My Cart (0 items)
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Water Changes - EP 1: Saltwater Aquarium Maintenance

Aqueon Aquarium Water Changer

  • Save your money By Gil on 7/29/2014

    I purchased the 50ft model to do water changes on my 330 gal reef system. My opinion, save your money and purchase a Python gravel vac. They use a larger internal diameter hose than the Aqueon model. When I used the Aqueon vac the hose starts to collapse from the suction. My Python that I had a few years back never had that problem, so I was a little disappointed in the performance of Aqueons siphon.
    I do like the shutoff valve on the gravel tube though.
  • Versatile and Handy By Lucas on 3/8/2014

    I bought the 50' version and it was well worth it.

    In the summer I can hook it up to the garden hose spigot outside. In the winter it connects to a sink faucet. It works great when using it as an old fashioned manual siphon as well. It fits on the outlet of a maxi jet so I can refill the tank from my mixing barrel. It works with a 1/2" barb fitting and hose clamp if your mixing station is hard plumbed to an external pump.

    It has saved me a lot of carrying buckets!
  • Better than a bucket! By Chris on 12/29/2013

    Have had no issues with the plastic inserts and I am currently threading it in and out of my bathroom faucet on a weekly basis.
    Creats descent suction for getting mild algae off your rocks but will clog if anything larger gets sucked in there accidentally.
    Been going on a year now and will buy another if it fails on me. Worth the investment
  • No more buckets for me! By Greg on 6/4/2013

    Easy to use and no more buckets!

    As other reviewers have said...make sure your sink and/or drain can handle the flow. I use a laundry tub for mine, so I have no issues.
  • Fair Value By Jake on 6/3/2013

    Convenient product if your prior method was using a bucket and short hose. However, it falls short of performance when compared to similar products by other manufacturers. Biggest complaint is the plastic tee that screws onto the sink is too weak and will snap after short usage. Second complaint is the hose is rather rigid and doesn't roll up well, it's a soft hose, but not vintage soft. I prefer softer tubing such as in Python's kit. However, Aqueon does have great customer support and will send replacement tee's when they break.
  • I was disappointed By Jeff on 5/2/2013

    I bought the 50' version of this, and was really optimistic. I have a pretty big tank (240 gallons), and was looking forward to avoiding buckets for the huge water changes. However, I found it less than ideal.

    1) It seems really wasteful to flush the fresh water down the drain continuously in order to pull some saltwater out of the tank.
    2) The connector that is used to hook it up to the faucet is really flimsy and is undoubtedly going to fail me in a few months.
    3) Once you have emptied the tank of the water, the 50' of tube is full of waste water and is relatively difficult to empty.

    I would not buy this again. I think I'm going to adopt a cart-based approach that uses a pump instead.
  • Make sure your drain isn't too slow By Travis on 4/1/2013

    This product ended up being a wasted purchase. Nothing was wrong with the item, per se, but my bathroom sink drain is notoriously slow. All the snaking in the world won't make it run faster. This item has the best suction when water is turned all the way on, which continues to overflow the sink. Keep sink location in mind or get the longer hose to open up some drain options.
  • SWMBO likes it By Jeremy on 2/20/2013

    This makes doing a water change so much easier by not having to carry buckets of water across the carpet. I took one star off because of the quality of a couple of the fittings that are used on the system. I still recommend that every one should have one of they just to make this part of life a little more simple.
  • Best investment By Terrance on 12/26/2012

    This is very easy to use. I just hate how fragile the plastic faucet connector is. Be very careful handling it and try not to put excessive pressure on it. I had to superglue some leaks for the connector...

    I still love this product. I now watch TV while doing weekly water changes.
  • Slow By Bill on 11/1/2012

    Seemed to be a bit slowing than doing it manually. I hope its just a loose fitting but I couldn't find anything leaking.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Aqueon Aquarium Water Changer