My Cart (0 items)
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

10” Refillable Biopellet Cartridge for use with the BRS Biopellet Reactor

SKU: 221000


  • Same design as carbon GFO By Rey on 11/5/2013

    I have the GFO Carbon reactor. Order a second one to use with the bio pellet cartridge. The bio pellet cartridge is exactly the same as the GFO cartridge. The only difference is that the bio pellets replacement cartridge does not include the foam. Therefore be smart, get the GFO and take the foam out. Also the mj1200 moves the pellets at maximum settings ok but not great. I ordered the aquaclear 70 and can adjust the flow in the power head itself if needed. Much better than the cobalt IMO.
  • Good product By Shawn on 11/5/2013

    I purchased four of these cartridges as a replacement to the original spectrapure ones for my reactor. These cartridges have much higher flow rate than the spectrapure and seem like they'd unclog much easier. With nice fat sponges underneath your media I doubt they'd ever clog. When these ones break or are too stained to use I'll buy them again for sure.
  • Stick with the old style cartridge By Justin on 3/31/2013

    I switched from the old style cartridge to this one, I ran this with a maxi jet 1200 though it would clog up after a couple of days. I ended up switching back to the old style and that works much better for me, it takes a lot longer to clog up and the foam requires less pressure from the pump.

    I did notice that the screen didn't let much water through compared to the old foam style. Though I don't believe that I should have to modify it even though the thought crossed my mind. I ended up buying a different reactor for my biopellets.
  • Makes quick changes By joel on 11/27/2012

    If you already have a reactor or two like me buy the extras. It is SO much easier to fill a clean dry reactor than to fill a wet used reactor. I fill the tubes unscrew the old, load the new and screw back on. That way the tank is down only a couple minutes and I can clean the pads and tubes then air dry them for the next time. I use them for carbon and GFO. I use a special tumbler for bio pellets so I can not comment on the bio pellets.
  • Works well By turtleghand on 10/6/2012

    I got this for my BRS GFO / Carbon dual reactor. I'm am using an old Maxijet 1200 to push the reactor without any issues. Although I was able to get bio pellets to tumble fairly well in the stock cartridge, this replacement cartridge is able to handle a lot more pellets with a lot less mess. I have not yet had to perform the modification mentioned in other reviews, but time will tell. I will probably order another one of these canisters soon because it looks like I have enough flow now to run both reactors full of pellets.
  • Make the mods By Michael on 6/11/2012

    This is a great and cheap way to add bio pellets if you already have the gf/carbon reactors,,,listen to others and make the mods it will save you big trouble down the road
  • dissapointed By Pete on 3/8/2012

    AS others have stated this product easily clogs up because of the tiny slits that are at the top of the cartridge....it was working fine for first few weeks and outta nowhere my tank was covered in cyano well little did i no i look at my pellet reactor n the pellets were not tumbling at all because the film had clogged up the slits, i lost a few hundred dollars in coral and i also emailed BRS about this hole situation and I havent gotten a response at all....I reallly love this site but im dissapointed in the fact that they literallly did nothing for me about this, not even an email back!! i should not have to buy something then have to go DIY modify it, i expect it to have been tested and assured of its functioning...BRS blew it on this one, i just hope they can have the decency to return my email
  • Great, if you make a simple modification By Joe on 2/20/2012

    As others have said, the "screen" on these is so tiny that it easily clogs with bacteria or sump debris, making the reactors useless. It's simple to fix this--just take a small cutting pliers and remove every other "row" of plastic. You need to see the cartridge to know what I'm talking about, but basically you're going to free up ~1/2 of the plastic material on the bottom and top "screen" parts of the reactor. This will allow much greater water flow, letting you tumble the biopellets much more easily and still not making the screen so big that the biopellets can escape the reactor. If you do this mod, these will be the best cartridges ever to run biopellets in your existing BRS reactors. Hope this helps!
  • Flaw desgin By dangit2001 on 9/25/2011

    It was working great for the first 3 days, then the screens would clog with bacteria. BRS states that it can be used with maxi-jet 1200 which is what i ordered. Pump is not strong enough to keep the screens from getting clogged. You would need a stronger pump. Disappointed with BRS, I use there videos as a reference and felt that they know what they are doing. Also according to their return policy, the item can not be returned because it has been used. Buyers, if you are going to go with a reactor to use with your biopellets I would choose a different one.
  • Nice Product for Bio-Pellets By MICHAEL on 8/25/2011

    I use this cartridge on my Dual BRS GFO and Carbon Reactor. It is very easy to install and replace the bio-pellets. My only complaint is that I find myself adjusting the flow pretty frequently to get the bio-pellets to tumble correctly.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: 10” Refillable Biopellet Cartridge for use with the BRS Biopellet Reactor