My Cart (0 items)
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • My New Favorite: AFS Automatic Feeder EP 20: Apex Aquarium Controllers from Neptune Systems

AFS Automatic Feeding System - Neptune Systems

SKU: 207979


  • works as should By nick on 12/15/2014

    I installed this on my apex with ease and it is running properly. Be sure to take the whole unit down before attempting to adjust feed amount . I wrote an advanced program and now I have multiple feed cycles with a delay after the pumps shut down. Now I don't have to burden my tanksitter so much when I'm on vacation.
  • makes life easier By Ryan on 11/30/2014

    The auto feeder from neptune really makes feed fish so much easier feed the same amount every time and i never forget to feed fish and don't have to be home to be sure they are fed. The unit is a little noisy but it isn't that bad.
  • Has been working great for almost a year By Joe on 11/17/2014

    I have not had the problem of having the top come off while removing the drum, but I can see how that could happen, so I will not be more careful when I do that. However, since it hasn't happened to me yet, I can't lower my review because of it.

    Because the unit connects to the Apex controller, I can turn main pump off, as well as turn a PH on to better distribute pellets when feeding, which works great.

    The improvement I would make is on how you adjust the amount of food released. As others have noted, for smaller tanks (60 gal), it is very hard to adjust the unit to release small loads.

    I don't care about the noise the unit makes for the few min. a day it is operating.

    Overall, it has been extremely useful for me and is doing the job very well.
  • Poor Design By Mike on 10/22/2014

    Big Neptune fan here, HOWEVER this product needs some major rework. Besides being noisy, the cover to the food container barely seats itself in place. Multiple times this has caused the entire contents of the food container to dump into my tank.
  • Easy to Program, needs refinement By Matt on 10/10/2014

    I purchased two of the AFS units very close to the initial release. I do like how easy it is to program the units.

    I've had the issues that others have mentioned: it's easy to pull the cap off when removing the food container from the unit (it took me hours to clean a tank where that happened), and it's hard to control the amount of food fed to the tank.

    Also, I have had issues with both units' mounting clamps. Neither will hold in place firmly, so the unit moves around a lot. I've had a hard time finding a good place to mount it on my sump, and had to resort to a lot of velcro tape.

    Lastly, and most importantly, one of my units died after about eight months of use due to "water damage" from the humidity in the sump (open backed cabinet). Neptune would not replace it, but to their credit, did offer a slight discount to repair it. However, fixing something that would most likely fail in another few months is not worth the money.

    TLDR; The control design is nice, but the physical unit is poorly designed and likely to fail. I'll be finding another solution for feeding.
  • Not bad! By SL on 8/13/2014

    I used the included rubber feet to place this on top of my canopy with the drop chute positioned over a canopy vent. After fiddling with placement so the food drops where I want, I marked the correct spot with some blue painter's tape. This makes it easy to check the amount of food left as well replenish the food bin.

    Pros:
    - Super easy to program from the Apex
    - Can coordinate feeding with other activity in the tank (eg. turn off/down water flow)
    - Dead simple installation (one aquabus cable)
    - No batteries!
    - My Anthiases have never been happier!

    Cons:
    - Much noisier than I expected
    - Lots of mounting options, but none really worked well inside my Marineland canopy. Works great up on top, though.
  • Apex can do better By Jt on 8/1/2014

    Like others have mentioned, easy to instal and program. My problem is you must remove the entire feeder to remove the food housing. If you do not and try to pull the housing out, the top comes off and any food inside falls into the tank. Also this feeder is very loud. I've used the eheim feeder before and the sound difference is huge. I still stand behind the apex aqua controller as there is none better. The feeder just needs a little work. I was hoping it was just an auger that turns to move the food forward and drop out of the bottom. that would work for pellets, flakes, and plankton with more accuracy.
  • good By Josh on 7/13/2014

    Nice to have when going out of town. Works flawlessly. Another great product from neptune
  • Unit stopped working, front fell off and dumped all food By Jmardis on 6/24/2014

    This feeder was easy to hook up and program. After three months unit stopped working and would not run even with the power light on. The USB port looks to be rusted out. I do not think cheap USB connectors are meant to be above a saltwater tank.

    While trying to trouble shoot no feed problem the front cover fell off and all the food dumped in my tank. The fish loved it my corals not going to like it for sure.

    This unit was great when new but needs an improvement for the connector to avoid rusting.
  • Be careful By Jaws on 6/3/2014

    The unit seems to do what is advertised to do. The programing was pretty easy and didn't take much time. I did exactly what someone said below though. I was trying to adjust the amount of food that falls and the cover accidently fell off and dumped the whole barrel of food into the tank. Wasn't fun getting all that food out of the tank the night before I was going on a trip. My advice there would be to make sure you take it off the tank before trying to fill or adjust, otherwise you end up with a mess. It is also noisy, but not sure why that upsets people because its short lived, cranks the food out then it stops. The amount of food adjustment could be better. I too have a 29 gallon and the lowest setting is finicky at best. Sometimes it drops just a few pieces and other times it drops the correct amount. If I bump it up 1 setting it puts way too much in. Other than that it shuts everything down, feeds, then starts everything back up in the correct time delay (that's using the apex controller).

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: AFS Automatic Feeding System - Neptune Systems