jQuery UI Accordion - Default functionality

AFS Automatic Feeding System - Neptune Systems

Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • My New Favorite: AFS Automatic Feeder EP 20: Apex Aquarium Controllers from Neptune Systems

AFS Automatic Feeding System - Neptune Systems

SKU: 207979
Performance
25 Review(s)
$99.99
Please wait...
OR
  • Piece of Junk By Jeff on 6/22/2015

    Totally inconsistant with the amount of food dropped. The fish get anywhere from 1/2 the amount that I use to hand feed, up to 4 times that amount. Very disappointing. It's not as noisy as I feared it would be from other reviews, but it does make noise. It's also virtually impossible to open the container without spilling food all over the place, and as far as I know, you have to open the lid to adjust the feed amount (I couldn't find any other way to adjust it). The AFS doesn't integrate well with the controller either. If I try it automatic, the pumps don't shut off. If I try it through Feed A, it doesn't activate. I could eventually figure out the programming but I'm not going to bother. The biggest thing with me is the wide variance in the amount of food delivered. Poorly designed unit. Apex should be ashamed and I'm a bit put out with BRS for offering it for sale.
  • Loud but good, concerned with longevity By Vincent on 3/30/2015

    Works well for me thus far, however hearing all these others having problems and the warranty not being honored has me concerned. I am afraid Neptune would need to upgrade their warranty to cover humidity for me to give this product a 5 star rating. If something is designed to sit over water, it should be impervious to Humidity IMHO.
  • stopped working after 3 months By Jim on 2/2/2015

    I am very disappointed in this feeder. After 3 months it just stopped. Send it to Neptune for repair and they said it was water related and not covered by warrantee. It seems not sturdy enough to sit over an aquarium. Don't waste you money.
  • Does exactly what it is supposed to By Brian on 1/23/2015

    This thing is freaking sweet it is very easy to hook up and automatically created a tile on the fusion Interface once I plugged it in. As some of the other reviewer's have mentioned it is fairly noisy. The noise is not a concern to me because I bought this to feed my tank when I am not home. So far I like the crossover diet sample that was included I did mix in some normal pellets. As far as tuning I would recommend placing a plate underneath the feeder or testing it away from the tank. I did manage to dump a bunch of pellets in the tank on one of my first attempts. Overall, I'm happy with it and I would certainly trust it to feed for me when I'm away.
  • newb By Brian on 1/3/2015

    This is my first auto feeder. First off, the biggest issue I have is that in order to remove the container you essentially have to pull on the lid/cap. I think you've got about a 50/50 chance that you will not pull the container out and you will pull the lid off, spilling all the food into the tank. So, you have to remove the whole AFS EVERY time.

    ....not as loud as a blender, but louder than my dishwasher. (does that help?)... It's loud.

  • Decent, but I expect more out of Apex By Huck1795 on 1/1/2015

    The unit is nice and the integration with the Apex controller can not be beat. I have had my unit for six months now and I have had the cover fall off a few times while trying to adjust the feed amount. Now I simply wait until it is empty before I remove which minimizes the potential for excess food to fall into my tank. The feed control is very touchy, but at the end of the day, the difference is not that big of a deal. I think that overall it is a good unit, and the pros definitely out weigh the cons
  • Lame By Charles on 12/22/2014

    The thing is so incredibly loud, and it's not a defect.
    Lookup the Lifeguard Intellifeeder. Notice everyone has music playing when they show it in operation? Ya. Because it's so loud you'll freak out thinking something is broken, it's not.

    For 100$ this is junk.
  • works as should By nick on 12/15/2014

    I installed this on my apex with ease and it is running properly. Be sure to take the whole unit down before attempting to adjust feed amount . I wrote an advanced program and now I have multiple feed cycles with a delay after the pumps shut down. Now I don't have to burden my tanksitter so much when I'm on vacation.
  • makes life easier By Ryan on 11/30/2014

    The auto feeder from neptune really makes feed fish so much easier feed the same amount every time and i never forget to feed fish and don't have to be home to be sure they are fed. The unit is a little noisy but it isn't that bad.
  • Has been working great for almost a year By Joe on 11/17/2014

    I have not had the problem of having the top come off while removing the drum, but I can see how that could happen, so I will not be more careful when I do that. However, since it hasn't happened to me yet, I can't lower my review because of it.

    Because the unit connects to the Apex controller, I can turn main pump off, as well as turn a PH on to better distribute pellets when feeding, which works great.

    The improvement I would make is on how you adjust the amount of food released. As others have noted, for smaller tanks (60 gal), it is very hard to adjust the unit to release small loads.

    I don't care about the noise the unit makes for the few min. a day it is operating.

    Overall, it has been extremely useful for me and is doing the job very well.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: AFS Automatic Feeding System - Neptune Systems