My Cart (0 items)
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

Reef Octopus BH1000
Hang-on-the-Back Protein Skimmer

SKU: 204058


  • Can't get much better for a Mid to Upper size "Nano" By Chris on 8/13/2014

    Picked this up for my 29 gallon, choosing to go a few models up to keep the pump out of the tank and was glad I did. Great constriction, and clear so there is minimal visual impact. Super easy to set up even though mine was missing instructions. I wish there was more pipe lengths and suggestions for levels to put them at rather than trimming the existing ones, but a quick youtube search helps along with trial and error. Just make sure the return is high enough or you will get it to overflow on startup. After the setup, I was impressed how quickly if started to work. It was only a few days before it was pulling some really nasty gunk. Adjustments are wonderfully simple. One you have it dialed in there are little to no micro bubbles in the display, minor bubble spray, and a small piece of foam in the return pipe chamber further limits them. Quite quiet, just the minimal fizzing noise. I doubt I would be happier with ant other skimmer in the category.
  • Great Product By Harry on 7/18/2014

    I am new to reefing and BRS was very helpful in my choice. I have a 36 gallon bow front and it starting pulling gunk out within a couple of hours. It was packaged well an very easy to set up, however as previous people posted, I did have to cut down the intake tube. Very happy with this well built skimmer and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quality skimmer.
  • works perfectly! very happy. By derty kurty on 6/17/2014

    New to reefing and skimmers. i finally decidrd on this, after hours of research. It was easy to set up. I didnt find the instructions hard to understand at all like the reviews said. It didnt say where to set the collection cup but i just kept an eye on it for a while. I keep the bottom of the collection tube right at the top edge of the little overflow hole. Its doing its job very well, i dump half cups of yellow, stinky crap daily. Oh, shipping was fast as well, 3 days to missouri. Thanks brs.
  • Does what you need it to By Jennifer on 6/3/2014

    I do not have the set up or room on my main display tank to have a sump. so a HOB skimmer was pretty much my only option. this thing does deliver it pulls plenty out though I do set mine to run pretty wet. I found some good vids on Youtube that helped me set it up. the intake plumbing is a bit too low to actually skim the surface, so you might want to cut it down to size before you set it up. great buy
  • BH1000 By SM6 on 4/14/2014

    The BH1000 is currently on my 36 gallon bowfront and the gunk it pulls out of the water is amazing. My water became clear and made my tank look crisp.

    The skimmer works well and the collection cup easy easy to clean.

    The only downsides to this skimmer would be micro bubbles getting into the tank. However, with some adjusting of the bubble guard sponges they give you, you can eliminate this problem for the most part. You can also cause the skimmer to overflow if you pack too many sponges by the outlet pipe, so just keep an eye on that when tweaking.

    The instructions are helpful and it is easy to set up. Looks very clean and aesthetic. I am very pleased with this purchase. Amazingly super fast shipping. Definitely don't mind doing business here!
  • Great product! By zacuarium on 4/2/2014

    First protein skimmer. Everything I wanted in a skimmer. Easy to use and really does the job. Instructions are lacking, but everything else is great!
  • Worth every penny By Newbee on 3/25/2014

    Great skimmer vary quit and all around great skimmer the instructions are horrible but if u pull up reef octopus bh 100o on youtube there are plenty of videos to help you out easy set up
  • Worth the money By VeganForLife on 3/22/2014

    My old octo protein skimmer crapped out on me and after chats/emails to you folks, I ordered this. It even arrived ahead of schedule. Easy to put together, having had one similar; although you maybe ought to do a video about that? W/in 2 hours it was pulling skim-mate out of my tank. Of course I had to christen it in by not having the connection to the pump totally tight, and it started leaking there, but that seems to be how things work sometimes. :)
    I highly recommend this. I have a 72 gal. bowfront reef tank. I also highly recommend Bulk Reef Supply. You all have convinced me you only sell top quality products. Anything I've gotten from you has been excellent.
    Thanks!
  • Great skimmer By Scott on 3/21/2014

    Bought this skimmer for my 55 mixed. Couldn't be happier with my purchase. Great product and packaged very well as usual from BRS. I needed a HOB skimmer due to not running a sump. After reading other reviews and comparing other products, my decision to buy this one was made. Very glad I did.
  • Best Skimmer Period By dvs on 3/14/2014

    My first skimmer I purchased was a junky budget skimmer thinking I could save some money, I ended up breaking the skimmer. I took that as a sign to get something of quality mainly because everyone emphasizing to me NOT to skimp on the protein skimmer. I took the advice of everyone and purchased this bad boy, the quality, functionality, and performance is unparallelled to anything I could have hope for. Took out half a cup full of dark nasty gunk within a few hours of setting up. Definitely recommend this product to anyone in the market for a high quality protein skimmer.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Reef Octopus BH1000 Hang-on-the-Back Protein Skimmer