AFS Automatic Feeding System - Neptune Systems

Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • My New Favorite: AFS Automatic Feeder EP 20: Apex Aquarium Controllers from Neptune Systems

AFS Automatic Feeding System - Neptune Systems

SKU: 207979
Performance
54 Review(s)
$99.95
Please wait...
OR
  • Terrible Product & Support By on 3/11/2017

    This unit was dead within a few hours of installing. Neptune offered no help or replacement, they stated it's water damage. After paying almost $1,800 for the full system, I expected significantly better service and quality. Don't purchase, you will be disappointed.
  • How have they not corrected the lid / cartridge design? By on 3/6/2017

    For $100, Neptune needs to correct the design that allows for accidental removal of the cover over the tank (dumping weeks' worth of food directly into the tank). Just about every forum out there mocks first time users all needing to learn this flaw. While I understand the recommendation to "be more careful," for $100 as part of a $1,000 system, I'm paying for it to be well-engineered, not flimsy and poorly designed.

    Ryan & Andrew - please pass on this feedback to Terence - perhaps from a very high volume dealer, they will listen and adapt the next version of the product.
  • Definitely some room for improvement. By on 3/3/2017

    I'm making a video for YouTube to thoroughly explain the product including data. Yes, it is noisy. Realistically, one of the noisier pieces of equipment on the tank. But when are you using an auto feeder? Generally when you aren't home so who cares? I noticed some variance in how many pellets it feeds which I will go over in the video but it is not a huge margin. I think it is easy to refill and have had no issue with it. The mount is possibly it's biggest flaw so far. It is quite hard to get it to secure to the rim due to the adjust-ability of the mount. Plus if you over-tighten it it will throw itself into the tank. Finally, depending on how tech smart you are this will be a pain to get to truly auto feed. Coming into it you think that you plug it in turn it on and it turns pumps off etc when it turns on. This is not the case and requires a little extra work to do that. This is also easily fixed by buying a feeding ring that will also prevent the food from being sucked down your overflow.
  • Works Well By on 11/30/2016

    Is it noisy, sure. But it is also nice to know its working. Can it be a bit of an effort to refill, again, sure. I start a feed cycle and when the feed cup is extended I grab the sides and remove it. There is no issue of the cap coming off this way. It feeds when its supposed to. Its easy to setup and that is what matters to me.
  • Poor Quality, High Cost, Poor Support By on 11/17/2016

    Very poor quality for $100, which I'm finding matches the rest of the Apex suite. The gear mechanism is chintzy, I feel like the lid is going to break every time I refill the drum, and I had one stop working on a 1,000 gallon aquarium after about 6 months of use. I'm a capable individual and I've ended up with food all over the floor 2 or 3 times.

    Neptune required me to ship them the broken feeder at my cost so they could determine whether they will support the product and provide me a replacement. I own a retail store and maintenance business and the clients for whom I installed this feeder are not home very frequently. Neptune's response to my polite request to send me a replacement unit as soon as possible rather than requiring receipt of my broken unit was met with the following response:

    "The Feeder is a non essential item and the system will continue to work normally without it."

    They are correct, the system did continue to function. It functioned so well that the system couldn't tell me the feeder wasn't functioning and it went unnoticed for a whole week! I checked the feeder log and it showed the feeder had been "turned on" 4 times a day as programmed.

    Overall I am very underwhelmed by the Apex system as a whole. If you're going to put the effort in to program an Apex, you might as well learn to program a PLC so you can get affordable, quality components. It's clear the inflexible, robotic support crew was put in place to discourage warranty claims. Fill out an RMA and wait who knows how for a replacement while I'm stuck visiting my client's home to feed daily? What a joke! I will never use another Apex product again.

    Brad Jeffers, Aquatopia of Bend

  • It's the worst By on 11/16/2016

    Many times the top popped off flooding my tank with food. I was trying to remove the blockage so that the food would come out instead the top popped off this unit is cheap and not engineered very well I would not recommend this.
  • Doing its Job By on 11/9/2016

    I understand that many of the complaints that people have is spilling the food into the tank, however not say anything bad, but if you know its a bit difficult either pay more attention when pulling the food off, or pull the full unit off so you can change it. Better be safe than sorry, even if it might take a bit longer. The Noise is a bit annoying however its only min of 30seconds and that's if you are even home to hear it. Overall I am super satisfied with this purchase, however knowing my luck the new model will come out in the next few days.
  • Been using over a year and love it By on 9/22/2016

    I find the complaints laughable. Yeah, it makes a little noise for all of 30 seconds it operates -check.
    Slide the reservoir straight out to remove and refill, or slide it out with sideways tension to spill the food all in your tank.
    I have never spilled any food in my tank, and just actually pay attention to how I open it.
    It''s like the old argument to girls, pay attention before you sit, or put the seat down, but first pay attention. This is a good feeder, doing what it should.
  • Does the job By on 9/14/2016

    Ok not perfect but I needed something to feed the fish when I'm not home. It's loud but not a big deal.
  • Junk By on 8/28/2016

    I don't understand why this is $100. Mine died shortly after buying it. It's cheap. It's inconsistent. I should have returned it. But that's an even bigger pain.