fill the sump too much when the levels go low. Doing thing this works great. I have see someone complain about the calcium deposit on the sensor after 8 months. I am going on 9 months now. It must be safe to amuse that they DON"T clean their equipment with Tunze Citric Acid which can be purchased on BRS. I try to clean all the equipment every 3 months.
  • alarmed failure with the pump in the on position By Charles on 8/31/2015

    after running this for 8 months, it failed in the on position flooding the sump and the resulting room. i found that the max level sensor was covered in calcium deposits. i removed it and reset the water level. it cycled and stopped correctly. on the first natural cycle after the cleaning it failed the same way flooding the room again.

    the alarm sounded both times and the pump was not turned off by the controller.

    i have opened a warranty case with hydor that has not been responded to yet. Prior to this failure i would have rated this as a 4 out of 5 star item. the false alarms from this unit are numerous. now that it is having real alarms and not stopping the pump, i have real concerns.

    Charles
  • Do not do it By Joesreeftank on 8/23/2015

    Mine was less than one year old and failed on, Yes good thing My fish room has a shower liner that contained the 5 to 10 gal of water.. but what realy bothers me is no phone number to call!! you need to communicate via email, very frustrating. I still have not been able to take care of this issue. I went ahead and purchased the Tunze... Much better item it will really keep your water at the level you set it.. The Hydor had to drop i a
    half inch to kick the pump on and in my sump that's about 1.5 gals
  • Works great. By Jonathan on 7/25/2015

    I've had it for about 6mo and it works great. I had to use a 100gph pump.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Smart Level Controller Auto Top Off - Hydor