Aqua Illumination New Controller

Aqua Illuminations New Controller
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Aqua Illuminations New Controller
  • AI Controller Setting Timers
  • AI Controller Weather Effects
  • AI Controller Coral Acclimation
  • AI Controller Wireless Setup
  • AI Controller Setting Timers by Region
  • AI Controller Firmware Update - Mac
  • AI Controller Firmware Update - PC
  • Aqua Illuminations New Controller Included Parts

Aqua Illumination New Controller

SKU: 204359
20 Review(s)

Out of Stock

  • Easy By Martin on 8/9/2015

    Very easy controller, only reason I didn't rate 5 stars is I had to wait a few extra days because I recieved the old style instead of the new.
  • Decent Starting Controller for the AI Lights By Rich on 3/25/2015

    I purchased this because I wasn't happy with having to button press my way through my AI Hydra 26 lights just to turn them down to a lower setting for night time.

    The controller worked immediately and connected to my lights without needing a software/firmware update. The timers are very simple to setup once you've online searched for settings since the AI website contains absolutely no recommendations and the product only comes with a quick start guide. The weather and lunar features on the controller are nice, because you can setup your lights to have cloud sweeps and have the random probability of lightning. The lunar feature is interesting because it actually does follow the lunar cycle of my area and adds a nice touch to the tank.

    The buttons are horrible to press. It's like using a bag phone with gigantic buttons that need to be mashed. I've not experienced any of the unresponsiveness that others are complaining about, and I've not had any issues with the controller itself. It's easily a set it and forget it system that just needs to stay plugged in.
  • works great By gimer on 10/10/2014

    Works way better then my Rkl. Pretty self explanatory to use, much simpler then most controllers.
  • garbage By reeferlarry on 5/25/2014

    this thing is useless and so is AI support. it never worked right for several months, and then i come home from work one day and my lights are off! and the damn thing will not turn them on. so for a week i run my lights at 100% bleaching several of my corals, and killing a few finally got my VDM from APEX now everything is great!! thanks AI for dropping the ball!
  • Be ready for a headache By Justin on 3/26/2014

    Right out the box this controller needs a update to work with a hydra, mine was not accepting the new update and still does not work almost a week after I got it, AI support is worthless and I still have not heard back from them
  • Could be really great By ls on 3/17/2014

    Works great but as mentioned by others the buttons are hard to press. Other than, it is easy to use and has great control features.
  • It works but buttons are hard to press, loses memory if unplugged By Doug on 2/15/2014

    The new controller works, that's about all I can say for it. The reviews for the director are terrible, don't waste your money so you need this to control your lights. Once you figure out how to set the manual timers it does a good job but don't unplug it ever or your settings will be changed or lost and it will lose connection with your lights. The company claims it has an internal battery to maintain setting but I have two controllers and neither one has ever maintained it's settings if unplugged. A.I. doesn't give you instructions for any of their products so you will need to download them from their website which is odd. The buttons are really poorly designed. You need to press extremely hard to the point of hurting your fingers. In this day and age, I have no idea why they can't have soft touch buttons. Their lights work well and are bright but if I had known how cheap their control was and that the director was completely unusable, I would have gone with a different brand. Also, be aware that A.I. does not stand behind any of it's products. If you open the box, they will tell you that you are stuck with it. They will not even consider allowing you to return or exchange it. If you haven't already bought their lights, go with a different brand. I wish I had. I bought three of their lights. I like the SOL but I do not like the Hydra 52s and like I said, A.I. told me that I'm stuck with them.
  • Just like GRMOORE said, he has the best review By Firehorsy on 1/23/2014

    The button controls are straight out of 1970s technology. Occasionally they will register a press correctly, the rest of the time they will ignore the presses entirely or provide a blast of presses, overshooting the setting you intended. The sensitivity setting does little to correct the problem.

    As there are no batteries in the unit, it has to remain tethered to power. At least it retains its settings when powered down.

    Overall a poor design. That should have never made its way to market, but given their track record on Director, it's not surprising. Time to hire some competent hardware and software engineers.
  • I would recomend it. By Chris on 11/24/2013

    I like how easy it is to use. When programing things are very simple and easy to use. The coral acclimation feature makes it easy to ramp up the lights over time.
  • Needs software update By joseph on 8/24/2013

    Well if you purchased the lights, you really need this. My first one kept changing my settings bi itself. It also doesn't come with instructions.
    I did talk with the manufacturer and they sent me out a replacement along with a return shipping label.. That's something you will not run into very often. The new one so far seems to be a little better. I'm sure with time they will get the problems fixed and I do love the lights it controls. I will happily live with it.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Aqua Illumination New Controller