Original Grade Ocean Direct Live Reef Sand

Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Live Sand Explained

Original Grade Ocean Direct Live Reef Sand

Performance
16 Review(s)

Choose a size

Qty
 
5 lb. Original Grade Ocean Direct Live Reef Sand
SKU: 207441
$17.99
 
 
20 lb. Original Grade Ocean Direct Live Reef Sand
SKU: 207442
$33.99
 
 
40 lb. Original Grade Ocean Direct Live Reef Sand
SKU: 207443
$62.99
 
  • Great buy By Aimie on 1/12/2016

    I grabbed this to help weigh my finer grain sand in hot areas where the sand shifted easily. I was easily able to mix this in with the places that needed a little more weight with no issues of making it look natural. Truth is, it made it look more natural having the few spots of heavier grain variance. The bag came with the bacteria to add after the fact and it is a critical point to use. It helps to weigh the suspended stuff clouding the tank so it drops more quickly. I added it even though I didn't end up with a huge sand storm even without rinsing the sand. I also saw no major fluctuations when I added this. I didn't add the whole bag to my 150 gallon, but there was a decent amount used and expected a small spike but none came. The packaging from BRS was a million times better for this sand in comparison to the other online place I bought my first batch of sand (which also sent the wrong sand and started the need for this purchase). I have only positive things to say about the packaging BRS provides for their goods! A+ service and A+ product!

  • good looking sand By carl on 12/26/2015

    I purchased a 40lb. bag and made the mistake of just dumping it right into my new tank setup. Was cloudy for a week. Once it cleared, the sand looked great. Bought a second 40lb. bag and pre-washed it in new saltwater. cleared up after a day. Am really happy with the end result.
  • There is a lot of junk in it By John on 12/22/2015

    This sand likes fine but when you put it in oar tank there is a lot of junk in it stones, big shells 3”to4” in size. Brown in color like play sand. I would not recommend this to a friend
  • AWESOME By ALEX on 9/15/2015

    Great product..Shipping was super fast and the price was right!
  • No Problems By Brett on 8/20/2015

    This is my second experience with this sand. Never had any problems with any water quality.
  • Great Sand, Very Natural Lookin By Garrett on 6/30/2015

    I was originally hesitant to buy this sand due to the large variety of grain size, presence of shells, and the possibility of sand storms in an SPS dominated tank. I am really glad I went with this sand because of they very natural looking mixture of sizes and shells. This sand gives the feel of the actually variety you would see when diving. Small grain size is no problem with 2 alternating Gyre 150s and the shells/debris that you don't like can be picked. out.
  • Great sand but lots of big items By Josh on 12/18/2014

    I have to say that I am pleased with the sand. I purchased 60lbs. for my 60 gallon SSB, and ended up using less thank 40. I guess the rocks directly on the glass took up a lot of surface area. I placed the sand in then filled the tank by placing a glass bowl at the bottom and filling that up and letting it flow over. I did not rinse the sand first, and I have to say that I am impressed with the cloudiness, as it was not bad at all. The only con is that there were a ton of chunks, shells, ect in the rock.
  • Excellent By Roger on 11/20/2014

    I've used this sand for almost a year now. Liked it so much I bought some more last month for a tank upgrade. Nice color and size.
  • dependable By b-christopher on 10/5/2014

    I have used this product for some time and have never been disappointed. My order from BRS was no exception.

    Great prices. Safe, secure and speedy shipping as usual.
  • Very good substrate if you know what you're doing By Brad on 9/11/2014

    Felt like I should add this review after seeing the 1-star review. When you add sand into an established aquarium, NEVER add all of it at once. The new sand will smother the existing life on the top 1" of your current sand bed and cause those organisms to die. This creates hydrogen sulfide spots in your sand if it is deep enough, and is most likely what will cause your aquarium to crash.

    If adding to a new aquarium, just give it time for the dust to settle and you should be fine. I have never had any issues with CaribSea and have only ever had positive experiences using their products.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Original Grade Ocean Direct Live Reef Sand