Apex Jr Controller - Neptune Systems

Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • How an Apex Controller Can Save You Money - BRStv Product Spotlight
  • Neptune Systems Apex Jr Controller Probe

Apex Jr Controller - Neptune Systems

SKU: 207488
Performance
32 Review(s)
$239.95
Please wait...
OR
  • Great entry level controller packed with a lot of features By on 6/26/2017

    I purchased this to use on a smaller tank. I'm an Apex fan and I have another Apex running on another tank. I use an apple airport express to connect it wirelessly to my airport extreme and home network and it's been running flawlessly since day 1.

    The apex has really lowered the barrier of entry for keeping tanks. Now my wife and son can monitor and make changes to the tank without going in a cabinet and unplugging anything.

    Programming is easier and the tasks now make it easy for a non-technical person to get started without feeling overwhelmed.

  • Great Controller at a Great Value By on 6/8/2017

    I have both the full Apex and an Apex Jr. The Apex Jr runs my AWC system and salt water mixing area which are located in my garage. They are very easy to program, there is a great forum for support and ideas through Neptune, and Neptune's support has been great over the years. For smaller systems or special projects like what I use this for its a must have item.
  • apex jr By on 5/30/2017

    love this product , great piece of mind knowing i have a smart toy looking after m tank.
  • Neptune Support Ugh!!! By on 2/27/2017

    Setting up my tank which had been down for about 8 years. I am amazed at the new technologies out there. Love the BulkReef site and the numerous helpful videos and when on their recommendation for the Apex JR. I received the unit and plugged it in. Everything seemed pretty simple. It came on and I was able to configure it for the temp probe and add it to their cloud. I was pretty happy. I noticed the time was off, I reset the time and restarted it and that is when everything went on me. Initially when it came back on the display was lit with nothing on it. I let it set for a while, never changed. I unplugged and plugged it back in and same result. I then opened a ticket with Neptune via the web. Later that day I noticed the display had come back. I updated my ticket with Neptune. I then unplugged it and plugged it back in and it didn't come back at all. The status light was steady orange and the display wasn't even back lit. I could see it wasn't connecting to my network. It appeared dead in the water. I tried unplugging it in and plugging it back in a few times, same result. I updated my ticket with Neptune. It was as if they didn't read what I wrote. They kept saying they wanted to schedule a time so they could login to the APEX JR. I told them that wouldn't be possible. I then called Bulk Reef to ask for help. They said to call them direct and gave me their number (same as Neptune webpage). I tried calling 5-6 times throughout that day and no one ever picked up the phone. At this point I called back Bulk Reef and said I wanted to return it. They said they would get it and it would take a couple days for them to determine the issue and fix or replace. I told them I wanted to return for refund and they sent me RMA number, no UPS sticker. I paid to return it myself ($14.00) and sent them a complaint email on costing me to return a defective product. They then sent me a tag for UPS which unfortunately was too late. Bulk Reef promptly refunded me when they received the APEX JR. I also am returning the unopened PH module I had bought since I don't have the APEX to use it with. The only issue I have with Bulk Reef is having this on their recommended list. In reading reviews of Neptune, I am not the only one that has had the support issue. I did eventually receive and email from Neptune saying they had power issues and the phones weren't working, judging by the reviews, this must be a common occurrence. Again, my issue isn't with Bulk Reef but with Neptune.
  • I love my Apex Jr. By on 12/29/2016

    Initially I purchased a Reefkeeper Lite to run a Finnex 800 watt heater on a 180 gallon mixed reef with a 75 gallon sump. (It was on sale.) That worked great for about a week until it failed and my tank went up 4 degrees before I caught the malfunction. I returned the Reefkeeper and purchased the Apex Jr. Wow!!! What a great purchase. I have the Apex hard wired into a router and I can check my tank or change parameters from anywhere on my cell phone. I am a dinosaur when it comes to computer stuff. Trust me you can work with this. There is an easy level for guys like me and I understand a geek mode for the more sophisticated. My temp hasn't varied more than 1/2 degree in weeks. Now I realize I could have avoided purchasing the MP 40 controller the Kessil controller and 3 timers. I wish I had purchased this years ago. I will probably upgrade and have an Apex control everything in the near future.
  • Must Have Money Saver By on 4/11/2016

    This is a great product that is fun to use and will give you peace of mind. It does take a little while to setup but is worth it. I have not hooked a camera up to it yet but I hear it is rather difficult to do. It is perfect for controlling my lights, heaters, and pumps. You will end up spending this kind of money in the hobby. I would recommend stepping up and getting this right from the start. It will save your tank!
  • Almost too user friendly By on 3/29/2016

    Just received and set up the apex on my new RR 150 and it was very simple if you know how to read. I while playing with the settings and outlets I found that I am accustomed to less user friendly equipment and repeatedly struggled to accept that it was so simple. Anyways, only gave it 4 stars cause for the a little difference in price I could have bought the competitors controller and received a ph modual as well. Good controller so far.
  • great controller By on 2/24/2016

    I have 2 apex jr and an apex lite. Jr are great for standalone biocube size tanks. You can control 2 dosing pumps, and a heater plus one to spare. The latest firmware updates max modules from 4 to 7 making it even more useful. Beware firmware updating beyond the 1 year warranty for the ORIGINAL owner is risky. If the firmware update fails and the controller bricks, you will not get a replacement of the unit from apex even though their firmware update caused the problem. Happened to me once on a pm1 module and I was not happy with this.
  • Excellent product! By on 11/25/2015

    This is my second Apex (I have a full one as well) and it's been rock solid on my nano tank. Neptune products just work. Thanks BRS!
  • Apex jr By on 11/6/2015

    Had some trouble getting it setup at first. Once the problem was fixed it worked great. Love the fact the you can monitor everything from your phone.