My Cart (0 items)
Aqua Illuminations New Controller
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Aqua Illuminations New Controller
  • AI Controller Weather Effects
  • AI Controller Coral Acclimation
  • AI Controller Setting Timers
  • AI Controller Wireless Setup
  • AI Controller Firmware Update - PC
  • AI Controller Firmware Update - Mac
  • AI Controller Setting Timers by Region

Aqua Illumination New Controller

SKU: 204359


  • Be ready for a headache By Justin on 3/26/14

    Right out the box this controller needs a update to work with a hydra, mine was not accepting the new update and still does not work almost a week after I got it, AI support is worthless and I still have not heard back from them
  • Could be really great By ls on 3/17/14

    Works great but as mentioned by others the buttons are hard to press. Other than, it is easy to use and has great control features.
  • It works but buttons are hard to press, loses memory if unplugged By Doug on 2/15/14

    The new controller works, that's about all I can say for it. The reviews for the director are terrible, don't waste your money so you need this to control your lights. Once you figure out how to set the manual timers it does a good job but don't unplug it ever or your settings will be changed or lost and it will lose connection with your lights. The company claims it has an internal battery to maintain setting but I have two controllers and neither one has ever maintained it's settings if unplugged. A.I. doesn't give you instructions for any of their products so you will need to download them from their website which is odd. The buttons are really poorly designed. You need to press extremely hard to the point of hurting your fingers. In this day and age, I have no idea why they can't have soft touch buttons. Their lights work well and are bright but if I had known how cheap their control was and that the director was completely unusable, I would have gone with a different brand. Also, be aware that A.I. does not stand behind any of it's products. If you open the box, they will tell you that you are stuck with it. They will not even consider allowing you to return or exchange it. If you haven't already bought their lights, go with a different brand. I wish I had. I bought three of their lights. I like the SOL but I do not like the Hydra 52s and like I said, A.I. told me that I'm stuck with them.
  • Just like GRMOORE said, he has the best review By Firehorsy on 1/23/14

    The button controls are straight out of 1970s technology. Occasionally they will register a press correctly, the rest of the time they will ignore the presses entirely or provide a blast of presses, overshooting the setting you intended. The sensitivity setting does little to correct the problem.

    As there are no batteries in the unit, it has to remain tethered to power. At least it retains its settings when powered down.

    Overall a poor design. That should have never made its way to market, but given their track record on Director, it's not surprising. Time to hire some competent hardware and software engineers.
  • I would recomend it. By Chris on 11/25/13

    I like how easy it is to use. When programing things are very simple and easy to use. The coral acclimation feature makes it easy to ramp up the lights over time.
  • Needs software update By joseph on 8/24/13

    Well if you purchased the lights, you really need this. My first one kept changing my settings bi itself. It also doesn't come with instructions.
    I did talk with the manufacturer and they sent me out a replacement along with a return shipping label.. That's something you will not run into very often. The new one so far seems to be a little better. I'm sure with time they will get the problems fixed and I do love the lights it controls. I will happily live with it.
  • WORKS, BUT... By GRMOORE on 8/2/13

    I recommend this, but only because currently this is the only way to program your Vega fixtures.

    The button controls are straight out of 1970s technology. Occasionally they will register a press correctly, the rest of the time they will ignore the presses entirely or provide a blast of presses, overshooting the setting you intended. The sensitivity setting does little to correct the problem.

    As there are no batteries in the unit, it has to remain tethered to power. At least it retains its settings when powered down.

    Overall a poor design. That should have never made its way to market, but given their track record on Director, it's not surprising. Time to hire some competent hardware and software engineers.
  • Works great only one power cord By Bill K on 7/31/13

    I purchased the new wireless controler works great easy to use .It took me about 20-30 min. to get familiar the contraler.Have 3 vega lights was very easy to set them up wireless. Love that their is only one wire and thats the power cord very clean looking.You do not need the wireless adapter.
  • A little archiac for this day and age By mreed2 on 5/24/13

    I just purchased 3 vega color and the controller. For all intents and purposes the controller is mandatory for the vega's to get the functionality you bought with the lights. As everyone else said the only documentation is online and it is not in a very user friendly format not a format that you can print without it being an eye chart. And even with that documentation it is still not complete, it doesnt explain how you might use some of the settings.
    The first thing you have to do is upgrade the firmware, the one 1 got was about 4 versions old and there have been significant changes. I believe the interface would be ok if the actual touch capabilities of the buttons was better, you touch it once and it may not register anything at all or it may think you touched it 5 times. You can play with the sensitivity of the buttons but I have yet to find the sweet spot. So bottom line, does it work, yes, does it make you go Wow, this is great, not so much.
  • does not work By witz on 5/2/13

    Bought one, brought it home for vega system(2). It did not work and looked like it was opened, label on back was torn off, cables unwrapped. Replaced next day, store employee opened it and it connected and worked. Came home set up lights, got controller and nothing. sometimes it will get the button push, then nothing. I now have no lights and the store does not have anymore.

    This is not about this store but the product, as the store I purchased it at is local.

    Not sure if I will be staying with Aqua illumination for anything anymore. Looks like I will have to try and return lights and put my old ones back in, but it will be a few days, so i have a tank, reef and no lights for whats going to be about a week.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Aqua Illumination New Controller