My Cart (0 items)
Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer View 2
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer View 2
  • MACNA 2013: Vertex Omega Protein Skimmer
  • Vertex Omega Skimmer: Better than the Rest? | Product Spotlight
  • Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer Pump View

Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer

SKU: 207957


  • Excellent protein skimmer. By Iz on 12/15/2014

    Im gonna use this skimmer on a future project, you can definitely just seen the quality in this product, and i gotta say BRS did a great job shipping it, Thanks BRS
  • Awesome skimmer, don't be skeptical of the critical reviews By Garry on 12/4/2014

    After reading and watching a TON of reviews on this skimmer, I determined that the build quality was better than anything else out there, but the skimmer was difficult to dial in. I was skeptical but determined to give it a go.

    - packaging is amazing, but who really cares as long as it arrives undamaged, its comparable to Apple products.

    - Assembly is a snap, all you need is a flathead screwdriver

    - Build quality is as described in everything you read and see, its a beautiful machine. I catch myself staring at this thing in action..really adds to the beauty of my setup. Yes I pride myself on a good looking sump :).

    - Don't buy this if you don't have a constant volume sump compartment that this will fit into.

    - Don't buy this if you don't have room in your sump compartment to raise the skimmer up to at least 7" of water depth. I started this off in 9.5" of water, overflowed for many many days, I was really skeptical until I raised it up to 7" and WHAM, perfect no overflow and pulling TONS of skimate out almost immediately. Has not overflowed since. I don't have a huge bioload on my tank, and I was nervous after the first few days of constant overflow until I started raising it up in depth, and immediately tuned in and starting pulling dark nasty skimate, my tank is only a few months old and does not have a huge bioload and I was blown away by how much crap this thing was pulling out of the water.

    -Follow the directions for break in for the first 24 hrs, then start tweaking the height, don't touch the air adjustment on the pump, start with the wedge pipe fully open, get it to tune at a certain height then adjust wedge pipe to type of skimate preferred.

    - I really don't understand what a lot of the other reviews were complaining about, I think if you follow the above you will fall in love with this skimmer, if thats possible. Oh and its dead silent, always a plus.

  • Sweet deal on a door buster! By Agro on 11/30/2014

    Wow... I've been looking for a skimmer I can run in my sump with about 8.5-9 inches of water for a while. Either the prices were outrageous or the skimmer was just overkill for my 40b. Although this is overkill on a 40b, it leaves room to grow and worry free care! My old skimmer left a lot to be desired, Just by look and feel I can tell a lot of care went into designing this skimmer!

    Still in the break in face, however this is an extremely quiet skimmer for its size!
  • amazing By Nelson on 11/28/2014

    been using this protein skimmer for now 11 months! get it right now on this black friday special!! its worth every penny... quiet great looking and does whats suppose to do skim everything! crystal clear water!
  • Dissapointed... By Ski on 10/24/2014

    This by far is my most hated piece of equipment. I will agree with everyone that it is bulit well and looks great, but I have had this unit for a few months now and it is the most agrivating and tepermental skimmer I have EVER owned...

    First off this thing LOVES to overflow, overflow and overflow some more. Think you FINALLY have it dialed in?.. Think again.

    I am on my 3rd platform/riser and I have tried it in water levels of 9, 8.5 and 7 inches. Anyhting much less than that it would be too high for the skimmers outlet.

    Following comments from previous reviews are 100% spot on!:

    " Break in will take a while "

    " This thing drove me nuts trying to adjust it. "

    " The skimmer is very finicky with regard to the water level in your sump. "

    " Many many nights i would wake up to hear a strange tapping noise coming from the stand. It was the lid of the skimmer dancing around as foam and bubbles poured out and back into the sump. "

    " If my ATO deposits even one fluid ounce over the line drawn on my sump the skimmer goes ballistic. "

    " the build quality is very good with this skimmer and it is stylish. I am just not certain they went for something that would work. Can't say it is worth the headache. "

    " I've spent too much time dialing the unit in to return it but in hindsight I definitely should have."

    " if you get frustrated easily, buy a different brand of skimmer. "

    All in all I am VERY dissapointed and I guess I should have bought another skimmer. lol!.. My cheap, old and small skimmer runs circles around this thing!



  • Built like a brick house By Paul on 10/22/2014

    This skimmer has possibly the most amazing build quality I've ever seen for an aquarium product. From the pump to the body to the lid, Vertex does everything perfectly. This is probably my 4th skimmer and it by far is quieter, easier to use, and far better in build quality than any of the previous. Break in will take a while. The manual says to let it run without the top on it for a day. I waited 4 days and still it overflows the cup so I just opened the drain on the cup and am waiting for it to finish breaking in and the foam doesn't overflow the cup. The Sicce pump is dead quiet. I couldn't tell when it was on or off with my cabinet door closed and wow does this thing make a lot of bubbles. Adjustment is super easy and taking the cup off is a simple spin with one hand. I'm very excited about this skimmer and hope to keep it for a long time.
  • Great product and shipping!! By R22D on 10/20/2014

    Product package is perfect nicely done to protect the skimmer inside. You don't have to worry about getting your item broken or something. As far of setting up the skimmer, just followed the instructions on the manual. For some people having a problem with the skimmer, try raising it up. At first I have mine sitting @8" of water ended up @6.5" by the third day it start giving me some decent skimmed on the cup. Definitely going to ordered @brs again even I'm @Canada still worth the wait. Thx BRS!!
  • Not a simple startup By Jay B. on 9/25/2014

    The skimmer is well made and other than a vaguely written manual, it works great ... once you get it dialed in. It is critical to follow the startup procedure exactly, else you might as well not even unbox it.

    The skimmer is very finicky with regard to the water level in your sump, but once you find the sweet spot, the skimmer works as good as any skimmer that I've had (this is #5). But if you get frustrated easily, buy a different brand of skimmer.
  • Great product By Joel on 9/16/2014

    Works great, mine does best at 7". Actually not hard to dial in at all!! Been running for 4 months tank is 3 yrs old
    Thanx BRS
  • Terrific Skimmer By Sean on 9/6/2014

    I have had the Vertex Omega 130 since it came out about a year ago and it is well built and performs well.

    The skimmmer builds up a nice dark skimmate with sludge on the cup lid and sides (I carbon dose). I found it works best at 7" depth. I am running the venturi at minimum air intake in a 27g system. Even in my nano system, it can keep a solid head of foam.

    It does take a while to quit overflowing and break in though a vinegar bath will greatly reduce the break in period.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer