My Cart (0 items)
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

Hydor Smart Level Controller
Auto Top Off

SKU: 207981


  • Nice Product if you mate it with the right pump By Rafik on 7/24/2014

    I must say that i have had mixed feelings since i got this product. At first, i tried connecting it to Maxi-jet 1200pump which was too powerful and the water ended up getting to the max level and the alarm would sound. On contacting hydor, they reocommended a pump of max 30 gph and one that would do the job in 10 minutes before the ATO turns the pump off. I ended up getting a hydor seltz 185gph with a flow control knob (also because the ATO only accepts 2 prong plugs).

    I have been using it in my 40g long (48"), the sensor is very reliable and not interrupted by salt creep or snails or anything. However, there is about ~ 0.6 "between the min and max level so the ATO ends up kicking in every 3-4 days (without any drastic effect on salinity.
    That is the only could be considered a disadvantage really.

    From what i think, this sensor would be perfectly suited or better suited for a tall as opposed to a long tank if you know what i mean.
  • Nice simple system that needs a few tweaks to be perfect By Greg on 5/9/2014

    I think this is mentioned in a couple other places, but one key thing to getting this ATO dialed in is to either pick a pump that will fill the water from the min level to the max in 25 seconds to 10 minutes. Otherwise if you'll be constantly triggering the alarm function on this ATO (for either overfilling or it think the ATO reservoir is empty). Once you have the return pump dialed it is a great ATO.

    The setup that I have that is working nicely is using an Aqua Lifter with a valve from one of my drip acclimators to limit the flow of the pump. This way I can top-off the return section in my 13.5 gallon AIO in around 1-2 minutes. This prevents it from filling to fast; overfilling and thus tripping the alarm.
  • Great product By Swisher on 4/27/2014

    Really nice ATO system. The sensors keep the water level spot on in my sump.
  • good product By mnight on 4/27/2014

    This is a good auto top off system, with a few tweaks it works perfect.first of all the margin between the max level sensor and alarm sensor is very small about 8mm. The system tends to overfill setting off the alarm constantly. To correct this problem install a syphon break in your return line, which is simply a pin hole in the return line in your top off water reservoir above the water line. Water will squirt out off the hole so it must be in your reservoir. This will force air into the line breaking the syphon that's created once the pump shuts off. You can also add a ball valve to the line to slow the flow coming from your pump. I recommend using a small hose around 1/4 in for your return. With these small tweaks you will never have any problems with this system.
  • good product By mnight on 4/26/2014

    This is a good auto top off system with a little tweaking you should not have any problems.the system tends to overfill and make the alarm sound, by adding a syphon break which is simply a pin hole in the return line above the waterline in your top off container. This will force air into the line and breaks the syphon.this will keep the pump from over filling.also I found its best to use 1/4 hose or something close to it. You can aalso add a ball valve to the return line to slow the flow down a little. With these small tips its a great controller.
  • Have to power cycle often By Jordan on 4/20/2014

    More often than not, the product works fine. However, I have been awoken in the middle of the night to its alarm several times because the water got too low and for some reason it did not turn on the pump to top off. A power cycle always fixes the issue. Also, it has overfilled several times. Not overfilled to the point of a problem, but overfilled enough to make it audibly alarm for several minutes.
  • EXCELLENT By Z28 on 3/31/2014

    HAVE THIS FOR A 75 GAL WITH 45 GAL SUMP/FUGE. HAVE IT IN MY RETURN PUMP SECTION WORKS GREAT. WAVES OR TURBULENCE DOESN'T AFFECT IT.ALL WARNINGS WORK. I ESPECIALLY LIKE THE AUTO TURN OFF AFTER 10 MINUTES OF RUN TIME.
  • A great ATO for smaller systems By gwbh on 3/31/2014

    I use this for my 14 gallon nano reef tank and it has been one of the essential tools to keep my tank healthy. My salinity has been at a stable level for the past 6 months because of this ATO. I tried manually topping of for the first month or so and it was just too hard to keep my salinity consistent, no more worrying about manual top offs. I highly recommend!
  • TOP COMMENT INCORRECT By ??????? on 3/27/2014

    This does work for saltwater my friend above. You can place the sensor were ever you need it to adjust for that? It does not just sit in one place obviously you have yours too high so it evaporates more before filling. If its filling to fast then you add a smaller or slower pump for kalk.....Same as almost all other ATOS?.
  • Not a ideal solution. By trey on 3/13/2014

    This review is split.... good product vs practical application.
    This product works EXACTLY as described. If you are looking for an ATO for a REEF <60 gal or so I would buy another system though. The water level sensor is impervious to waves, salt creep,algae, snails etc. It always works as it shoud. however in my 55 FOWLR the amt that must evaporate for the system to top off is about 2 GALLONS. There is no way to adjust it.YOU CAN'T USE IT SAFELY IF YOU MIX KALK IN YOUR ATO WATER. In my opinion this one is probably best suited to top off FRESHWATER systems, as there will not be a drastic change in salinity or Ph with top offs.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Hydor Smart Level Controller Auto Top Off