My Cart (0 items)
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

Calcium Colorimeter HI758 Hanna Checker HC - Marine Water

SKU: 206202


  • Worked like a charm! By Darren on 12/15/2014

    No more "guestimating" when it comes to the life omg saltwater tank. I bought this along with the Alkalinity and Phosphate checker. These gadgets makes it fast, easy and accurate when getting your tank parameters in order. If you love your tank then you'll love these checkers.
  • Hanna checker ki758 By chuck on 12/14/2014

    Using this tester is super easy, good instructions.
  • Inconsistent results, hard to use By John on 12/13/2014

    Even when following the directions exactly, I got inconsistent results. And this checker is very difficult to use compared to other Calcium test kits. I won't be using it very much, if at all.
  • Super accurate if you follow directions By Old Salt on 12/1/2014

    Testing for calcium is not as easy as testing for alkalinity or phosphates with the Hanna checker. But it's not brain surgery either. The keys are to get the right amount of the first reagent (1 mil) and the right amount of tank water (a minuscule .1 mil--maybe two drops or so from the syringe). It also helps to cut the packet of the second reagent down two sides and form a funnel (as shown in the Hanna video about the checker) so that it goes easily into the curvette. I find this process MUCH easier than counting drops and trying to read the the level of the syringe on my Salifert kit. You do need RODI water, but most of us have that around in one form or another. From what I can tell by cross-checking with Salifert, the Hanna test is spot on and far easier to read. Just take your time and follow the directions.
  • Inconsistent readings By Motti on 11/23/2014

    Bought this test kit about a month ago, used is several times and assumed the readings were correct. Last night I tested again for the week and had 100ppm more than what I had a week ago. Nothing was added to the system in the meantime. So I went ahead and did two more tests on the same sample water, and which one gave me different reading.

    It's possible that I am doing something wrong, but I found out I am not the only one who had that issue with the meter.
  • Great purchase if you take the time to use correctly. By Corey on 10/24/2014

    Like others have said, you need to be precise when measuring the reagent and tank water to get accurate results. Because a colorimeter compares the amount of light that passes through the sample to the amount of light that passes through the blank (the cuvette with RODI water and first reagent) to calculate concentration, the cuvette needs to be free of fingerprints and smudges; using a soft, lint-free cloth works great. Also, the cuvette should be placed in the instrument with the same orientation every time to negate inconsistencies with the cuvette and give accurate results. I always have the 10 mL label facing the front, consistency is key. With proper use, this instrument can be a valuable tool.
  • Waste of Money By RSeahorse on 10/24/2014

    It's readings are all over the board. I don't trust it and have gone back to my Salifert test kit.
  • Accurate but a serious PITA By Greg on 9/22/2014

    I found the results accurate assuming you took maximum time and effort into running the test. Quite frankly its just too much of a PITA to do regularly. I find the Red Sea test just as accurate and takes such a shorter time to perform. If they simplified the reagent process it might be fine but having to collect multiple water sources as well as the packets of reagent being a pain just put me in the negative column for this one.
  • Excellent By reefer dog on 9/9/2014

    After reading through the many reviews of this product, I was a bit afraid of trying this product due to the reviews saying it was not accurate.

    I disagreed totally. You just need to take your time and be accurate with your measurements.

    From the very first time I have use this Checker, its readings are within a few numbers of my Red Sea system I was using previously.
  • Only used a few times By David on 7/30/2014

    I just got this checker and so far I've only used it a few times. it was easy to use (no more counting drops) with a little practice it should become second nature to do it. the first few times it takes time just cause you aren't used to it (but that goes with anything else you do). I am a little concerned as to how many test I can get out of the reagents that came with the kit but for now I am good so that bridge will get crossed when it reached.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Calcium Colorimeter HI758 Hanna Checker HC - Marine Water