My Cart (0 items)
Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer View 1
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer View 1
  • MACNA 2013: Vertex Omega Protein Skimmer
  • Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer View 2
  • Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer Pump View

Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer

SKU: 207957


  • Built like a brick house By Paul on 10/22/2014

    This skimmer has possibly the most amazing build quality I've ever seen for an aquarium product. From the pump to the body to the lid, Vertex does everything perfectly. This is probably my 4th skimmer and it by far is quieter, easier to use, and far better in build quality than any of the previous. Break in will take a while. The manual says to let it run without the top on it for a day. I waited 4 days and still it overflows the cup so I just opened the drain on the cup and am waiting for it to finish breaking in and the foam doesn't overflow the cup. The Sicce pump is dead quiet. I couldn't tell when it was on or off with my cabinet door closed and wow does this thing make a lot of bubbles. Adjustment is super easy and taking the cup off is a simple spin with one hand. I'm very excited about this skimmer and hope to keep it for a long time.
  • Great product and shipping!! By R22D on 10/20/2014

    Product package is perfect nicely done to protect the skimmer inside. You don't have to worry about getting your item broken or something. As far of setting up the skimmer, just followed the instructions on the manual. For some people having a problem with the skimmer, try raising it up. At first I have mine sitting @8" of water ended up @6.5" by the third day it start giving me some decent skimmed on the cup. Definitely going to ordered @brs again even I'm @Canada still worth the wait. Thx BRS!!
  • Not a simple startup By Jay B. on 9/25/2014

    The skimmer is well made and other than a vaguely written manual, it works great ... once you get it dialed in. It is critical to follow the startup procedure exactly, else you might as well not even unbox it.

    The skimmer is very finicky with regard to the water level in your sump, but once you find the sweet spot, the skimmer works as good as any skimmer that I've had (this is #5). But if you get frustrated easily, buy a different brand of skimmer.
  • Great product By Joel on 9/16/2014

    Works great, mine does best at 7". Actually not hard to dial in at all!! Been running for 4 months tank is 3 yrs old
    Thanx BRS
  • Terrific Skimmer By Sean on 9/6/2014

    I have had the Vertex Omega 130 since it came out about a year ago and it is well built and performs well.

    The skimmmer builds up a nice dark skimmate with sludge on the cup lid and sides (I carbon dose). I found it works best at 7" depth. I am running the venturi at minimum air intake in a 27g system. Even in my nano system, it can keep a solid head of foam.

    It does take a while to quit overflowing and break in though a vinegar bath will greatly reduce the break in period.
  • High Quality but Very Temperamental By tarheel on 8/8/2014

    This feel this is a very well built with high quality skimmer but personally think that is Very hard to dial in. I have been running mine for 2 months and all i have been able to pull out is light tea collared skimmate do to all the turbulence in the skimmer body.
  • Agrivating, but skimms like crazy. By David on 7/31/2014

    Wow, that's a lot of bubbles. The inside of this thing looks violent with foam. Skimms like crazy, once its dialed in. This thing drove me nuts trying to adjust it. Many many nights i would wake up to hear a strange tapping noise coming from the stand. It was the lid of the skimmer dancing around as foam and bubbles poured out and back into the sump. I would empty it, then adjust it ever so slightly down... days later, no skimmate. One TINY adjustment back up and it would overflow again. Reading other reviews i decided to raise the skimmer 1 inch and try again. After 2-3 more days of mini adjustments i finally got this sucker dialed in. I clean it once a week and its nasty dirty, exactly what we all hope for in a skimmer. I would give it a full 5 star if it wasn't such a pain to dial in.
  • Very Tempermental By Jason on 7/23/2014

    The best way to describe this Protein Skimmer. Be prepared to fight a constant battle with it. If my ATO deposits even one fluid ounce over the line drawn on my sump the skimmer goes ballistic. It is very specific about the water level. This skimmer does not tune well at all, don't even plug it in for two days after you change the water. Past skimmers SWC, Reef Octopus, Bubble Magus, Tunze, the build quality is very good with this skimmer and it is stylish. I am just not certain they went for something that would work. Can't say it is worth the headache.
  • BEST materials and craftsmanship yet !!! By Mitch on 7/13/2014

    Out of the dozen or so protein skimmers I've owned this is the BEST HANDS DOWN !!!
  • Great skimmer, crap manual/quality control By B roll on 6/22/2014

    1st the good - a great skimmer, after a 2 day break in and some water level tinkering , followed by 2 days of wet skim; it is not consistently producing a thick dark brown non transparent skimmate. The bad - the manual is crap besides the 3 lines of break in instructions. This skimmer does not work properly at any level above 7.5 inches, and that is a generous statement. If you want fully control it needs to be at 6.5" as everyone else on here states. Why they waste our time saying otherwise is nuts and leaves me to believe that the skimmer was not tested enough under various circumstances during development and pre-market release. 2nd, for a high end company the QC is crap. I don't know if the rubbery white parts were mold-formed or not, but they all have .5" across sections that look all tore up from either sloppy mold process or some sort of melting during the production process. I've spent too much time dialing the unit in to return it but in hindsight I definitely should have. How these sloppy manufactured parts made it to assembly is beyond me. If it weren't for the crap instructions and sloppy manufacturing I would have given this skimmer a 5/5. Functionally it works great if you ignore the instructions and keep it at 6.5-7".

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer