Calcium Colorimeter HI758 Hanna Checker - Marine Water

Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

Calcium Colorimeter HI758 Hanna Checker - Marine Water

SKU: 206202
Performance
109 Review(s)
$49.00
Please wait...
OR
  • While I would recommend this checker it is much more cumbersome than the alkalinity checker By on 6/23/2016

    Since this checker requires dilution and two reagents its much more difficult than the ultra simple alkalinity checker. One of the biggest issues is the powder reagent. you have to cut 3/4 of the packet and bend it in a certain way to make sure the entire contents come out into the test vial without spilling. there have been a number of times where I spilled some and rather than risking a bad reading I just started over.
  • Bottom line, I want speed and accuracy. This fails on both By on 6/14/2016

    Fact is there are much easier Calcium test on the market. I was hoping for the same ease of use as the Alk and this test let me down. Too many variables to screw up if not exactly precise. The packets of reagent are annoying. Bottom line, it's a slow test, easy to get a bad reading and for $50 fell terrible short. I can use the API test and get my Calcium reading in 2 min for half the price. I will not use this test kit again.
  • Hanna By on 6/1/2016

    I have read the reviews here and I think a lot of the bad reviews is operator error, if you take the time to make sure the testing vile is cleaned out every time and rinsed with RODI water, and testing is done with good RODI water you will find this kit works well!
  • Results within range of accuracy By on 5/2/2016

    Although the Kh tester is much easier and straight forward this guy is a little trickier. The trickiest part of all is the reagent pouches that have to be emptied and I suspect that's the biggest factor of error. A lot of people complain about it's readings but the kit does say " ±6% of reading" which means that for a reading of 420 ppm the error is ±25 ppm. I find that acceptable since titration tests are hard to read especially for my eyes. All in all, the only thing I would suggest changing is the dispensing of the solid reagent.
  • Questionable accuracy By on 4/25/2016

    While I LOVE the Hanna Alkalinity tester - I have issues with the Calcium tester.

    I ALWAYS test 2-3 times and will usually get 2-3 different results - sometimes VERY different.
    Which means I am going through the reagent very fast.

    It IS easier than the Red Sea kit but, If you don't get consistent results then you can't trust it. And if you can't trust it then why even bother.
  • Incredibly Useless By on 4/16/2016

    I hate titration, but this test wins. First it was wildly inaccurate, probably because you need a full lab with bright lights, deionized water, and a way to empty the packet without spilling or breathing, and get it in a hole the size of a pencil. Return to sender this thing sucks. The test showed 200, red sea daily tests show 390. If they could find a way to dispense the packet, the show scissors cutting around it entirely like you would empty it into a stainless mixing tray with a pour spout or something. Then the syringe is barely readable except under metal halides. Ya, do not waste your money on this one. I love their KH though.
  • Not accurate or consistent. By on 4/13/2016

    I had high hopes that this kit would make testing easier. I even bought another Hanna checker before this one even arrived. First, I've been reef keeping for nearly 20 years.

    I checked against two other test kits, both Salifert. Both kits said 390 +-6 over 2 tests each. Hanna said 361, then 470. That makes this test kit useless.

    Hanna, if you can fix the accuracy and consistency, I have a few suggestions. First, the packets are ok, but a scoop works just fine for me on the Salifert kits. For current users: I figured out quickly that opening the packet with scissors across one side then open it wide to form a nice sharp point makes is easy to get into the vial.

    I don't like the dropper to get the DI water into the vial. I remember high school/college chemistry. So, I knew to put the line at the half bubble of the water. A 10ml syringe would make that step easy. And possibly more accurate?

    Lastly, I'm only 44 so my eyes are still pretty good, but the instructions are in 2pt font. The box is big enough that I think a bigger font would easily fit in the box... and be kinder to the user.

    Rick
  • Checks calcium, no better than others By on 3/14/2016

    It's expensive and cool. It works, but my Red Sea test is actually more accurate and the testing process is nearly identical.
    Now that I have it and compare the two side by side, I regret buying it. I'm not bashing Hanna Checkers, I would love to get more, but this one is one I will be selling because I won't be using it.
  • Spend more time enjoying your REEF & LESS time testing By on 3/1/2016

    I have used API, and Red Sea in the past.I found Red Sea to be pretty accurate but this one gives the the exact reading which I would rather have then trying to figure what it is with Red Sea. I feel that with this testers, you can enjoy your reef tank more. I am going to get as many Hanna testers that I can get but will still have no choice to use some with Red Sea, which is fine with me.
  • Great Tool By on 1/6/2016

    The Hanna Checker is a great investment. It is so much easier to use than test kits. I have been using it while setting up my dosing system and testing it against a Salfert test kit, I have stopped with the kit and rely on the hanna checker.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Calcium Colorimeter HI758 Hanna Checker - Marine Water