AFS Automatic Feeding System - Neptune Systems

Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • My New Favorite: AFS Automatic Feeder EP 20: Apex Aquarium Controllers from Neptune Systems

AFS Automatic Feeding System - Neptune Systems

SKU: 207979
Performance
41 Review(s)
$99.95
Please wait...
OR
  • Great but not perfect By on 4/23/2016

    The feeder is super slick and I love the fact that its programable with the Apex. You have may more options over all the other feeders on the market. That being said be cautions when removing the lid while its hanging over the tank. I dumped a whole cylinder of food into my reef because I wanted to change the feed rate. I don't understand why all the other reviewers complain about the sound. It does make noise, how ever I wouldn't call it annoying...unless you're feeding in the middle of the night and the tank is in your bedroom. Otherwise this is a great product and worth trying.
  • Worked great By on 4/9/2016

    Worked great out of the box. Had no problems.
  • Less then expected By on 4/3/2016

    I have not changed the code on my Apex for months but once in a while the feeder does not feed. That is unexplainable by everyone I have talked to. Other then that the feeder has kept my fish alive for over a year now. It is noisy but my concern it for it to feed the fish. It drops about the same amount of food each time with 1mm pellets. Not perfect but close enough to keep the tank happy. BUT when it comes time to refill, you have to be careful. It is almost impossible to remove the canister. Most of the time all that comes off is the canister lid and ALL the food dumps into the tank. Advice: remove the entire feeder tilt up and remove the lid. It only takes a little extra time and no disasters.
  • good add on, needs some design improovements to get 5 stars By on 2/21/2016

    it's a bit noisier than it needs to be.
    sounds like the gear quality and gear mesh is not quite right.
    the food compartment should have a twist lock lid so the entire compartment can be removed without accidentally opening it.
    on a positive note, it is fairly easy to program.
    i have mine set to supply basic daily feedings of pellets and add other things (frozen foods and treats) by hand.
  • The best Feeder By on 2/18/2016

    A must have if you have the Neptune Apex ....! Control the times per day that you are able to feed you tank !
  • Nothing but issues with this device By on 2/4/2016

    I control my tank with the Apex controller and absolutely love it. I have never had any issues UNTIL I purchased this device.

    First, the ability to 'daisy chain' multiple feeders together went out and I had to buy new cables to hook them directly into my Energy Bar/Aquabus.

    Then one of them got 'stuck' while rotating and would not return to the closed position (into the trash it went).

    Then, out of the blue, they took my Energy Bars down - knocked communication with the controller out on one and stopped ALL outlets on another. I know it was this device because after unplugging my Energy Bar for a reboot/re-connect with the controller, as soon as I plugged one of the AFS devices in, it took them down again...

    I'm not sure why Neptune continues to sell these items...

    Back to the Eheim everyday feeder for me...
  • Dumps Food; Noisy; Inconsistent By on 1/30/2016

    I have just about every Apex product they make and love them all.

    But...

    The feeder is an epic fail. The lid is so difficult to pop off that dumps some to all the food on the floor or in the tank 75% of the time; even when disconnecting and being as carful as possible.

    It's unnecessarily noisy - as if Apex added noise ok purpose.

    The food dispensing is inconsistent at best.

    Worst design ever. I wish I could return it.
  • feeds inconsistently. buggy software. By on 1/26/2016

    I hope nobody is naive enough to put this right on their tank. I recommend testing it over a bowl or something first. If you do that, you will find that it has up to 800% of error. Said differently, you'll see anywhere from 1/4 the food you expect it to output, to 4 times more than you expect. Hence 800% variation. Then when you look at how it is designed, you'll understand why. There must be better designs out there. Hopefully Neptune comes up with something better. So make sure you take that into account when designing your feeding schedule. It is really tough though since you don't know what you are going to get.

    Secondly, the feeder is buggy. If you configure your schedule to start feeding at midnight, it will freeze the feeder forever and it will never feed. After spending over an hour each night for a couple days with Neptune tech support, I learned about this bug.

    Note: I was happy that Neptune answered my question, but note that it was very very hard for me to get answer from them. I wouldn't have gotten an answer if I wasn't persistent. They kept keep giving me the run around and wouldn't answer my question, which was..... "why won't my feeder work. What am I doing wrong? Or what is wrong with code that was auto generated by their tool (Fusion)." It wasn't until I asked to talk to an engineer many many times that the Tech Support Manager put me on hold for another 30 mins and came back with an answer from engineering. And note that he said previously he already talked to an engineering about this. Now that I know what the issue was, I'm fairly confident that nobody even looked at the code that was generated. If they had, they would have found it in the first 5 mins of the phone call, which would have saved me and Neptune systems man hours of time.

    So in a nutshell, my experience so far has not been good. So please take this info and do as you please. Hope this helps.
  • Waste of money By on 11/30/2015

    Didn't work out of the box. Had to send it back to factory. Have not received it back yet. Hoping it works this time. Given another chance would certainly chose a stand alone feeder.
  • feeds fish....it is LOUD! By on 11/14/2015

    easily set up to the apex base unit, filling food cup is cumbersome but not rocket science.Food dispenses good.
    It is very loud but only feeds twice a day so not a deal breaker.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: AFS Automatic Feeding System - Neptune Systems