Calcium Colorimeter HI758 Hanna Checker - Marine Water

Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

Calcium Colorimeter HI758 Hanna Checker - Marine Water

SKU: 206202
Performance
114 Review(s)
$49.00
Please wait...
OR
  • Works as advertised By on 9/17/2016

    I haven’t run into any of the issues the others have. I can perform this test in a couple of min. and it’s accurate. I’ve compared it to other tests (even Triton Labs) and it has been within a few points. I’ve also have not seen inconsistencies between tests.
    I prefer this much more than trying to read colors
  • Not accurate By on 8/29/2016

    This test takes almost as long as using titration via Red Sea's test and seems to read higher than Red Sea (60-80ppm higher). The sample size of tank water 0.1ml is way to small. if your off by a drop, your readings are skewed. I love their Alkalinity checker though!!!
  • Different results, same water, minutes apart By on 8/27/2016

    Results extremely high, retested for accuracy, got different high readings everytime. Not what I was expecting from a digital test. Was expecting to trust digital reading, not if the same water has different results from testing and retesting for accuracy and extremely high numbers in the 500
  • Very inconsistent readings render this checker useless. By on 8/17/2016

    I use quality ro/di water (with 0 tds) and am very meticulous in the testing process. I have been wondering why I was having difficulty stabilizing the calcium levels in my tank. Today, I decided to repeat the testing to insure consistency. Three identical tests within 15 minutes yielded calcium levels of 334, 496 and 429. Problem solved - These wildly varying results are completely unaccepable and render the checker useless. Called Hanna and they want me to use their DI water for testing and are sending a "more accurate" syringe....
  • What junk By on 7/19/2016

    Can not get two results within 75-100 ppm. Contacted Hanna, we will see if they will back their product. It must be defective? I don't believe I'm that stupid or am I????
  • While I would recommend this checker it is much more cumbersome than the alkalinity checker By on 6/23/2016

    Since this checker requires dilution and two reagents its much more difficult than the ultra simple alkalinity checker. One of the biggest issues is the powder reagent. you have to cut 3/4 of the packet and bend it in a certain way to make sure the entire contents come out into the test vial without spilling. there have been a number of times where I spilled some and rather than risking a bad reading I just started over.
  • Bottom line, I want speed and accuracy. This fails on both By on 6/14/2016

    Fact is there are much easier Calcium test on the market. I was hoping for the same ease of use as the Alk and this test let me down. Too many variables to screw up if not exactly precise. The packets of reagent are annoying. Bottom line, it's a slow test, easy to get a bad reading and for $50 fell terrible short. I can use the API test and get my Calcium reading in 2 min for half the price. I will not use this test kit again.
  • Hanna By on 6/1/2016

    I have read the reviews here and I think a lot of the bad reviews is operator error, if you take the time to make sure the testing vile is cleaned out every time and rinsed with RODI water, and testing is done with good RODI water you will find this kit works well!
  • Results within range of accuracy By on 5/2/2016

    Although the Kh tester is much easier and straight forward this guy is a little trickier. The trickiest part of all is the reagent pouches that have to be emptied and I suspect that's the biggest factor of error. A lot of people complain about it's readings but the kit does say " ±6% of reading" which means that for a reading of 420 ppm the error is ±25 ppm. I find that acceptable since titration tests are hard to read especially for my eyes. All in all, the only thing I would suggest changing is the dispensing of the solid reagent.
  • Questionable accuracy By on 4/25/2016

    While I LOVE the Hanna Alkalinity tester - I have issues with the Calcium tester.

    I ALWAYS test 2-3 times and will usually get 2-3 different results - sometimes VERY different.
    Which means I am going through the reagent very fast.

    It IS easier than the Red Sea kit but, If you don't get consistent results then you can't trust it. And if you can't trust it then why even bother.