My Cart (0 items)
Aqua Illumination Hydra LED White and Black Available
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Aqua Illumination Hydra LED White and Black Available
  • Aqua Illumination Hydra LED Module
  • Aqua Illumination Hydra LED Module - Colors
  • Aqua Illumination Hydra LED Module - PAR
  • Aqua Illumination Hydra LED Module Dimensions

Aqua Illumination Hydra LED Module

  • Love these lights! By William on 7/26/2014

    I am running the Hydras with my Neptune Apex AWM. It is simple to use and I can dial all my settings in very easy. I would recommend this light to anyone that is thinking of going LED's of switching to.
  • Perfect for my 75 By Victor on 3/11/2014

    These lights paired with the Director are perfect for my 75 gallon. Lights look really bright, and are easy to setup with the Director
  • I'm super happy with them! By kranky1188 on 2/11/2014

    Wow this lights are just amazing, but you do need an AI controller with them otherwise there is not controllability over the light at all even if you try to plugg'em to a timer because every time the timer goes off it will turn your lights the next day but at 100% intensity so you will have to lower the intensity manualy or it will burn your corals,.So once you get the controller you will not regreat it.
  • Love it By HM on 1/31/2014

    When controlled with the director this is one of the best lights on the market at a decent price. I really like the weather matching features and my corals are ll happy.
  • Great light By hans on 10/17/2013

    I have a 220 mixed reef. I switched over to the hydra from ecoxotic panorama gen 1's. The panoramas were nice but not dimmable. I am so glad I made the switch, wish I would have done it earlier. The hydras have great coverage and spectrum. I currently have 4 of them over my tank and I am thinking of adding 1-2 more. The four are enough but I like having the ability to increase output if needed. Also the controllability of the lights with the controller (and soon the director and Apex module) is very easy. And for the price compared to other comparable brands is unbeatable.
  • Excellent lighting at a good price. By joseph on 8/24/2013

    Purchased two of these two weeks ago. Already notice a difference in the colors of my corals. And fish. The lights are bright and I'm operating them at 60%. The fixture is small and light and seems to be well made. Don't really like the plastic fan cover but it does keep you fingers safe. ayou do need to purchase the extra controller to get all the functions this light offers but you only need one to control as many lights as you might need. I plan to order another one next week and will see if I need to go to a fourth one for my 180 tank.
  • Love It. By Porkchop on 8/15/2013

    I purchased this light and the required control. I love this light. I had dual 150W halides over my 40B before and this light is SO much cooler and quieter. I like that I can adjust the color, intensity, ramp up and down times as well as I now have moon lights. With the halides, it was simply on and off.

    If i had any suggestions for AI, it would be to include the control for free, to allow the use of a smart phone for programming instead of the control, and to allow the unit to remember the settings without the contol needing to be plugged into the wall all the time.

    With that said, I as SO pleased with my AI light and I will be buying more. Thankfully, my one control can work for many fixtures, so at least its a one time expense.
  • Love it!!! By Jim on 7/9/2013

    I purchased (3) Hydra LED Modules to replace my metal halide/ T5 lighting system. Love the colors. Just make sure you purchase the wireless controller with the lights. You don't need the wireless adapter, because it is built into the Hydra module. But if you don't purchase the controller, you can't control your lights. It does have a button on the side to select the intensity, but all the timers, weather features, and other cool stuff is controlled by the controller. Another thing to add, I have a Reefkeeper Elite, don't waste your money on the ALC Module. The Hydra LED cannot be controlled by this. Only the SOL light fixtures can be controlled by the ALC Module. I would recommend before purchasing, call the great team of BRS for advise. I would recommend this product!!!
  • Great spectrum but not very bright By Saltymix on 7/9/2013

    I already own two vega colors and I love them, they are great lights. I bought a Hydra for my 60 gallon cube. It looked like a great light because it had uv which the radion pro and the orphek Atlantic have but they cost just under $1000. As soon as I opened the hydra I could tell that it was a modified sol. It has the same thick body of the sol and uses the single screw mount which sucks. I was under the impression this was the same as the vega just not modular and less color control because that is how it was advertised. I guess they are making hydras out if the old sol bodies to save money. That would be fine if the light performed but it does not. It is very dim and is not capable of lighting a 2' area. My Vegas put out at least twice the light of the hydra maybe more. The color is beautiful on the hydra and I love the violet. Unfortunately you give up white light for the uv which isn't good if you want to see whats in your tank. I think the other reviewer doesn't understand the benefits of the puck and obviously has never seen a vega next to a hydra. Spend the extra 100 and get the vega, end of story.
  • Excellent Light! By n2rockets on 7/4/2013

    I just got this light a week ago and so far I really like it!

    I wanted the color of the Radion XR30W Pro but was set back by the price point. After viewing many of the units in the store and comparing the Vega and Sol to the Hydra, they just weren't standing up. They had so much Blue but no violet and UV color which really made the corals pop. The Vega had "Pucks" but not the colors I wanted without shelling out serious coin to get it running.

    The Hydra has the additional Violet and UV spectra, you can emulate the color of the Radion and still at the price of the Sol.

    The Hydra is constructed very well and built just like any other AI unit. The reflectors give a very nice diffused light with no hot spots. The color is excellent with the UV and Violet spectrum. You can make the color look like the Sol or the Vega, but also with the UV you can get more of an Actinic violet shimmer.

    I am upgrading my lighting from a Metal Halide system with 16k bulb and will not be going back. Time will tell if my corals like this unit, but so far at first glance from a color spectral output and quality unit, this device is excellent and a definite improvement from the Vega and Sol.

    Save your Pucks for the hockey rink and get this new AI Hydra.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Aqua Illumination Hydra LED Module