Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer

Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer View 2
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer View 2
  • MACNA 2013: Vertex Omega Protein Skimmer
  • Vertex Omega Skimmer: Better than the Rest? | Product Spotlight
  • Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer Pump View

Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer

SKU: 207957
Performance
51 Review(s)
$319.99
Please wait...
OR
  • Awesome By Andrew on 7/13/2015

    After 2 months this thing is skimming better than I thought possible. Installing the Vectra this evening will review that in a month or so.
  • Very temperamental, but amazing once dialed in By Brady on 6/10/2015

    This skimmer is build like a tank. Great build quality and very quiet. Only ding against construction is the ozone nipples and tubing. I'm guessing they chose pex tubing to not get degraded by the ozone, but it does make it very stiff and hard to fit and stay on the nipples.That said, this thing is very temperamental when you're getting it dialed in. Make 100% sure the chamber you put this in has a constant water level, remember to adjust the volute on the pump, and if it keeps over flowing, raise it a bit and try again.

  • Just awesome By Stan on 5/16/2015

    Love this skimmer. Very quiet. I had no problems tuning it like others have. skims like a beast on a 90g tank. I would highly recommend it.
  • Long Break in By Andrew on 5/12/2015

    I will give a partial review now. I have had this running for over a week and it still is breaking in and overflowing. I understand that good skimmers take a while, but think this is a little excessive. Will provide another review when break in complete
  • Very finicky skimmer. Dead after 1 year. By ReefMaster on 5/11/2015

    This skimmer is very hard to dial in and has a long break in period. It is mostly well built except the ozone nipples commonly break off. After one year the motor stopped spinning when I plugged it in. PVC welding also broke for the part connecting to the motor. This is easily fixed.

    Pros: It runs very quiet. And now that it is not working, even more quiet.

    I had great hopes with this skimmer, but I could never dial it in. I also have the 150 version for my other tank, which skims great so I am happy with it, but is a little louder and still has similar build issues. They must have just scaled down the other one for the 130 without really thinking about how the dimension changes affect performance.

    For the price, I'd recommend going with a different skimmer that will last you, or get something cheaper that will skim better and last just as long.

  • Vertex Omega 130 is awesome By San Diego Reefer on 4/29/2015

    This skimmer is awesome. It runs better at 6.5 to 7 inches of water. Had a bit of an issue breaking it in but once a I ran it in a 3 to 1 vinegar solution overnight it worked like a champ. Ignore break in instructions and run it in a the vinegar solution to break in faster. Turn the volute on the pump until it seats then back up 1 whole turn and you are there. The only thing that will need to be adjusted after that will be the water level. This skimmer is made of great quality acrylic and pvc. Way better than Reef Octopus well worth the money.
  • Ditto what Tony said By kirsten on 4/21/2015

    This skimmer is built like a tank. Very high quality. And full disclosure- it didn't fit my sump well. Once I wrangled it into the sump it was very temperamental. I followed the break in instructions to the letter and after a couple of days it was still acting crazy. One minute fine- the next minute bubbling over and spewing spray everywhere. I also found there to be too many moving parts. When you go to adjust the pipe- the whole muffler confraption moves as well. The silicone tube that connects the pump to the skimmer is easy to accidentally disconnect. Maybe I'm just not advanced enough for a skimmer like this. I went back to my old cadlights.
  • Excellent Product! By Tony on 4/12/2015

    The Omega 130 is an amazingly built Skimmer, build quality of Vertex is second to none. However, there are a few things that make me knock it down 1 star. The good, Super quiet, Great build quality, looks awesome! The bad, it is SUPER picky about water level, you have to stay on the low end of the "recommended" level, the break in time is crazy long and almost have to keep a constant eye on it, the adjustment are hard to make and get it tuned in.

    I have actually sold off my Omega 130 to a buddy that has a sump better set up for it and i will be going with another option.

    it is a great product but i would suggest looking on Vertex's website at the instruction before you set up a sump for one, that was a fail on me.
  • Great Skimmer - Just Get It By japicka on 4/2/2015

    Ok thanks to the normal way my luck runs, my existing Reef Octopus skimmer died on a Saturday, and after going through 3 of their DC pumps during the warranty period I decided I had enough of their "quality". I spent a ALOT of time pouring over reviews and looking online.

    This skimmer is just fantastic, I just got it put together an into my sump, I had to do some re-arranging in the skimmer area of my sump to get everything to fit properly, but it is now on hour 3 of the 24 break in period and it's already settling in, and there are NO bubbles coming out of the output pipe. With it running right now, even during the break in period it is already 10 times quieter than the skimmer it replaced. I mean this thing is basically dead silent. The only noise I hear from this thing is the hum of the motor.

    The only places where I deviated from the instructions is that I didn't hook up the ozone tube, moved the little black plug to the volute input to plug it. I will also probably shorten the air intake hose tomorrow as it's a bit long for my set up. I also decided to install the collection cup, but took the plug out of the over flow drain so the entire set up can break in at the same time. I saw a couple of videos online where people did that and it worked well for them.

    Again just can't say enough good things about this skimmer, the quality is just there.
  • broken ceramic rod in flywheel By Edward on 3/25/2015

    I'm very disappointed with the reliability of the skimmer. At first it looked well crafted. Then the ceramic rod in the flywheel broke. I had to call Canada for a replacement. Again at first it seemed like no problem they would replace it. It happened 3 times and they didn't want to help anymore, even though it was still under warranty. The motor is very strong, but for whatever reason that ceramic rod just brakes. The motor also easily separates from the bubble chamber which is just annoying. For this money it should really last and be quality. I tried working with them and felt they just gave up. I have a 75gal with 30 gal sump. I had Octopus for a long time and now I'm using a Skimz which I'm enjoying.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer