Omega 130 Protein Skimmer - Vertex

Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer View 2
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer View 2
  • MACNA 2013: Vertex Omega Protein Skimmer
  • Vertex Omega Skimmer: Better than the Rest? | Product Spotlight
  • Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer Pump View

Omega 130 Protein Skimmer - Vertex

SKU: 207957
Performance
61 Review(s)
$319.99
Please wait...
OR
  • Best quality skimmer available By KerryF on 1/28/2016

    So I read a lot about this skimmer overflowing constantly. Please read the manual! Most Skimmers will behave this way when new. Running it on my brand new 85 gal build during cycling. Yes it overflowed non-stop for the first week...this is the breakin period. After 10 days it calmed down and is now an incredibly efficient skimmer. Patience is key in reefing...and skimmer setup!
  • pump problem and tuning issues By korey on 1/18/2016

    i had this product for a year and a half. the quality of the body is great, but my pump stops working on me. this is priced way to high for this to happen especial if you in the same boat as me and don not have a lot money to though around.
  • Too complicated for a noob By Alan on 12/29/2015

    I'm new to reefing, but I do my research. For the life of me, I can't get this thing to not overflow. I've read a lot online, done all the tricks I could find, and it seems that the consensus is that this is a GREAT device if you can get it tuned, but it's not great for inexperienced or new reefers.
  • Does not work properly out of the box By Chris on 12/27/2015

    Beautiful construction, and very high quality build. The skimmer is well constructed, and everything is very solid. I bought this skimmer partly because of the pump that it uses, a Sicce built pump.

    Unfortunately, the pump is WAY overpowered for this skimmer body. It overflows instantly, no matter what depth/water level it's placed. I tried everything from having the outflow just barely under the water, all the way to 8-10" deep, and everything in between. You can adjust the water level via the water exiting the stand pipe, and the water/air level coming in through the pump, and neither prevent the overflowing of the container.

    Turns out that the only way I was able to dial this thing in was by installing a ball valve on the air-line, and restricting the airflow into the venturi by about 75%. This reduced the amount of air, which reduced the amount of bubbles, which prevented the overflow of the skimmer. It still bubbles and creates a good foam head, but is controllable. It's now performing very well, and pulling out thick, dark skimmate. The mod does make this thing fairly loud, even with the silencer hooked up.

    With a cheap, quick mod, this thing works like a champion, but it's disappointing that it doesn't work like it should right out of the box. This is an engineering defect, which should have been discovered on the first trial of this product.
  • Improved 130 By Jeremy on 12/11/2015

    They vertex skimmers are widely recognized as some of the best skimmer's available. The 130 was perhaps the most criticized of the range as the pump is somewhat oversized and the water depth had to be just right to provide reliable skimming. Many hobbyist resolved this issue by restricting the air intake with various valves. As of the last quarter of 2015, vertex has fixed this issue by including an air restricting valve with the 130. Very satisfied.
  • Junk By Blake on 11/22/2015

    Don't waste your money on these junk skimmers. Look at the other brands BRS carries and pick from there. My pump has crapped out too many times to count. After careful examination the rear bushing seizes to the ceramic impeller shaft. I had gotten pretty good at removing it, polishing, and getting it going again. This shouldn't happen on a 6 month old skimmer, I've now broken 2 shafts and now promptly throwing this POS in the trash. For those saying this is difficult to tune and finicky, I believe its due to the friction caused between the bushing/shaft. With a constantly changing variable such as this, tuning is impossible. Mine would run great for a few days, slow don't, I'd adjust for the reduced flow, the thing would free up and overflow all over the place. BRS, I'd not ruin your reputation backing junk like this. I own a Skimz and Reef Octopus, both are nearly set and forget, keep em clean and they'll run forever.
  • Not what I hoped for. By Borchers on 11/20/2015

    Like many others have said. My 180i has been a bear to deal with. The tuning took weeks and then some. It's well built but crazy heavy. The pump hums time to time.
  • Crap pumps By JonnyReefer on 9/10/2015

    The pumps on these things are junk. Mine went out 6 months after buying it. I've been spending the last 2 months dealing with Albert from proline aquatics, who has been nice, but completely incompetent. I sent the pump back and he says it was calcium buildup that caused the problem, which isn't a warranty issue, so he charged me for the shipping AND for a new pump. Within one week BOTH PUMPS WENT OUT. I told him this and he said it must be the placement of my skimmer in the sump, yet my kalk ato goes into the return pump chamber, which is as far as possible from my skimmer, and all my other pumps/powerheads are just fine. Now they won't even return my emails. This company is a joke, this skimmer is a joke, and BRS should be ashamed for recommending them.
  • Built well, not and ideal skimmer though By Rahul on 8/13/2015

    This skimmer is not a skimmer I would honestly recommend, due to the fact that I've spent 2-3 months of tinkering with this thing to finally get the skimmer to skim properly without overflowing every minute. I cant give this skimmer lower than a 4 star since it does what the product is supposed to do. The only thing I can say is that its very frustrating to get it dialed in.
  • Would NOT recommend to a friend! By shawngt2 on 8/7/2015

    This skimmer is built like a tank (1 star), super powerful (2nd star), but the other 3 stars needed to categorize this skimmer as a "knock out of the park" are missing. So many people are having issues and that includes me. Did not realize the issues until after I purchased it and put it in my tank. Even in an area of my sump that is always level and at 7" this thing overflows, then completely low level and doesn't appear to foam. You can't even adjust it because one minute it works then an hour or so it overflows again. IMHO you need to learn where the overflow level normally is worst case and adjust the height of the skimmer accordingly until you are covered. This however is not easy. The wedge pipe doesn't seem to do anything unless it is 75% closed or more and the outlet T is fixed to the wedge pipe so it is not easy to just rotate the wedge pipe, you need to also hold or fix the outlet T to make an adjustment. Many online are even restricting the airflow to the skimmer with success, so may try that at one point. Going on vacation for a week and put my Hydro Performer 405 back in the sump so I don't go a week with overflows (basically not skimming). When I get back I will try again but if I can't get equal or greater skim within 2 weeks vs my Hydor, this PITA is going for sale!

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Omega 130 Protein Skimmer - Vertex