Original Grade Ocean Direct Live Reef Sand

SAVE $2.70
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Live Sand Explained

Original Grade Ocean Direct Live Reef Sand

13 Review(s)

Choose a size

5 lb. Original Grade Ocean Direct Live Reef Sand
SKU: 207441

reg. $17.99

Special Price: $15.29

20 lb. Original Grade Ocean Direct Live Reef Sand
SKU: 207442

reg. $33.99

Special Price: $28.89

40 lb. Original Grade Ocean Direct Live Reef Sand
SKU: 207443

reg. $64.99

Special Price: $55.24

  • AWESOME By ALEX on 9/15/2015

    Great product..Shipping was super fast and the price was right!
  • No Problems By Brett on 8/20/2015

    This is my second experience with this sand. Never had any problems with any water quality.
  • Great Sand, Very Natural Lookin By Garrett on 6/30/2015

    I was originally hesitant to buy this sand due to the large variety of grain size, presence of shells, and the possibility of sand storms in an SPS dominated tank. I am really glad I went with this sand because of they very natural looking mixture of sizes and shells. This sand gives the feel of the actually variety you would see when diving. Small grain size is no problem with 2 alternating Gyre 150s and the shells/debris that you don't like can be picked. out.
  • Great sand but lots of big items By Josh on 12/18/2014

    I have to say that I am pleased with the sand. I purchased 60lbs. for my 60 gallon SSB, and ended up using less thank 40. I guess the rocks directly on the glass took up a lot of surface area. I placed the sand in then filled the tank by placing a glass bowl at the bottom and filling that up and letting it flow over. I did not rinse the sand first, and I have to say that I am impressed with the cloudiness, as it was not bad at all. The only con is that there were a ton of chunks, shells, ect in the rock.
  • Excellent By Roger on 11/20/2014

    I've used this sand for almost a year now. Liked it so much I bought some more last month for a tank upgrade. Nice color and size.
  • dependable By b-christopher on 10/5/2014

    I have used this product for some time and have never been disappointed. My order from BRS was no exception.

    Great prices. Safe, secure and speedy shipping as usual.
  • Very good substrate if you know what you're doing By Brad on 9/11/2014

    Felt like I should add this review after seeing the 1-star review. When you add sand into an established aquarium, NEVER add all of it at once. The new sand will smother the existing life on the top 1" of your current sand bed and cause those organisms to die. This creates hydrogen sulfide spots in your sand if it is deep enough, and is most likely what will cause your aquarium to crash.

    If adding to a new aquarium, just give it time for the dust to settle and you should be fine. I have never had any issues with CaribSea and have only ever had positive experiences using their products.
  • Great sand By Richard on 9/1/2014

    I love the look of this sand. I have heard complaints about cloudy water because this sand is so fine. I had that problem at first. It took about two days for the sand to settle down and the water to clear. I did a second tank, but this time I put the water in at a slow rate. While the tank was a bit cloudy at first, within a couple hours it was clear. I would recommend this sand.
  • Do not freak out when you first add this sand By Joey on 12/6/2013

    I needed to add more sand into my tank after regular sand maintenance and bought this sand when I saw the good review.

    This sand is roughly 4x finer than caribsea Fiji grade which was the sand I had before. It contains random shells & some pieces of wood (I really do not know how those wood got in them).

    I immediately went to put the sand into my aquarium after I got it, no rinsing what so ever. The tank went crazy, it became a milk tank! There were foamy layers EVERYWHERE.

    I really panicked for a little bit, here is what I did to make the water CRYSTAL clear in 2 and half hours:
    I turned my skimmer to wet skim and put a bucket underneath it, the skimmer will go crazy once you put the sand in, it literally collected 2 gallons of muck in that time frame.
    I then added extra layers of filter socks + filter sheet on both the sump and the over flow, then I turned my vortechs to full speed and left them at that.
    Lastly, I added 2 bags of carbon.

    The sand is beautifully white, I believe it looks much nicer than the Fiji pink sand, I love it after all the milky stuff cleared.

    Last note, I recommend you suck those random pieces of wood out with a turkey baster, otherwise they'll keep on floating around your aquarium and never seem to settle, or get stuck onto your vortechs/overflow.
  • Super Sand By MICHAELO on 9/30/2013

    Great deal and coming in bags of 40lbs was a plus. This stuff looks just like it came off the beach and is clean right out of the bag, BRS packed it like the pros they are and it looks great.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Original Grade Ocean Direct Live Reef Sand