Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer

SAVE $60.00
Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer View 1
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer View 1
  • Vertex Omega Skimmer: Better than the Rest? | Product Spotlight
  • MACNA 2013: Vertex Omega Protein Skimmer
  • Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer View 2
  • Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer  Pump View

Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer

SKU: 207356
65 Review(s)

reg. $399.99

Special Price: $339.99

Please wait...
  • would not recommend this product By richard on 11/12/2015

    This is one of the hardest and most difficult skimmer to adjust, and to keep it from overflowing with any sudden water level change.I have it running for a month now in my 150 gal reef and can't get it to stay stable.The flow tube for the skim adjustment is very hard to turn, its a shame that it looks better than it works. I have it sitting in 8 inches, had it at 7 1/2 and still it will overflow every so often.I would not recommend this skimmer,the reef octopus works a lot better and is user friendly. Its very frustrating to have it skimming and the next day it starts overflowing like if it can hold its adjustment.
  • Works great, quiet By DanG on 10/4/2015

    The pump runs great and is very quiet. As any new skimmer, it takes a few days to break-in and stop overflowing. The workmanship on the edges is spectacular. They did a great job making the skimmer. I gave 4 instead of 5 stars for the following issues although not major:
    The Ozone tube connection broke - it's frail and after speaking with support, should be replaced in the coming version. I dont run ozone so I was able to seal it and never worry again.
    The other issue is the lack of hard connection b/w the skimmer and pump. I'm always afraid that it's going to dislodge. SO far this only happens when I hit it while working in my sump where there is NO room to maneuver. I would prefer some sort of compression or screw-type connection between the 2.
  • Packs a punch By Shawn on 8/17/2015

    This thing delivers on design, performance, and reliability without all the frustration and noise. Install stright forward minus the plastic nipple that snaps off from the hard red hose. That part of the design is point less unless you intend to use o-zone. I purchased this skimmer for a 60 gallon install after being disappointed with performance issues and trying to dial it in. If you intend to use this skimmer on a small tank get the bubbles below the cup and open the adjustment on the pump half way. This thing is so efficent you need to turn the air down. After such adjustments been flawless with dark skimm and I am very proud of it. Thanks BRS for the videos on your products.
  • vertex omega 150 By Chris on 7/6/2015

    This skimmer is top notch! This thing is made very nicely! It is a tank and performs the same. Would recommend it to everyone
  • Great Skimmer By Dustin on 6/1/2015

    This is the best skimmer I have ever owned, the build quality, noise, and gunk it pulls is amazing. Even the box it comes in is almost too nice to throw away!
  • Skims Well. On the quieter side. I would reccomend. By ReefMaster on 5/19/2015

    I have both the vertex 150 and 130 skimmers. My 150 works great. The build quality is superb, (just be careful with the ozone nipple, it can break) It is slightly louder than the 130 but was easy for me to dial in. If you are picking between the two, pick the 150. The 130 is more finicky and was very hard to dial in.
  • Big upgrade from a curve 7 By Jason on 4/28/2015

    Only had it a couple weeks but so far it's been skimming like a beast! Best skimmer I've owned and I love the adjustable features...
  • great skimmer By LW on 4/22/2015

    The first thing I noticed when I received this skimmer was the overall build quality of the skimmer, exceptional. As soon as I got it I started putting it together. I began by attaching the ozone tube to the red intake on the pump and it broke off. I came on here to mention it in a review and I couldn't believe how many people have had this problem. As for the skimmer performance, everything is great thus far (3 weeks). The pump is quiet, no micro bubbles, good collection, ect. The only thing I don't like about all vertex skimmers is the water level adjuster. Instead of using a finely tunable and easy to operate gate valve like some other companies, vertex chooses to use a volute pipe which also holds the muffler. Adjusting this pipe requires two hands, something that can be hard when your on your hands and knees working under your sump.
  • it has its issues By don on 4/12/2015

    I agree with the overall build quality and the is impressive. I have had it running for three full months now but am having impellar issues and haven't been impressed with the skimming. it does produce a lot of bubbles but the overall amount of skimmate is poor for what I expected. The plastic nipple also broke easily. the pump is very quiet which is great but the impellar gets stuck and shuts the pump down. I am waiting for a new one. I agree with other your research and EXPECT to break the plastic nipple on the ozone tubing.
  • Great skimmer - horrible customer service By Tim on 3/26/2015

    Been running this skimmer for 2 weeks now and the only reason I gave it 4 stars was due to the manufacture ignoring my calls for a replacement ozone nozzle on the pump. Horrible customer service but great skimmer. Had this bad boy broken in within 2 days. Have it placed at 7 inches of water to really dial it in the way I want. Pulls at some reallll awesome skimate. Pretty dang silent too compared to the reef octopus's I have ran. Just be careful placing the tubing on the ozone output of the pump. It's very brittle and breaks extremely easy.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer