AFS Automatic Feeding System - Neptune Systems

Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • My New Favorite: AFS Automatic Feeder EP 20: Apex Aquarium Controllers from Neptune Systems

AFS Automatic Feeding System - Neptune Systems

SKU: 207979
Performance
44 Review(s)
$99.95
Please wait...
OR
  • Works well By on 8/13/2016

    Never had a problem and have been using mine. Used a ring to make sure the pellets didn't drop into the overflow, but overall has been consistent and reliable.
  • Piece of junk By on 8/5/2016

    The lid is temperamental. Had several spills of food. Filled the tank with food several times. Lid should have some more secure mechanism to attach and remove. Also finicky trying to detach until from base that attaches unit to tank. Lid popped off doing this as well.
  • Great for vacations By on 7/25/2016

    I'm not sure why people are being so picky with this feeder...? Sure it makes some noise (only while its rotating, so once or twice a day for 30 seconds).
    The noise dosnt bother me.
    The amount of food it dispenses is hit n miss since its impossible for it to feed an exact amount. The type and size of food would regulate this.
    As for opening it up to refill, its easy to attach it to the tank and take it off, so why not just take the unit off before refilling it?

    My main concern about this would be that its not water proof at all. This sits right on top of your tank and the USB ports are too close to water for my comfort. Any splash near the unit and you could get potential issues. This is my first feeder so I'm not sure if other feeders are waterproof or not. I feel the unit and USB should be waterproof.
    Other concern is the price. I love that it connects to my Apex, but I think the price is too high for what it is.

    4/5 stars due to not being waterproof and price.
  • Great but not perfect By on 4/23/2016

    The feeder is super slick and I love the fact that its programable with the Apex. You have may more options over all the other feeders on the market. That being said be cautions when removing the lid while its hanging over the tank. I dumped a whole cylinder of food into my reef because I wanted to change the feed rate. I don't understand why all the other reviewers complain about the sound. It does make noise, how ever I wouldn't call it annoying...unless you're feeding in the middle of the night and the tank is in your bedroom. Otherwise this is a great product and worth trying.
  • Worked great By on 4/9/2016

    Worked great out of the box. Had no problems.
  • Less then expected By on 4/3/2016

    I have not changed the code on my Apex for months but once in a while the feeder does not feed. That is unexplainable by everyone I have talked to. Other then that the feeder has kept my fish alive for over a year now. It is noisy but my concern it for it to feed the fish. It drops about the same amount of food each time with 1mm pellets. Not perfect but close enough to keep the tank happy. BUT when it comes time to refill, you have to be careful. It is almost impossible to remove the canister. Most of the time all that comes off is the canister lid and ALL the food dumps into the tank. Advice: remove the entire feeder tilt up and remove the lid. It only takes a little extra time and no disasters.
  • good add on, needs some design improovements to get 5 stars By on 2/21/2016

    it's a bit noisier than it needs to be.
    sounds like the gear quality and gear mesh is not quite right.
    the food compartment should have a twist lock lid so the entire compartment can be removed without accidentally opening it.
    on a positive note, it is fairly easy to program.
    i have mine set to supply basic daily feedings of pellets and add other things (frozen foods and treats) by hand.
  • The best Feeder By on 2/18/2016

    A must have if you have the Neptune Apex ....! Control the times per day that you are able to feed you tank !
  • Nothing but issues with this device By on 2/4/2016

    I control my tank with the Apex controller and absolutely love it. I have never had any issues UNTIL I purchased this device.

    First, the ability to 'daisy chain' multiple feeders together went out and I had to buy new cables to hook them directly into my Energy Bar/Aquabus.

    Then one of them got 'stuck' while rotating and would not return to the closed position (into the trash it went).

    Then, out of the blue, they took my Energy Bars down - knocked communication with the controller out on one and stopped ALL outlets on another. I know it was this device because after unplugging my Energy Bar for a reboot/re-connect with the controller, as soon as I plugged one of the AFS devices in, it took them down again...

    I'm not sure why Neptune continues to sell these items...

    Back to the Eheim everyday feeder for me...
  • Dumps Food; Noisy; Inconsistent By on 1/30/2016

    I have just about every Apex product they make and love them all.

    But...

    The feeder is an epic fail. The lid is so difficult to pop off that dumps some to all the food on the floor or in the tank 75% of the time; even when disconnecting and being as carful as possible.

    It's unnecessarily noisy - as if Apex added noise ok purpose.

    The food dispensing is inconsistent at best.

    Worst design ever. I wish I could return it.