BRS Mesh Filter Sock with Plastic Ring

Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Using Filter Socks in Your Reef Tank - EP 4: Saltwater Aquarium Maintenance

BRS Mesh Filter Sock with Plastic Ring

91 Review(s)

Choose a size

4” x 8” BRS Mesh Filter Sock with Plastic Ring
SKU: 205904
4” x 14” BRS Mesh Filter Sock with Plastic Ring
SKU: 205900
7” x 16” BRS Mesh Filter Sock with Plastic Ring
SKU: 205902
  • works well By on 10/5/2016

    I started using mesh a few months ago. This material is a bit lighter and thinner than my others, but seems well made. Used and washed a few times now and holding up well..
  • Makes for a lot more work. By on 9/20/2016

    Not impressed at all, I purchased four of these for comparison to traditional felt filter socks. I've been running the felt filter socks for years now. Before I purchased the mesh socks I had very little detritus in the sump. As other reviewers state there is detritus all over the place down there. While these may snag all the big stuff the mesh does not polish the water. The mesh socks simply let more crud pass through than felt socks do. That will collect and build up in the sump. I will toss these into storage for use in an emergency and go back to felt socks.
  • Good sock By on 9/18/2016

    Works great, good price and free delivery.
  • Easy to clean By on 6/7/2016

    Easier to clean than felt sock, so I actually clean it out more offten.
  • My go to filter sock By on 5/8/2016

    These are the only filter socks that I use anymore. They are nice and thick, but are easily turned inside out for cleaning. Very durable.
  • Good mesh sock By on 12/21/2015

    I came from the felt sock world like everyone else, thought I'd try these.

    My tank has a huge bioload with an eel a puffer and a tang, so felt socks clogged after a day. Not these. I like them because it catches the larger particles, and anything smaller probably gets caught by my protein skimmer or whatever. The quality on these is real nice and smooth and shiny too if that makes sense.
  • They work but the felt ones are better By on 12/12/2015

    They work well and if you have issues with your filter socks clogging frequently then I would recommend them. But thy don't collect as much stuff as the felt ones.
  • Outstanding product By on 11/19/2015

    This sock does not clog, is so much easier to clean than felt socks and I have not had any durability issues. I have not noticed any changes in water quality and my tank looks visually the same. I am very pleased with my purchase at BRS.
  • They work well, but not as well as the felt. By on 8/24/2015

    These socks work fine and they don't have to be cleaned as often. The bad part of that is that they also don't catch as much debris. The felt ones are much better at catching debris, but you have to change them more often. It's all about what you are looking for.
  • Please Read Before Buying By on 7/22/2015

    Build quality is excellent so five stars. However, you need to know the following:

    If you want a sock which is easier to clean, takes longer to clog and catches LESS than a 200 micron felt filter sock, you've found the right product. However, if you're looking for a sock which filters the same as or better than a felt filter sock then these aren't the right product.

    I found out the hard way after purchasing a bunch of these that 200 microns apparently isn't 200 microns when comparing mesh socks to felt socks as these socks hardly catch anything and my felt socks clog up in a week.