AFS Automatic Feeding System - Neptune Systems

SAVE $10.00
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • My New Favorite: AFS Automatic Feeder EP 20: Apex Aquarium Controllers from Neptune Systems

AFS Automatic Feeding System - Neptune Systems

SKU: 207979
32 Review(s)

reg. $99.99

Special Price: $89.99

Please wait...
  • feeds is LOUD! By Stumpedin06 on 11/14/2015

    easily set up to the apex base unit, filling food cup is cumbersome but not rocket science.Food dispenses good.
    It is very loud but only feeds twice a day so not a deal breaker.
  • Catastrophe waiting to happen By CJ on 11/2/2015

    Added food, installed the feeder, tested it, and noticed that I needed to adjust the amount of food coming out. Went to remove the food cartridge but only the lid popped off, and I ended up dumping the entire thing into the tank. There is no way they tested this design prior to shipping. I just ended up spending the entire day mixing water and cleaning the spill. Seriously flawed design: Do not buy.
  • Great but not perfect By MJ on 10/19/2015

    As others have mentioned there is some room for improvement such as the adjustment of the amount dispensed, removing and refilling, and lack of monitoring of food level. But it integrates well into the Apex system and does what it says it will (feed fish automatically). The noise isn't that big of deal and really not that loud, but I could see some concerns for people that were trying to have a dead silent tank all of the time.
  • Does the job, but not perfect By bl95 on 9/24/2015

    The fact that this feeder can be programmed with the Apex unit is the biggest plus for this unit. As other users have said, it is fairly easy to dump food in the tank when removing the food compartment for refill or adjustment. Need a better mechanism for regulating amount of food dispensed as well. Pretty easy to overfeed small pellet food.
  • ok By mquinn1 on 8/24/2015

    The product is ok nothing special needs a sensor to montor food levels and an electronic way to adjust food amounts
  • Great product!! Easy to setup and configure By Kenneth on 8/18/2015

    I love this product!! Was easy to configure out of the box. I am no longer worried when I travel with work. You do have to becarefull when removing to add food as it is easy to pull front off and dump the remaining food into the tank by accident. I typically hold a plate under the feeder when removing the hopper. Would have gave it a 5 star rating if it had a latch to keep top on.
  • It does the job... By Patrick on 7/15/2015

    It is loud the first time I heard it I got scared because I thought it was breaking. The sound really isn't an issue for me it's not like it runs for hours at a time it takes about 2 mins to feed and it is done. I can handle 2 mins of noise. I really like that it turns off the pumps and feeds and gives me the option of two feedings and adding as much food as I need. It truly is a great product for vacations and if you just don't feel like feeding the fish. I use it mainly for vacations or when I run out of mysti shrimp.
  • Piece of Junk By Jeff on 6/22/2015

    Totally inconsistant with the amount of food dropped. The fish get anywhere from 1/2 the amount that I use to hand feed, up to 4 times that amount. Very disappointing. It's not as noisy as I feared it would be from other reviews, but it does make noise. It's also virtually impossible to open the container without spilling food all over the place, and as far as I know, you have to open the lid to adjust the feed amount (I couldn't find any other way to adjust it). The AFS doesn't integrate well with the controller either. If I try it automatic, the pumps don't shut off. If I try it through Feed A, it doesn't activate. I could eventually figure out the programming but I'm not going to bother. The biggest thing with me is the wide variance in the amount of food delivered. Poorly designed unit. Apex should be ashamed and I'm a bit put out with BRS for offering it for sale.
  • Loud but good, concerned with longevity By Vincent on 3/30/2015

    Works well for me thus far, however hearing all these others having problems and the warranty not being honored has me concerned. I am afraid Neptune would need to upgrade their warranty to cover humidity for me to give this product a 5 star rating. If something is designed to sit over water, it should be impervious to Humidity IMHO.
  • stopped working after 3 months By Jim on 2/2/2015

    I am very disappointed in this feeder. After 3 months it just stopped. Send it to Neptune for repair and they said it was water related and not covered by warrantee. It seems not sturdy enough to sit over an aquarium. Don't waste you money.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: AFS Automatic Feeding System - Neptune Systems