Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer

Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer View 1
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer View 1
  • Vertex Omega Skimmer: Better than the Rest? | Product Spotlight
  • MACNA 2013: Vertex Omega Protein Skimmer
  • Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer View 2
  • Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer  Pump View

Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer

SKU: 207356
Performance
73 Review(s)
$399.99
Please wait...
OR
  • GOOD PRODUCT By MARIO on 4/19/2016

    AWESOME, WHLE I HAD IT DIALED IN. IT WAS QUITE PRODUCTIVE.
  • Great quality, long break in period By Xavier on 4/15/2016

    This is my second Vertex Omega skimmer. I went back with this item because I love the build quality and Ike how quiet it is. Only problem is the break in period does take long. I have had my 150 running for about 2 1/2 weeks now and still don't feel it is full broken in.
  • Too much time making it look pretty....not enough time on engineering By Cheezybuda on 3/12/2016

    I've been using this skimmer for about a year now. I've spent an exorbitant amount of time trying to get it to skim consistently on my 60g. I never get anything other than yellow water. It has the tendency to overflow when I don't have the bubble line above where it starts to taper. Lastly, it is loud. Even with the silencer and the venturi adjusted way down, the air sucking sound is real!
  • Noisy and Hard to Tune By Zeke on 2/25/2016

    This skimmer has been problematic for me. It has a great build quality and premium look and feel. It took mine almost a month to really break in and work correctly. It skims decently, but is noisy as heck! I have loud slurping and air/vacuum sounds coming from my unit. It's progressively got louder since I purchase. I also have never been able to fit the CO2 hose to the nipple/connector on the body of the skimmer. I had to plug the hose myself with something to keep it from drawing air. I think this skimmer would be ok in my larger tank but not good for my 60 cube.
  • Wet skim By Sample1 on 1/21/2016

    Using this on a very small system (about 30 gallons total water volume) but have it on an Apex to run only when I am sleeping or not in the area. I have it producing wet skim (between 10-20oz a week) and it only took a couple of days to dial in. I exchanged the silicone coupling for a slightly longer vinyl DIY one between the pump and the base of the unit so I could put the pump in a different compartment in the sump, no negative effects seen. i thought I measured my sump area correctly but the 150 is a pretty big unit: will come in handy when I eventually upgrade or add another system to my current loop.

    No micro bubbles outside the unit that I can see and it really is exceptionally well built. I like the outflow it provides in the sump, makes a good mixing chamber for dosing.

    If you have the room in your sump, I think it's much more convenient to choose a skimmer that has a pump outside the unit, like this one. Very pleased with this model.
  • Great By nathan on 1/10/2016

    First salt tank, instructions on assembly suck, but not hard to figure out

    I broke the ozone nipple trying to put the tubing on
  • Works very well By Shawn on 1/5/2016

    Been up and running for a little over a month. Directions are horrible, but BRS very helpful with any questions. It skims well, very quiet and is easy to clean. Only issue is still having a small amount of micro bubbles coming through main tank.
  • Great Skimmer, not so great impeller. By MICHAEL on 12/31/2015

    The Vertex Omega 150 does exactly what it's designed to do. It pulls tons of gunk out of your aquarium. That being said, the impeller in the Sicce pump is the weak link. It's a special pump and I am playing hell trying to find a replacement. Keep that in mind when you're considering this skimmer.
  • would not recommend this product By richard on 11/12/2015

    This is one of the hardest and most difficult skimmer to adjust, and to keep it from overflowing with any sudden water level change.I have it running for a month now in my 150 gal reef and can't get it to stay stable.The flow tube for the skim adjustment is very hard to turn, its a shame that it looks better than it works. I have it sitting in 8 inches, had it at 7 1/2 and still it will overflow every so often.I would not recommend this skimmer,the reef octopus works a lot better and is user friendly. Its very frustrating to have it skimming and the next day it starts overflowing like if it can hold its adjustment.
  • Works great, quiet By DanG on 10/4/2015

    The pump runs great and is very quiet. As any new skimmer, it takes a few days to break-in and stop overflowing. The workmanship on the edges is spectacular. They did a great job making the skimmer. I gave 4 instead of 5 stars for the following issues although not major:
    The Ozone tube connection broke - it's frail and after speaking with support, should be replaced in the coming version. I dont run ozone so I was able to seal it and never worry again.
    The other issue is the lack of hard connection b/w the skimmer and pump. I'm always afraid that it's going to dislodge. SO far this only happens when I hit it while working in my sump where there is NO room to maneuver. I would prefer some sort of compression or screw-type connection between the 2.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Vertex Omega 150 Protein Skimmer