VorTech MP20/MP40w Foam Guards (3 Pack) - EcoTech Marine

Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

VorTech MP20/MP40w Foam Guards (3 Pack) - EcoTech Marine

SKU: 300236
Performance
12 Review(s)
$12.00
Please wait...
OR
  • PROS AND CONS By on 11/19/2016

    LIKE PREVIOUS PEOPLE HAVE MENTIONED THESE DO COME OFF THE PUMP AFTER A WHILE BUT ONLY AFTER GETTING SO HEAVY FROM DEBREE THAT THE EXTRA WEIGHT PULLS IT OFF. I SEE THIS AS A PRO. THESE LITTLE BUGGERS PULL ALOT MORE WASTE FROM THE WATER THAN I EXPECTED. MY ORIGINAL THOUGHT WAS USING THEM TO KEEP CRITTERS OUT BUT NOW ITS BECOME PART OF MY ROUTINE MAINTANCE. SHUT PUMPS DOWN BEFORE REMOVING THE FOAM PAD TOBPREVENT DEBREE TO BEING RETURNED INTO TANK. I SLOWLY PULL OFF THE PAD AND HAVE NO PROBLEMS. CONS ARE FOR HOW MUCH THEY COST I WOULD LIKE A MORE DURABLE FEELING PRODUCT
  • Life Nets By on 3/24/2015

    I raise Bubble Anemones and was initially running my circulaters without guards . Bubbles occasionally wonder the tank , exploring new locations . On one night exploration , I lost a Rose anemone to being sucked into my Vortech . Since than I have never used the pump without a foam guard and have not lost another Rose .
  • meh By on 2/23/2015

    2 things, first, it's a foam gaurd, made of... foam. So it's pretty straight forward. But it slips off eventually so what I would like to see is some little plastic hook like protrusions on the wet side so you can hook it in and not have to put rubber bands around it to keep it in place either from water current or from fish picking at it. Second, I mainly only use this to keep snails out of my pump, but they could prevent this by making the front wetside gaurd with smaller openings. But oh well the quite version is out and it has none of this.
  • Have to have these By on 11/5/2014

    You gotta have extras! If you own a Vortech always keep a few guards because they fit and are worth the headache of always having these handy!
  • Ok but accumulates detritus By on 1/20/2014

    I used one for about a week and it started sliding off the powerhead. Also it was filled with a ton of detritus which all came off when I tried to adjust it or remove it. I still have two more so I'll see how they go now that my messy puffer was given away.
  • Not very complicated By on 12/18/2013

    A piece of foam that fits well over the pump. The only downside I see is that it acts as a filter and picks up debris. But the trade-off is that it protects your animals from getting shredded, so its worth it.
  • Outstanding By on 7/28/2013

    Keeps my anemones from commuting suicide. They work great and last a long time. No complaints and the price is right!
  • Does exactly what it is supposed to do By on 5/30/2013

    Perfect fit and last through many washes.
  • The Sleeve fits like a glove. By on 5/4/2013

    These are great and I get 10 reuses out of them. Great protection for your ornamental shrimp from getting in the pump.
  • No Complaints By on 3/6/2013

    Added an anemone. Added these foam guards. Slipped right on. Case closed!