Aqua Illumination Sol LED Mounting Rails

AI Sol LED Mouting Rails with Legs
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • AI Sol LED Mouting Rails with Legs
  • AI Sol LED Mounting Rails with Hanging Kit (Sold Separately)

Aqua Illumination Sol LED Mounting Rails

9 Review(s)

Choose a size

12” Aqua Illumination LED Mounting Rails
SKU: 204436
24” Aqua Illumination LED Mounting Rails
SKU: 204437
36” Aqua Illumination LED Mounting Rails
SKU: 204438
48” Aqua Illumination LED Mounting Rails
SKU: 204439
60” Aqua Illumination LED Mounting Rails
SKU: 204440
72” Aqua Illumination LED Mounting Rails
SKU: 204441
  • Excellent 2512 By Stu on 10/8/2015

  • great idea, poor design By Randy on 9/28/2015

    I am mounting this on an 18" wide tank. I had to buy 24" rails and cut them to 18". Then I lost the threading in the end for the end pieces. So I had to tap some threads into it again. I'm also mounting the Hydra 26 using the two bolt method mentioned in another review. Seems to be the best way to get light fixture tight on mounting rails. I only recommend this if you want to avoid hanging lights from the ceiling or wall, and you have a little time and patience.
  • Works okay By Christian on 5/5/2015

    I don't have a way to hang my 2 Hydra 26's over my tank so I had to go with the classic mounting rails. Like other reviews said, the screw holding the lights in is an absolute awful design. It works though
  • Works like it says if you can figure out the trick By Wylderhoads on 4/4/2015

    I don't have a way to hang my light, and my tank doesn't allow for an overhang single bar, so I went with this classic rails. My only major issue is the terrible design of the screw holding method used to get the hydra52 onto the rails securely. It takes some creativity, but I figured out a way to use each rail as a sort of screw lever to get the fixture set solid on both rails without moving. I think they could have done a MUCH better job with this design, but I guess it does what it's supposed to do well, If you can employ some tricks. Doesn't look terrible, but now I'm considering a hood.
  • Functional and stable By William on 11/7/2014

    While this works for my tank, I think it could have been designed a little better. When mounting the Hydras to the rail, it takes a bit to get everything even and not too loose/too tight. They also do not slide very well on the rails.

    It would also be nice if the legs were adjustable.
  • Not readily compatible with hydra 52 By Matt on 9/30/2014

    So when I went to slide the lights into the rails the screws had no happy medium, either they were too loose or too tight.( the light would move freely and not sit straight or too tight and it would not slide into position at all) Being a DIY guy I figured out that if I used a 2" long screw with a nut and washer backed up to both the rail and the hydra it works fine. There is a 1" gap between the hydra and the rail system but this method allows you to freely slide the light into position and lock it into place. It was a pain to find all the hardware because it is all metric, had to go to 2 hardware stores. If I remember correctly it was a #8 bolt x 2" long. You need 2 of these per hydra 52. Then you need 4 nuts, 2 tiny washers and 4 fender washers.
    I used a tiny washer on the head of the bolt to keep it snug, up in the rail. If you can find a pan head bolt that won't fall through the rail slot, these are not necessary. However I could not.
    Installation Instructions
    1.) First you need to figure out your light spacing.
    2.) Next you put on two washers; one tiny and 1 fender style, a nut, another nut, and a fender washer onto a bolt.
    3.) Next you will thread the bolt into the hydra until it bottoms out. ( I used a tape measure to make sure they were all threaded in evenly because this will make certain your lights are even when they are mounted next to each other.
    4.) Next you tighten down the bottom nut and washer tight to the hydra 52.
    5.) Next you slide the bolt head and tiny washer into the rail slide notch on both sides. Once you have the hydra 52 into position you then tighten the nut and washer up against the rail on both sides.
    I am very happy with how it looks but it took a few hours to get it to my satisfaction. If it's going to hang above my tank it has to look nice!
    In my opinion a 70$ light rail should be plug and play. This is why only 2 stars. Also if you plan on using the mounting legs they wouldn't fit over the bracing on my tank...FYI.
    I hope this review will help others with their install.
  • Not for Hydra 52's By Ken on 9/1/2014

    I jpurchased these for my Hydra 52's and they wouldn't work at all. I finally "rigged" them so they would hold the lights.
  • simple By hans24hrs on 2/13/2014

    The rail system was easy to put together and very light weight. Only thing I would change is the end caps seemed a little flimsy, could have used a stronger/thicker plastic or metal.
  • Good Quality Product By Jim on 7/9/2013

    I had purchased (3) Aqua Illumination Hydra LED Modules for my 150 gallon reef tank. The mounting rails are high quality aluminum, the ends are plastic, but durable. The reason I only give it 4 stars is, I already payed out $1200 for the lights and another $65 for the(48") rail system. Then I needed to order the hanging kit to install it all. I think for the money, the rail system should include the hanging kit. Just make sure you don't purchase the wrong kit. I ordered the EXT Kit instead of the Rail Mounting Kit. But I would recommend this product.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Aqua Illumination Sol LED Mounting Rails