Omega 130 Protein Skimmer - Vertex

Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer View 2
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer View 2
  • MACNA 2013: Vertex Omega Protein Skimmer
  • Vertex Omega Skimmer: Better than the Rest? | Product Spotlight
  • Vertex Omega 130 Protein Skimmer Pump View

Omega 130 Protein Skimmer - Vertex

SKU: 207957
Performance
72 Review(s)
$319.99
Please wait...
OR
  • Omega 130 By on 2/10/2017

    This skimmer is well built and I have a fairly easy time trying adjusting and breaking it in. I have it in about 7" of water and set to all the way open. it is pulling more out that is thicker and stinkier than my old skimmer which was a over sized ASM that was much more difficult to get adjusted. I really like the silent operation and quality build. It is only one week in, but if it changes I will re-review here.
  • Omega 130 By on 1/23/2017

    These are great skimmers, takes a little to get the learning curve of it but when you do it performs like a Porsche. Just to let everyone know that has trouble setting it that if you build a stand to raise it so that the top of the outlet is exactly under your water line by a 1/4" it will work perfectly. I've had this on my 90 gallon mixed reef for a little over a year now and I have to turn it off from time to time because I have zero nitrates and phosphates. I wish I could post a picture of how black my skim mate is.
  • Not worth the high price tag By on 10/8/2016

    constantly overflows after I clean it. I have to raise it up every time I do a water change or clean the skimmer. I noticed some salt creep clogging up the silencer foam pad but even after cleaning that it made no difference. It's very finicky. I have had this skimmer for three years.
  • If brs sends a coupon for 130 skimmer at a great price, it's not out of generosity. By on 8/23/2016

    Despite sketchy reviews on many sites, I bought this skimmer after getting a coupon from brs for this skimmer at a great price. I took the bait. It has produced great skimmate. That happens in between daily inconsistencies, overflows, dry spells. Spent months trying to calibrate it,using egg crate, the included air line "mod" and brs should not sell this. Positive reviews are often based on minimal evaluation. I could ebay this for more than I paid for it but my seller reputation is important to me and I don't like to screw people. Customer service with vertex is responsive but rude. Drain broke, vertex replaced it after i paid half the price for new skimmer and was told i broke it, my fault. Condescending jerk.
    So, I'm just being honest. I'm not biased. I'm objective. I'm no amateur reefer. Research this skimmer a lot. I expect nothing from brs. I have no agenda. If you get a coupon for a 130 in the mail for @ half retail, it's not because they feel generous. You have been thoroughly warned. But, if you do go the stupid route, have it attached to a waste collector with float switch at all times. Or, never leave your house and watch it 24/7.
    My confidence in the integrity of brs selling a widely known problematic skimmer shakes my confidence in brs. Long review but I hope this helps someone not be a fool like me.
  • Don't waste your money By on 8/3/2016

    Right out of the box the skimmer I received looks different from the one in the pictures, the pump is facing the other way and the air intake is also different. The skimmer works well but is very hard to tune in. I have had if for a while now but had to recently take it out of the sump because the air condition to the pump broke. Don't waste your money on a skimmer when there are lots of other ones that are at a lower price easier to control and more reliable.
  • Best skimmer I've ever owned By on 7/25/2016

    Had a reef octopus SRO 1000 internal skimmer and wasn't happy with the performance. Did more research through BRS and decided on a German made product. Best decision ever! Build quality espectional, performance-like a beast! Set up is in 7 inches water
    MAKE SURE THE OZONE TUBE IS INSTALLED AND IF YOU'RE NOT USING OZONE, CAP THE TOP END OF THE TUBE.
    If not, pump will pull water through that port if OZONE hose isn't installed or pull more air if the hose is not capped causing erratic performance.
    Once that is set all you to have adjust is the Venturi and water outlet tube.
  • Excellent product By on 6/25/2016

    I know people are having a hard time getting this thing dialed in, but it didn't take long for me to figure out how to dial this thing in. The valve on the air intake is key. I like that it is easy to adjust without getting your hands wet. Very quiet once adjusted. I just like how this skimmer looks and feels too. Quality. I would buy another one if I needed it.
  • Well built By on 6/15/2016

    Would have 5 stars if the manual wasn't so poorly written with diagrams you could barely read. also, getting a $100 off coupon for it from bulk reef the very day it was delivered (after paying full price) was like a slap in the face to a loyal customer.
  • Very high quality By on 5/21/2016

    I can't find anything to complain about with this skimmer. I just did a new tank build and spent a lot of money on some very high end accessories and equipment for my build. Out of everything I bought, this was the product that most impressed me with the overall build quality, performance, look, and packaging. On top of that, I bought it for BRS's black friday sale as a door buster which made it even more of a sweet deal. Thanks BRS! I am a new reefer and did not have any problems with this skimmer. To avoid potential issues I would recommend a couple things. First, I read that running this skimmer in a vinegar bath for 24 hours prior to use would cut down on break-in time. I did this and I think it helped and is worth doing. Second, I would recommend getting a skimmer stand in order to get the proper water level. This skimmer seems to like a very low water level. I would definitely recommend this product!
  • Awesome skimmer so far By on 4/5/2016

    Just hooked up a new 130 today. 7 inches water depth. No problems at all. This thing is a beast and 3 hours later its starting to skim. This skimmer seems twice as powerful as my Reef Octopus Classic 110. And I loved that skimmer. Keeping it for a back up. So far no problems at all with skimmer........................READ THE DIRECTIONS FOLKS!!!