Reef Octopus Classic 2000 Hang-on-the-Back Protein Skimmer

Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

Reef Octopus Classic 2000 Hang-on-the-Back Protein Skimmer

SKU: 204059
Performance
49 Review(s)
$229.99
Please wait...
OR
  • Good Skimmer! By Kraydune13 on 5/27/2015

    Good skimmer, was a bit to get started, had tons of microbubbles, but they settled down in about a week. After that its been no trouble.
  • Great Skimmer! By OPSELITES on 3/12/2015

    This is one of the easiest to clean skimmer I have so far. Although, it's a lot larger than I had imagined it to be! It works like a charm. Skims tons of waste from my tank. All my corals love it, it also doesn't create tons of extra flow in my tank like other skimmers do for a HOB skimmer. I am glad I got this for my tank. Thanks for quick shipping BRS! you're awesome!
  • Works great, after it breaks in By Alex on 2/5/2015

    This baby works like a well oiled machine... after it breaks in! Mine didn't produce anything at all for at least the first 24 hours, probably closer to 30ish... and even then it was very minimal. I was a bit concerned, but everything I read said to let it break in. Sure enough, it took a week and it really kicked in. Now it produces a lot of nasty green skim, I would definitely buy this again.
  • Where's the instruction? By Ted on 1/8/2015

    BRS asked me to review this product even though I've had this product for almost a week. It looks like it's got good quality parts although there are no step by step instructions how to assemble it. There is a small diagram of an exploded view of the parts list which is slightly helpful. The collection box on top allows water to creep up the side wall. These little bubbles that creep up pop and eventually create a drop of water which runs down the outside of the filter and drip off the bottom. I'm still trying to fine tune this filter but I think I'll eventually be happy with it. It's already pulling out nasty junk from the water.
  • Excellent product! By Jo on 11/17/2014

    I was a little concerned that it would be difficult to set up after reading other reviews but it was super easy. Started pulling gunk out within a few hours and my tank never looked so good. No micro-bubbles at all. Love it!!!
  • a good skimmer By matthew on 8/23/2014

    Best hang on skimmer I have ever had. I have had it for over a year and it pulls out so much " ". When you go to clean it the scum will be thick and smell horrible.
  • superb skimmer By little reef big coral on 7/22/2014

    Awesome. Deserves 5 stars even with the horrible instructions. wow someone wrote a comment they only clean theirs out once a month.
  • bad equipment By willie on 7/20/2014

    Don't waste your money it will after a few months
  • A BEAST By C Covington on 7/12/2014

    I've used many brands/types of protein skimmers over the years. This one hands down is the most powerful and efficiently designed that I've ever run across. Installation was easy (and leak free) and it started pulling gunk out of my tank within hours after power up. Highly recommended.
  • Great product! By Stephane on 5/1/2014

    I'm new to reefing and i don't have a 'sophisticated' setup with sump or anything like that. I needed a skimmer for my 75gallon and after a lot of internet searching i went with this one.

    I've had it for about 4months now and the only complaint i really have with it is that i had to turn it off twice. once because it got so mucky inside i it was overflowing. so properly cleaning it every month or so helped. bare in mind my tank was still new and settling in so i had algae growing in the skimmer. the other time is when i put some redslime remover to clear the Cyanobacteria bloom i had. A few water changes and i was good to go.

    Overall it's really quiet compared to other models i've seen in person at my LFS (hang on back skimmers). it certainly does the job! within a few minutes of having it on i can start to see the 'crap' thats in my water being skimmed out.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Reef Octopus Classic 2000 Hang-on-the-Back Protein Skimmer