AFS Automatic Feeding System - Neptune Systems

Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • My New Favorite: AFS Automatic Feeder EP 20: Apex Aquarium Controllers from Neptune Systems

AFS Automatic Feeding System - Neptune Systems

SKU: 207979
Performance
47 Review(s)
$99.95
Please wait...
OR
  • Been using over a year and love it By on 9/22/2016

    I find the complaints laughable. Yeah, it makes a little noise for all of 30 seconds it operates -check.
    Slide the reservoir straight out to remove and refill, or slide it out with sideways tension to spill the food all in your tank.
    I have never spilled any food in my tank, and just actually pay attention to how I open it.
    It''s like the old argument to girls, pay attention before you sit, or put the seat down, but first pay attention. This is a good feeder, doing what it should.
  • Does the job By on 9/14/2016

    Ok not perfect but I needed something to feed the fish when I'm not home. It's loud but not a big deal.
  • Junk By on 8/28/2016

    I don't understand why this is $100. Mine died shortly after buying it. It's cheap. It's inconsistent. I should have returned it. But that's an even bigger pain.
  • Works well By on 8/13/2016

    Never had a problem and have been using mine. Used a ring to make sure the pellets didn't drop into the overflow, but overall has been consistent and reliable.
  • Piece of junk By on 8/5/2016

    The lid is temperamental. Had several spills of food. Filled the tank with food several times. Lid should have some more secure mechanism to attach and remove. Also finicky trying to detach until from base that attaches unit to tank. Lid popped off doing this as well.
  • Great for vacations By on 7/25/2016

    I'm not sure why people are being so picky with this feeder...? Sure it makes some noise (only while its rotating, so once or twice a day for 30 seconds).
    The noise dosnt bother me.
    The amount of food it dispenses is hit n miss since its impossible for it to feed an exact amount. The type and size of food would regulate this.
    As for opening it up to refill, its easy to attach it to the tank and take it off, so why not just take the unit off before refilling it?

    My main concern about this would be that its not water proof at all. This sits right on top of your tank and the USB ports are too close to water for my comfort. Any splash near the unit and you could get potential issues. This is my first feeder so I'm not sure if other feeders are waterproof or not. I feel the unit and USB should be waterproof.
    Other concern is the price. I love that it connects to my Apex, but I think the price is too high for what it is.

    4/5 stars due to not being waterproof and price.
  • Great but not perfect By on 4/23/2016

    The feeder is super slick and I love the fact that its programable with the Apex. You have may more options over all the other feeders on the market. That being said be cautions when removing the lid while its hanging over the tank. I dumped a whole cylinder of food into my reef because I wanted to change the feed rate. I don't understand why all the other reviewers complain about the sound. It does make noise, how ever I wouldn't call it annoying...unless you're feeding in the middle of the night and the tank is in your bedroom. Otherwise this is a great product and worth trying.
  • Worked great By on 4/9/2016

    Worked great out of the box. Had no problems.
  • Less then expected By on 4/3/2016

    I have not changed the code on my Apex for months but once in a while the feeder does not feed. That is unexplainable by everyone I have talked to. Other then that the feeder has kept my fish alive for over a year now. It is noisy but my concern it for it to feed the fish. It drops about the same amount of food each time with 1mm pellets. Not perfect but close enough to keep the tank happy. BUT when it comes time to refill, you have to be careful. It is almost impossible to remove the canister. Most of the time all that comes off is the canister lid and ALL the food dumps into the tank. Advice: remove the entire feeder tilt up and remove the lid. It only takes a little extra time and no disasters.
  • good add on, needs some design improovements to get 5 stars By on 2/21/2016

    it's a bit noisier than it needs to be.
    sounds like the gear quality and gear mesh is not quite right.
    the food compartment should have a twist lock lid so the entire compartment can be removed without accidentally opening it.
    on a positive note, it is fairly easy to program.
    i have mine set to supply basic daily feedings of pellets and add other things (frozen foods and treats) by hand.