Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer

Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer View 1
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer View 1
  • Vertex Omega Skimmer: Better than the Rest? | Product Spotlight
  • MACNA 2013: Vertex Omega Protein Skimmer
  • Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer View 2
  • Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer  Pump View

Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer

SKU: 207356
Performance
62 Review(s)
$399.99
Please wait...
OR
  • vertex omega 150 By Chris on 7/6/2015

    This skimmer is top notch! This thing is made very nicely! It is a tank and performs the same. Would recommend it to everyone
  • Great Skimmer By Dustin on 6/1/2015

    This is the best skimmer I have ever owned, the build quality, noise, and gunk it pulls is amazing. Even the box it comes in is almost too nice to throw away!
  • Skims Well. On the quieter side. I would reccomend. By ReefMaster on 5/19/2015

    I have both the vertex 150 and 130 skimmers. My 150 works great. The build quality is superb, (just be careful with the ozone nipple, it can break) It is slightly louder than the 130 but was easy for me to dial in. If you are picking between the two, pick the 150. The 130 is more finicky and was very hard to dial in.
  • Big upgrade from a curve 7 By Jason on 4/28/2015

    Only had it a couple weeks but so far it's been skimming like a beast! Best skimmer I've owned and I love the adjustable features...
  • great skimmer By LW on 4/22/2015

    The first thing I noticed when I received this skimmer was the overall build quality of the skimmer, exceptional. As soon as I got it I started putting it together. I began by attaching the ozone tube to the red intake on the pump and it broke off. I came on here to mention it in a review and I couldn't believe how many people have had this problem. As for the skimmer performance, everything is great thus far (3 weeks). The pump is quiet, no micro bubbles, good collection, ect. The only thing I don't like about all vertex skimmers is the water level adjuster. Instead of using a finely tunable and easy to operate gate valve like some other companies, vertex chooses to use a volute pipe which also holds the muffler. Adjusting this pipe requires two hands, something that can be hard when your on your hands and knees working under your sump.
  • it has its issues By don on 4/12/2015

    I agree with the overall build quality and the packaging..it is impressive. I have had it running for three full months now but am having impellar issues and haven't been impressed with the skimming. it does produce a lot of bubbles but the overall amount of skimmate is poor for what I expected. The plastic nipple also broke easily. the pump is very quiet which is great but the impellar gets stuck and shuts the pump down. I am waiting for a new one. I agree with other reviews...do your research and EXPECT to break the plastic nipple on the ozone tubing.
  • Great skimmer - horrible customer service By Tim on 3/26/2015

    Been running this skimmer for 2 weeks now and the only reason I gave it 4 stars was due to the manufacture ignoring my calls for a replacement ozone nozzle on the pump. Horrible customer service but great skimmer. Had this bad boy broken in within 2 days. Have it placed at 7 inches of water to really dial it in the way I want. Pulls at some reallll awesome skimate. Pretty dang silent too compared to the reef octopus's I have ran. Just be careful placing the tubing on the ozone output of the pump. It's very brittle and breaks extremely easy.
  • Great product By Fish Guy on 3/7/2015

    You can tell a great product by it's packaging & the Omega 150 was packed very well. It went together as described in the instructions. I'm a little concerned that the "O" ring on the bottom of the collector may easily fall off & down the drain.
  • Good skimmer but finicky at first By Keith on 2/2/2015

    This is a good skimmer and it pulls out some nasty smelly skimmate once it's fully broken in. During the break-in period this skimmer is all over the place and hard to dial in. Also, be careful of the porcelain shaft on the impeller... Im already on my second one. That being said, once you get past the initial frustration of dialing in this skimmer, it's works great and is one of the most efficient skimmers I've used in the past 14 years of being in this hobby.
  • Best purchase yet By Chris on 1/19/2015

    Pros
    -the build quality is unmatched
    -easy to disassemble/ reassemble for cleaning
    -black skim
    -collection cup screws on/off, does not pop off like other skimmers
    -very quiet
    Cons
    -Being new to skimmers, the instructions/manual were not the easiest for me to follow...+1 for the internet
    -I have to warn the wife before I clean the collection cup because of the smell
    -9x12 footprint may be too large for some sumps
    in all this skimmer is amazing and when I finally do upgrade from my current 65g tank, I will definitely get another vertex skimmer, especially one with the internal pump.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer