Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer

Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer View 1
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer View 1
  • Vertex Omega Skimmer: Better than the Rest? | Product Spotlight
  • MACNA 2013: Vertex Omega Protein Skimmer
  • Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer View 2
  • Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer  Pump View

Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer

SKU: 207356
Performance
69 Review(s)
$399.99
Please wait...
OR
  • Wet skim By Sample1 on 1/21/2016

    Using this on a very small system (about 30 gallons total water volume) but have it on an Apex to run only when I am sleeping or not in the area. I have it producing wet skim (between 10-20oz a week) and it only took a couple of days to dial in. I exchanged the silicone coupling for a slightly longer vinyl DIY one between the pump and the base of the unit so I could put the pump in a different compartment in the sump, no negative effects seen. i thought I measured my sump area correctly but the 150 is a pretty big unit: will come in handy when I eventually upgrade or add another system to my current loop.

    No micro bubbles outside the unit that I can see and it really is exceptionally well built. I like the outflow it provides in the sump, makes a good mixing chamber for dosing.

    If you have the room in your sump, I think it's much more convenient to choose a skimmer that has a pump outside the unit, like this one. Very pleased with this model.
  • Great By nathan on 1/10/2016

    First salt tank, instructions on assembly suck, but not hard to figure out

    I broke the ozone nipple trying to put the tubing on
  • Works very well By Shawn on 1/5/2016

    Been up and running for a little over a month. Directions are horrible, but BRS very helpful with any questions. It skims well, very quiet and is easy to clean. Only issue is still having a small amount of micro bubbles coming through main tank.
  • Great Skimmer, not so great impeller. By MICHAEL on 12/31/2015

    The Vertex Omega 150 does exactly what it's designed to do. It pulls tons of gunk out of your aquarium. That being said, the impeller in the Sicce pump is the weak link. It's a special pump and I am playing hell trying to find a replacement. Keep that in mind when you're considering this skimmer.
  • would not recommend this product By richard on 11/12/2015

    This is one of the hardest and most difficult skimmer to adjust, and to keep it from overflowing with any sudden water level change.I have it running for a month now in my 150 gal reef and can't get it to stay stable.The flow tube for the skim adjustment is very hard to turn, its a shame that it looks better than it works. I have it sitting in 8 inches, had it at 7 1/2 and still it will overflow every so often.I would not recommend this skimmer,the reef octopus works a lot better and is user friendly. Its very frustrating to have it skimming and the next day it starts overflowing like if it can hold its adjustment.
  • Works great, quiet By DanG on 10/4/2015

    The pump runs great and is very quiet. As any new skimmer, it takes a few days to break-in and stop overflowing. The workmanship on the edges is spectacular. They did a great job making the skimmer. I gave 4 instead of 5 stars for the following issues although not major:
    The Ozone tube connection broke - it's frail and after speaking with support, should be replaced in the coming version. I dont run ozone so I was able to seal it and never worry again.
    The other issue is the lack of hard connection b/w the skimmer and pump. I'm always afraid that it's going to dislodge. SO far this only happens when I hit it while working in my sump where there is NO room to maneuver. I would prefer some sort of compression or screw-type connection between the 2.
  • Packs a punch By Shawn on 8/17/2015

    This thing delivers on design, performance, and reliability without all the frustration and noise. Install stright forward minus the plastic nipple that snaps off from the hard red hose. That part of the design is point less unless you intend to use o-zone. I purchased this skimmer for a 60 gallon install after being disappointed with performance issues and trying to dial it in. If you intend to use this skimmer on a small tank get the bubbles below the cup and open the adjustment on the pump half way. This thing is so efficent you need to turn the air down. After such adjustments been flawless with dark skimm and I am very proud of it. Thanks BRS for the videos on your products.
  • vertex omega 150 By Chris on 7/6/2015

    This skimmer is top notch! This thing is made very nicely! It is a tank and performs the same. Would recommend it to everyone
  • Great Skimmer By Dustin on 5/31/2015

    This is the best skimmer I have ever owned, the build quality, noise, and gunk it pulls is amazing. Even the box it comes in is almost too nice to throw away!
  • Skims Well. On the quieter side. I would reccomend. By ReefMaster on 5/19/2015

    I have both the vertex 150 and 130 skimmers. My 150 works great. The build quality is superb, (just be careful with the ozone nipple, it can break) It is slightly louder than the 130 but was easy for me to dial in. If you are picking between the two, pick the 150. The 130 is more finicky and was very hard to dial in.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer