My Cart (0 items)
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

Bubble Magus BM-NAC9
Cone Protein Skimmer

SKU: 210109


  • Okay By Adam on 6/13/2014

    It has done great on my 150 gallon. But build quality is lacking the the skimmer is almost impossible to disassemble for a clean after 9 month.

    In it's defense nitrate are always under 5ppm. Usually under 1ppm on my 150gallon.
  • Avoid By Dennis on 12/30/2013

    Plugged in the skimmer and it started producing thick skimmate within a hour. Pump was making a lot of noise. After 6 hours of use it stopped working because the needle wheel impeller broke in half. Contacted BRS and was told to contact their distributor, Seaside Aquatics. Emailed Tom at Seaside Aquatics. He was very nice and understanding. He shipped me another needle wheel impeller by priority mail. Replaced the impeller and started with skimmer again. Four hours later the replacement impeller broke into two pieces. $399 wasted and All I have is a non-working skimmer. Seaside aquatics informed me that it is no longer going to warranty this skimmer after December 2013. Does that tell you what the distributor thinks of this skimmer.
  • Lowdest pice of equipment I have I will not be keeping it I can hear the pump across the house with the cabinet closed By Gomer on 9/22/2013

    This will be sold imidiately. The pump on this is so loud I can hear it from anyplace in my house with the cabinet closed. I can not comment on performance as I couldn't stand to let it run more than a couple of hours.
  • addendum to prior review By dru on 4/2/2013

    I took the skimmer apart again, thinking something just had to be wrong with the pump for it to make such a clatter. I found a cracked rubber end piece on the impeller shaft as well as a warped impeller.The distributor sent me another impeller assembly and while not noiseless by any means, the noise is reduced by about 75%.It still pulls huge amounts of protein waste.
  • Nac 9 By Connie on 3/26/2013

    Love it, love it, love it.....
  • a conversation stopper By dru on 3/19/2013

    My NAC 9 has been up and running on a newly cycling 180 gallon reef for one week. It sounds like a buzz saw. So loud that conversation stops. I took it apart to examine the impeller which seemed fine. My conversation with the distributor informed me that the skimmer is advertised as loud and noisy. Funny, I don't recall see those ads. Other than that it draws huge amounts of water and air and produces volumes of skimmate. If not for that I would give it a zero star
  • dont buy this without ear plugs included By ripped-off on 11/29/2012

    terrible pump - impeller failed within first 30 days. Pump is so loud I can only run it at night.
  • Couldn't be happier By Lysle on 11/11/2012

    I had a aqua c skimmer and I had no idea how bad it was doing until I got this one and turned it on. With in 24 hours it looked like a new tank. So far the best purchase I've made for my tank and I have spent a ton.
  • Very pleased By Steven on 9/14/2012

    I bought this for my 320 FOWLR tank. Normally there is a one to two week break in for skimmers, but after just an hour this thing was producing some very fine bubbles and working great. Love this and the price as well.
  • Pump shorted out after two weeks By Joel on 6/11/2012

    I had this skimmer running on my tank and it was working great and pulling lots of crud. However, after just two weeks the pump malfunctioned. It tripped the GFCI breaker (and continues to do so every time it's plugged in) shutting off power to the tank, and will not run if plugged into a non-GFCI breaker. At the usual evening feeding time I was welcomed by a tank full of dead coral and fish.

    If the pump hadn't died, I'd probably be giving it five stars right now. It worked great and the price is good. Customer service responded quickly to my pump issue. Everything I'd read about BM skimmer seemed positive. However, with only two weeks on the pump before it stopped working and probably well over a thousand dollars in dead livestock I can't give this a good review, nor would I recommend this skimmer to anyone.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Bubble Magus BM-NAC9 Cone Protein Skimmer