AccliMate by Reef Gently

AccliMate by Reef Gently - Standard and XL
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • AccliMate by Reef Gently - Standard and XL
  • How to: Acclimate by Reef Gently

AccliMate by Reef Gently

Performance
8 Review(s)

Choose a size

Qty
 
AccliMate Standard (.5 Gallon Capacity)
SKU: 207949
Earn 54 Reward Points
$54.99
 
 
AccliMate XL (1.75 Gallon Capacity)
SKU: 207950
Earn 89 Reward Points
$89.99
 
  • terrific By L on 6/12/2015

    I have owned this for four years and use it with all of my fish. I have had one incident of a gasket leaking which is easily fixed by tightening the screw. If you follow the instructions (lightly moistening the tank glass and suction cups) they hold tightly. Almost too tightly. When I sm done, i have difficulty releasing the suction without splashing water on myself.

    I would definitely reccomend this product. I do find the acclistick a bit worthless and adjust the flow via the gate valve, but for a person new to the hobby and acclimating, i think its a good tool to teach them what a good drip rate is for different animals.
  • Best Way to Add Fish By Chris on 5/9/2015

    At first I was hesitant to pull the trigger on this because I'm not really fond of the idea that 3 suction cups hold up a gallon of water with expensive fish with nothing but 4-5 ft. of nothing between it and the ground. I'm here to say that so far the suction cups work like champs. I've used it quite a few times already and it stays put! The acclimation side of the house couldn't be any easier and it does a great job of drip acclimating the fish. Transporting fish from the LFS is easy as I just have them fill it up with water and put the fish in there. From there I buckle it in with the seatbelt and I'm set. The lid isn't waterproof so a towel is needed for transporting just in case. Overall I'm very happy with this product and I would suggest anyone get it.
  • Very good concept, poorly implemented. By Jory on 4/8/2015

    This is an awesome concept but as others have mentioned the attachment method has flaws.

    Pros:
    Easy to setup and use.
    Acclimates critters very slowly if needed.
    Can be adapted to work safely.

    Cons:
    Suction cups not great for something this heavy. Not anything I would trust.
    Suction cups mounted on screws !through! the side of the "waterproof" outer container. There are gaskets, but the screws into the soft suction cup really don't tighten well. I've had them pull out of the suction cups when removing it from tank, will be removing and sealing holes.
    For this price, give me a ball valve with push connects instead of barbed fittings since they are supposed to be attached/removed with every use.

    To make this safer/easier to use put something grippy (like a silicone pad) between the flat side of this and aquarium. Toss on a couple quick-grip clamps to hold it there. For extra safety I usually put it inside the aquarium so the water column helps support the weight, a little tough with some euro bracing though. Many other ways of rigging it without relying on the suction cups, I still recommend this but barely.
  • Worked great, until the suction cups let it fall and break By AZ Big John on 4/3/2015

    I loved this product for acclimating fish, for the first four fish I used it on. On the fifth fish, as almost everyone else mentioned, the suction cups let go, and it, and the fish, hit the floor.

    Luckily, I saw it go, and it stayed intact. I was close to the end of the time period, anyway, so I quickly pulled the inner sleeve out, and put the fish in the tank

    When I looked at it, it had cracked the main lower seam, so my $55 dollar acclimate went in the trash. Great concept, great system, just needs a more secure option to attach to the tank.
  • Great Idea. Poor Design. By Gary on 1/19/2015

    I was looking for something to help automate acclimating fish and corals to may tank water, and after watching the videos, it looked like this would fit the bill. I was a little skeptical about this product after reading the reviews (see Ed’s below), but it was recommended by Ryan on BRS TV so I went ahead and gave it a shot. The day it came, I picked up some frags and a couple small fish and hurried home to try it out. The instructions were pretty straightforward. But, the “AccliStick” arrived broken in half. I figured I could still make it work by adjusting the flow valve; however, when I filled up the container the suction cups would not hold the weight when full and on the front of the aquarium. Additionally, one of them began to leak around the gasket almost immediately. Fortunately, I avoided a large mess, but will be returning it to BRS. They could come up with a much better design with a simple over-the -edge hanger. It would likely work OK as a fish trap, but you can get effective traps at a much lower cost.
  • ACCLIMATE BY REEF GENTLY By Nate on 1/16/2015

    I bought this a few years ago from foster and smith, because they were the only ones who had it. I read the instructions on how to use it, as well as watching you tube videos on it. first time I used it was with a clown fish, had no problems. second time I used it for corals it didn't siphon properly. The last time i used it, It came off the glass, hit the corner of my stand, took a nice chunk out of it. (wife was not happy!!) I had a 1/2 gal of water and corals on the floor. So I now use it for growing out brine shrimp. When I am not doing that, I use it when I get fish. After the they spend their time in QT I catch the fish and put them in there. Then I acclimate them to my tank in a bucket; when this over I use the insert with the holes and put the fish in the tank. With them in the box, the tank mates can get use to them. Overall, its a great idea I do use it but never for acclimation. I believe some major improvements are in order. Instead of using suction cups, they should use a acrylic hanger or heavy duty magnets..
  • Fish trap only! By Ed on 12/27/2013

    Very poor design. Suction cups are held on with screws that go thru holes in the container and constantly leak because screws can't get a good hold of suction cups allowing water to leak. Needs a hook to hold the unit on tank. Not suction cups. I lost a $65 tang because the suction Cups slipped on the glass and dumped all the water and fish on floor! Works great as fish trap though. Rather than that it is terrible.
  • Super easy and awesome! By Mayja on 9/5/2013

    I've had one of these for 7 months. Every fish I have was acclimated with this device. It is so easy to use, and don't worry about the suction cups letting go - they won't.

    My LFS has gotten used to the idea that I need a lot more water from him and he knows to give me an extra bag of water. But, I always have to explain this device when I use a different store to pick up my fish. Generally, it's not an issue and most stores are fine with it since it's considering the safety of the fish.

    Buy one! You won't regret it!

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: AccliMate by Reef Gently