jQuery UI Accordion - Default functionality

Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer

SAVE
$70.00
Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer View 2
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer View 2
  • MACNA 2013: Vertex Omega Protein Skimmer
  • Vertex Omega Skimmer: Better than the Rest? | Product Spotlight
  • Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer Pump View

Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer

SKU: 207957
Performance

reg. $319.99

Special Price: $249.99

Please wait...
OR
  • broken ceramic rod in flywheel By Edward on 3/25/2015

    I'm very disappointed with the reliability of the skimmer. At first it looked well crafted. Then the ceramic rod in the flywheel broke. I had to call Canada for a replacement. Again at first it seemed like no problem they would replace it. It happened 3 times and they didn't want to help anymore, even though it was still under warranty. The motor is very strong, but for whatever reason that ceramic rod just brakes. The motor also easily separates from the bubble chamber which is just annoying. For this money it should really last and be quality. I tried working with them and felt they just gave up. I have a 75gal with 30 gal sump. I had Octopus for a long time and now I'm using a Skimz which I'm enjoying.
  • great build but By justin on 3/23/2015

    it has great build quality everything is every smooth but I still have yet to find the right hight for it to operate and not just fill with water.
  • Excellent but touchy By Jbnewb on 3/18/2015

    First skimmer purchase so nothing to compare it to. Luke is spot on though. Break-in period was four days and producing dark skim. Very easy to adjust, but if you do ANYTHING such as change a sock or add a treatment and the skimmer goes crazy and overflows. Very important to know it is not 11" long. In my 11" sump I found this out the hard way. It is 11&3/8" unless you take the foot mount off and put silicone underneath for support making it just under 11". Very quite.
  • Very impressed By Mo on 3/18/2015

    I haven't set this skimmer up. Still waiting for aquarium delivery. Very well packaged and built very well.
  • Good skimmer By Luke on 3/10/2015

    Like all skimmers I have owned the Vertex Omega 130 has its pros and cons.

    Pros:
    - Excellent build quality (Vertex is the absolute best at this).
    - Virtually silent, especially when cleaned simi-regularly.
    - Easy to maintain and take apart
    - Most importantly, this skimmer outperforms any skimmer I've used when tuned properly.
    - Exceptional skimmate production

    Cons:
    - Very finicky about water level. Once I raised it to about 7 inches of water depth this was no longer an issue.
    - Pump to skimmer connection is very weak. Will disconnect with little disturbances.
    - Pipe adjustment is unnecessarily hard to operate. Not as easy as the gate valve on the reef octopus skimmers.

    I would definitely buy this skimmer again just because of the good skimmate production but I might consider waiting for the next model of omega's to be released to see if these things are improved first.

  • Don't buy this skimmer By pmcadams on 3/2/2015

    My 130 is 5 months old. Breakin time was extremely long and this skimmer is very difficult to tune. The ozone nipple pulled out of the pump housing so I had to seal the hole with silicon to restore operation. The skimmer body, though made out of quality material, is friction fit to the pump via silicon tubing that slips off easily so any movement in the sump will disconnect the pump. The air filter hanger impedes one handed tuning since it hangs on the exhaust stack and easily comes apart if you bump into it while reaching into the sump. Removal for cleaning is cumbersome since everything tends to fall apart. This skimmer is entirely to expensive for the way its is put together. I regret buying it.
  • Great skimmer By Oregonrain on 1/28/2015

    I love this skimmer. Just get some bricks for the hardware store to set it on. You can't put it in the sump because it has too much water to work right. I placed it on a couple brings and it is perfect!
  • Very Quiet, but not perfect By Ed on 1/5/2015

    Super quiet skimmer; more skimmate than the Coralife 125 it replaced. Got it for a great price on Black Friday. Directions for set up are poor; connector for Ozone broke during setup...
  • Incredible skimmer (with an asterisk) By Jay B. on 1/4/2015

    I bought this to replace my EuroReef CS5 which had served me well on my 90 gallon mixed reef tank. The 130 is the only Vertex Omega model that would fit height-wise in my stand.

    The unit is impressive from a build standpoint. Because the top cup is threaded, it does take a few turns to remove it. Make sure that you measure the height in your stand carefully and then add a bit for maneuvering.

    It does take a bit of time to get the skimmer set up perfectly, but follow the instructions in the manual and you shouldn't have a problem. The skimmer IS sensitive to the water level in your sump. I finally broke down and bought a water level controller just to make sure that I didn't have to keep watching the sump level all the time. If the level goes too low, the skimmer stops skimming altogether. This is probably more of a design feature than a flaw, as other skimmers that I have used will tolerate widely fluctuating water levels, but the skimmate quality also becomes erratic.

    I highly recommend this skimmer, but it is not for someone who just wants a turn-key out of the box skimmer.
  • Will it work? By InWyo on 1/3/2015

    I give it 3 stars not because of performance but because of broken part. Been waiting to install on response from Bulk Reef.

    Opened box and found a very nice looking product. Upon setting up, I found the output tube broken off of the silencer, poor packing of that component. Contacted Bulk Reef by email, no response. Will try to fix myself but don't like to have to fix brand new equipment. The truth in the pudding will be when the pump needs to be replaced. Will they be available?

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer