jQuery UI Accordion - Default functionality

Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer

SAVE
$70.00
Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer View 2
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer View 2
  • MACNA 2013: Vertex Omega Protein Skimmer
  • Vertex Omega Skimmer: Better than the Rest? | Product Spotlight
  • Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer Pump View

Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer

SKU: 207957
Performance

reg. $319.99

Special Price: $249.99

Please wait...
OR
  • Excellent Product! By Tony on 4/12/2015

    The Omega 130 is an amazingly built Skimmer, build quality of Vertex is second to none. However, there are a few things that make me knock it down 1 star. The good, Super quiet, Great build quality, looks awesome! The bad, it is SUPER picky about water level, you have to stay on the low end of the "recommended" level, the break in time is crazy long and almost have to keep a constant eye on it, the adjustment are hard to make and get it tuned in.

    I have actually sold off my Omega 130 to a buddy that has a sump better set up for it and i will be going with another option.

    it is a great product but i would suggest looking on Vertex's website at the instruction before you set up a sump for one, that was a fail on me.
  • Great Skimmer - Just Get It By japicka on 4/2/2015

    Ok thanks to the normal way my luck runs, my existing Reef Octopus skimmer died on a Saturday, and after going through 3 of their DC pumps during the warranty period I decided I had enough of their "quality". I spent a ALOT of time pouring over reviews and looking online.

    This skimmer is just fantastic, I just got it put together an into my sump, I had to do some re-arranging in the skimmer area of my sump to get everything to fit properly, but it is now on hour 3 of the 24 break in period and it's already settling in, and there are NO bubbles coming out of the output pipe. With it running right now, even during the break in period it is already 10 times quieter than the skimmer it replaced. I mean this thing is basically dead silent. The only noise I hear from this thing is the hum of the motor.

    The only places where I deviated from the instructions is that I didn't hook up the ozone tube, moved the little black plug to the volute input to plug it. I will also probably shorten the air intake hose tomorrow as it's a bit long for my set up. I also decided to install the collection cup, but took the plug out of the over flow drain so the entire set up can break in at the same time. I saw a couple of videos online where people did that and it worked well for them.

    Again just can't say enough good things about this skimmer, the quality is just there.
  • broken ceramic rod in flywheel By Edward on 3/25/2015

    I'm very disappointed with the reliability of the skimmer. At first it looked well crafted. Then the ceramic rod in the flywheel broke. I had to call Canada for a replacement. Again at first it seemed like no problem they would replace it. It happened 3 times and they didn't want to help anymore, even though it was still under warranty. The motor is very strong, but for whatever reason that ceramic rod just brakes. The motor also easily separates from the bubble chamber which is just annoying. For this money it should really last and be quality. I tried working with them and felt they just gave up. I have a 75gal with 30 gal sump. I had Octopus for a long time and now I'm using a Skimz which I'm enjoying.
  • great build but By justin on 3/23/2015

    it has great build quality everything is every smooth but I still have yet to find the right hight for it to operate and not just fill with water.
  • Excellent but touchy By Jbnewb on 3/18/2015

    First skimmer purchase so nothing to compare it to. Luke is spot on though. Break-in period was four days and producing dark skim. Very easy to adjust, but if you do ANYTHING such as change a sock or add a treatment and the skimmer goes crazy and overflows. Very important to know it is not 11" long. In my 11" sump I found this out the hard way. It is 11&3/8" unless you take the foot mount off and put silicone underneath for support making it just under 11". Very quite.
  • Very impressed By Mo on 3/18/2015

    I haven't set this skimmer up. Still waiting for aquarium delivery. Very well packaged and built very well.
  • Good skimmer By Luke on 3/10/2015

    Like all skimmers I have owned the Vertex Omega 130 has its pros and cons.

    Pros:
    - Excellent build quality (Vertex is the absolute best at this).
    - Virtually silent, especially when cleaned simi-regularly.
    - Easy to maintain and take apart
    - Most importantly, this skimmer outperforms any skimmer I've used when tuned properly.
    - Exceptional skimmate production

    Cons:
    - Very finicky about water level. Once I raised it to about 7 inches of water depth this was no longer an issue.
    - Pump to skimmer connection is very weak. Will disconnect with little disturbances.
    - Pipe adjustment is unnecessarily hard to operate. Not as easy as the gate valve on the reef octopus skimmers.

    I would definitely buy this skimmer again just because of the good skimmate production but I might consider waiting for the next model of omega's to be released to see if these things are improved first.

  • Don't buy this skimmer By pmcadams on 3/2/2015

    My 130 is 5 months old. Breakin time was extremely long and this skimmer is very difficult to tune. The ozone nipple pulled out of the pump housing so I had to seal the hole with silicon to restore operation. The skimmer body, though made out of quality material, is friction fit to the pump via silicon tubing that slips off easily so any movement in the sump will disconnect the pump. The air filter hanger impedes one handed tuning since it hangs on the exhaust stack and easily comes apart if you bump into it while reaching into the sump. Removal for cleaning is cumbersome since everything tends to fall apart. This skimmer is entirely to expensive for the way its is put together. I regret buying it.
  • Great skimmer By Oregonrain on 1/28/2015

    I love this skimmer. Just get some bricks for the hardware store to set it on. You can't put it in the sump because it has too much water to work right. I placed it on a couple brings and it is perfect!
  • Very Quiet, but not perfect By Ed on 1/5/2015

    Super quiet skimmer; more skimmate than the Coralife 125 it replaced. Got it for a great price on Black Friday. Directions for set up are poor; connector for Ozone broke during setup...

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer