My Cart (0 items)
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

Reef Octopus BH100 Hang-on-the-Back
Protein Skimmer

SKU: 204056


  • Reef Octopus BH100 By Guy on 5/22/2014

    Works great. Just let it break-in and fine tune it. Easy, easy, easy. Performs great and super quiet.
  • Great Skimmer By Lionel on 4/10/2014

    I'll save you hours of research. This is a well built, relatively quiet skimmer. I was looking for a skimmer for my 50 gal breeder and I'm very happy with Reef Octopus's products. My only regret is not going with the 1000 or 2000, mostly because of the external mounted pump and 50 gallons seems to be the biggest tank I would put this on.
    Overall, a great product that does what it says.
  • Awesome Skimmer! By Adam on 3/28/2014

    A great skimmer for someone who is still new to the hobby. I've only been keeping saltwater tanks for a little over a year and this is one of my best purchases, next to an RO/DI system. It took a little over 48 hours for it to break in and start producing a light skimmate. After a week I had some nice, dark skimmate being pulled from my tank.

    The only negatives to this skimmer are the directions and the in tank pump. Youtube quickly solved the directions problem and the in tank pump does take up some room in my 29gal tank, but the way the pump is set up it skims the top of my water which I really like! The only other downfall is the open side of the skimmer leading to the return. This just adds a little more to the salt creep and evaporation - but that's what top off RO/DI water is always for.

    Even with the few downfalls I still give this skimmer a 5/5 because of the quality build of the skimmer and how it functions so quietly. My old Coralife super skimmer was extremely loud and this skimmer is the complete opposite.
  • My first real skimmer By N. Clark on 3/8/2014

    After spending quite a few months researching skimmers for my new 45gal tank it came down to two models; the Reef Octopus and the Aquamaxx. After talking to some people on a few reefer forums, seeing a huge one up close at my local zoo, and chatting with a few LFS employees I ended up with this one. It was pretty easy to put together even though the instructions are a little useless.

    Once I got her up and running she started pulling things out of the water right away. I was having to empty the cup two-three times a day for the first few days. Now that its been about a week or so it's down to every other day or so.

    It's a very quiet skimmer. Just a little bit of noise when it first starts up. I think my Marineland filter makes a racket compaired to it.

    All in all though I am very happy with it!
  • Excellent By Keyser Soze on 3/7/2014

    I'm very pleased with this skimmer. It's well built, works well, and is quiet as a mouse. It comes mostly put together, just look at the diagram to complete the assembly. There is no priming of the pump, no bubbles in the tank, or any surprises involved. Just plug and play.

    The only negative is the supposed "surface skimmer" intake is too short to reach the surface (for me). I think there have been several versions of this skimmer and they add small improvements with each version.
  • Works as stated By Eric on 1/1/2014

    The directions suck, the skimmer works great , if I were to do it again I would get the BH1000 model instead because it has the pump outside of the tank. I knew this when I got it but was in a hurry. My water is crystal clear in a 40 gallon breeder tank with a Greenspotted pufferfish.
  • Good Quality - Quiet Operation By Mark on 12/29/2013

    Good Skimmer for a good price.
    Quality Construction
    Bad Directions.
  • Would Buy Again By Brandy Anderson on 11/29/2013

    I've had this skimmer for about 4 years, and it's still working great. Only complaint is that the rubber band holding the collection cup in place will wear out eventually and you'll have to replace it, but that's not a big deal compared to the great value of this product.
  • Great Product By Treye on 10/25/2013

    This product works great! Simple installation, very quite, and does a great job skimming. I have a 36-gallon bow and this does take up more space than I'd like it to. I'm new to the hobby and if I were to do it all over again, I'd go with a sump and in-sump skimmer, but it works great for what I have!
  • excellent construction By Jake Wilkerson on 10/15/2013

    This unit is really solid. Came in nice secure packaging.

    It's still breaking in so I can't comment on it's true potential but it seems very promising.

    One thing to watch for are the instructions. Pretty well useless on how to operate and set correctly.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Reef Octopus BH100 Hang-on-the-Back Protein Skimmer