My Cart (0 items)
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

Reef Octopus Biopellet Reactor

  • GOOD By MIKE on 11/5/2014

    GOOD PRODUCT!
  • I like it By danny on 7/31/2014

    I have the BR-110 & i like the cone shape bottom which helps churn the pellets and helps the water flow easier. Its easy to disassemble for adding bio pellets & cleaning.
  • Measurably Nitrate Reduction By Eldog on 6/9/2014

    Previous review written at 7 weeks of reactor operation yielded negligible nitrate reduction with 3- 5 PPM measurable nitrate in 300 gal. total volume reef system, (Tank 3 yrs old). Measures taken in week 18 revealed no detectable nitrates. All other feeding, water changes, and tank inhabitants have not changed. My assumption is that this system needs at least 3 months of biological maturation to achieve. Algal growths diminished appreciably. I am a big advocate of this system for nitrate control, but patience is necessary.
  • Poor Circulation By Timothy on 5/8/2014

    This reactor was simple to setup. The pellet churned rapidly when first set up. Flow appeared to only come out one side of the nozzle. After 5 months of operation, the pellets have stopped moving. I have been using a 720 g/h pump since the start. I changed pumps thinking it was the pump. No deal. I pull the in put tube from the unit and made sure it was clear. I stirred the pellets to make sure they were not clumped. They were not. It appears to be an issue with the reactor. Getting this unit back together after servicing was a bear. You have to push the supply tube down through the pellets. I would definitely go with a bigger pump.
  • As Advertised By Elliott on 4/16/2014

    The functionality of this unit is exactly as advertised. Set -up is simple. I would certainly advocate for a 900 gal. or more pump with throttle valving. The bioballs tumble nicely making a soft hissing sound. I have been running this unit for 7 weeks now on a 230 gal reef and have not measured any significant drop in nitrate, (3-4 ppm). Higher nitrate laden systems may see a more tangible drop, but for reef tanks, I'm not sure this is the answer for a negligible total nitrate goal. The build and mechanical workings however are well made and perform as advertised.
  • Great unit - Simple and it works By JTG on 4/3/2014

    Unit does exactly what is it supposed to do, is easy to install, and easy to maintain. I have so far been impressed with the Reef Octopus line of products (also have a protein skimmer) - with the exception of the quality of the documentation (minimal to non-existent). In this case, that was not an issue as there is very little to document. Connect the inbound hose from the pump, the outbound hose, load media, turn on, and adjust flow - then leave it alone. Strongly suggest a flow control valve between pump and unit to allow tuning of flow for optimal "churn." Really the only product suggestion I would have is to add an integral flow valve on the unit - similar to the Vertex media reactors.
  • Good Construction By John on 12/28/2013

    I just got this reactor and it feels very sturdy. The check valve is also great because this way the biopellets can't get siphoned out of the reactor. Overall I am very happy.
  • Great By Nicks the reefer on 9/19/2013

    Blight this reactor cause I had enough with that two fishes cheep stuff first of all two fishes reactor simply badly design for pellets those two nets that come with reactor kit won't make two fishes reactor work properly Anywat this Reef octopus outstanding product pellets tumbling great no clogs everything working as it supose to I just sorry I did not buy this product in the first time bought that two fishes cr..p that is so bad Anywat Reef Octpus definitely buy work great
  • it works good. could be better By Dustin on 3/31/2013

    turns the pellets well but its a pain to get ot out from under the tank for matinance or rffil unless u have some quick disconct.on the screen at the top will clog up,but not for quit some time.mabey u can set up better then I did but its a quality product been running for over a year and no leaks and nothing has broke on it
  • Works great By Migity1 on 3/30/2013

    After purchasing this to replace my "old" reactor, that I had to take apart about once a week to clean this is a dream. Never gets clogged and is a snap to disassemble to clean. Couldn't be happier.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Reef Octopus Biopellet Reactor