My Cart (0 items)
Original Grade Ocean Direct Live Reef Sand Up Close
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Original Grade Ocean Direct Live Reef Sand Up Close
  • Live Sand Explained
  • Ocean Direct Live Reef Sand Comparison
  • Original Grade Ocean Direct Live Reef Sand Bag

Original Grade Ocean Direct Live Reef Sand

  • dependable By b-christopher on 10/5/2014

    I have used this product for some time and have never been disappointed. My order from BRS was no exception.

    Great prices. Safe, secure and speedy shipping as usual.
  • Very good substrate if you know what you're doing By Brad on 9/11/2014

    Felt like I should add this review after seeing the 1-star review. When you add sand into an established aquarium, NEVER add all of it at once. The new sand will smother the existing life on the top 1" of your current sand bed and cause those organisms to die. This creates hydrogen sulfide spots in your sand if it is deep enough, and is most likely what will cause your aquarium to crash.

    If adding to a new aquarium, just give it time for the dust to settle and you should be fine. I have never had any issues with CaribSea and have only ever had positive experiences using their products.
  • Great sand By Richard on 9/1/2014

    I love the look of this sand. I have heard complaints about cloudy water because this sand is so fine. I had that problem at first. It took about two days for the sand to settle down and the water to clear. I did a second tank, but this time I put the water in at a slow rate. While the tank was a bit cloudy at first, within a couple hours it was clear. I would recommend this sand.
  • Do not freak out when you first add this sand By Joey on 12/6/2013

    I needed to add more sand into my tank after regular sand maintenance and bought this sand when I saw the good review.

    This sand is roughly 4x finer than caribsea Fiji grade which was the sand I had before. It contains random shells & some pieces of wood (I really do not know how those wood got in them).

    I immediately went to put the sand into my aquarium after I got it, no rinsing what so ever. The tank went crazy, it became a milk tank! There were foamy layers EVERYWHERE.

    I really panicked for a little bit, here is what I did to make the water CRYSTAL clear in 2 and half hours:
    I turned my skimmer to wet skim and put a bucket underneath it, the skimmer will go crazy once you put the sand in, it literally collected 2 gallons of muck in that time frame.
    I then added extra layers of filter socks + filter sheet on both the sump and the over flow, then I turned my vortechs to full speed and left them at that.
    Lastly, I added 2 bags of carbon.

    The sand is beautifully white, I believe it looks much nicer than the Fiji pink sand, I love it after all the milky stuff cleared.

    Last note, I recommend you suck those random pieces of wood out with a turkey baster, otherwise they'll keep on floating around your aquarium and never seem to settle, or get stuck onto your vortechs/overflow.
  • Super Sand By MICHAELO on 9/30/2013

    Great deal and coming in bags of 40lbs was a plus. This stuff looks just like it came off the beach and is clean right out of the bag, BRS packed it like the pros they are and it looks great.
  • Be very careful! By Charles on 7/24/2013

    I am writing this review so others don't have to go through what I have in the last weeks. My tank is over 7 years old and was very stable. Most of the fish in the tank had been there for over 5 years. My sand bed was low from occasional syphoning over the years ( I had a little bit of cyano on and off.) I decided to add 40 lbs of live sand to the tank to replenish the sand bed and increase the biologic filter. A few days after doing so, my tank had an ammonia spike. I have been doing extra water changes, carbon changes and monitoring nitrite and nitrate every day. The nitrates are still at 5 and they had been 0 for years. Nothing else changed. I strongly believe the new "live sand" is not quite as alive as advertised. I believe the existing sand bed with its working biological filter was too covered by new sand to work. Until the new sand cycles, the tank is in danger. I have lost a large lime green wrasse, a sailfin tang, and a mystery wrasse. All were 100% healthy a week ago!
    I don't want anyone else to repeat my mistake so please read this review and be very careful! IF the live sand is not as alive as advertised, then you are adding a lot of dead bacteria to your tank and covering good, colonized sand. This may be a recipe for disaster.
  • Great product By Joe on 7/8/2013

    Great product...been using this product since it came on the market.
    Shipping was super fast and the price was right!
  • Cant go wrong By KRaney on 6/4/2013

    Excellent live sand! The best I have used.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Original Grade Ocean Direct Live Reef Sand