My Cart (0 items)
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

Reef Octopus BH1000
Hang-on-the-Back Protein Skimmer

SKU: 204058


  • BH1000 By SM6 on 4/14/14

    The BH1000 is currently on my 36 gallon bowfront and the gunk it pulls out of the water is amazing. My water became clear and made my tank look crisp.

    The skimmer works well and the collection cup easy easy to clean.

    The only downsides to this skimmer would be micro bubbles getting into the tank. However, with some adjusting of the bubble guard sponges they give you, you can eliminate this problem for the most part. You can also cause the skimmer to overflow if you pack too many sponges by the outlet pipe, so just keep an eye on that when tweaking.

    The instructions are helpful and it is easy to set up. Looks very clean and aesthetic. I am very pleased with this purchase. Amazingly super fast shipping. Definitely don't mind doing business here!
  • Great product! By zacuarium on 4/2/14

    First protein skimmer. Everything I wanted in a skimmer. Easy to use and really does the job. Instructions are lacking, but everything else is great!
  • Worth every penny By Newbee on 3/26/14

    Great skimmer vary quit and all around great skimmer the instructions are horrible but if u pull up reef octopus bh 100o on youtube there are plenty of videos to help you out easy set up
  • Worth the money By VeganForLife on 3/22/14

    My old octo protein skimmer crapped out on me and after chats/emails to you folks, I ordered this. It even arrived ahead of schedule. Easy to put together, having had one similar; although you maybe ought to do a video about that? W/in 2 hours it was pulling skim-mate out of my tank. Of course I had to christen it in by not having the connection to the pump totally tight, and it started leaking there, but that seems to be how things work sometimes. :)
    I highly recommend this. I have a 72 gal. bowfront reef tank. I also highly recommend Bulk Reef Supply. You all have convinced me you only sell top quality products. Anything I've gotten from you has been excellent.
    Thanks!
  • Great skimmer By Scott on 3/21/14

    Bought this skimmer for my 55 mixed. Couldn't be happier with my purchase. Great product and packaged very well as usual from BRS. I needed a HOB skimmer due to not running a sump. After reading other reviews and comparing other products, my decision to buy this one was made. Very glad I did.
  • Best Skimmer Period By dvs on 3/14/14

    My first skimmer I purchased was a junky budget skimmer thinking I could save some money, I ended up breaking the skimmer. I took that as a sign to get something of quality mainly because everyone emphasizing to me NOT to skimp on the protein skimmer. I took the advice of everyone and purchased this bad boy, the quality, functionality, and performance is unparallelled to anything I could have hope for. Took out half a cup full of dark nasty gunk within a few hours of setting up. Definitely recommend this product to anyone in the market for a high quality protein skimmer.
  • Great By art926 on 3/12/14

    Works great! The pump is really good, very high quality.
  • Really pulls out gunk By AR on 3/5/14

    I bought this for a 55 gallon I set up recently. It was pulling out dark brown nasty stuff within 2 hours. Instructions on set-up leave a bit to be desired but its 90 percent put together in the box.
  • Best HOB Unit Ive Come Across So Far By Phil on 2/26/14

    Since receiving mine, it has been running and skimming its little pump out! The design is great but there is one thing I would offer to customers using this for a refugium, and that's a long intake pipe seems how they are metric and not standard. Only complaint but with some quick thinking, problem solved!
  • Warning to all that order this product By Josh T on 2/14/14

    I recently ordered the bh 1000 from this site. I arrived yesterday. The box that it came in was labeled bh 1000. What actually came in the box was the bh 100. Bulk reef supply said that I would to be able to return this skimmer because it is used. I would have not taken the skimmer out of the box if the box said bh 100, but the box said bh 1000. The first couple of e-mails I sent were responded to pretty quickly. Now the replies have stopped. Guess I'm out of luck right?

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Reef Octopus BH1000 Hang-on-the-Back Protein Skimmer