Reef Octopus Classic 200INT 8” Internal Protein Skimmer

Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

Reef Octopus Classic 200INT 8” Internal Protein Skimmer

SKU: 204063
Performance
20 Review(s)
$299.99
Please wait...
OR
  • amazing skimmer By on 2/4/2016

    I got this skimmer with a used tank i purchased and im impressed. It skims like a beast. Going from a nwb110 on my 60g to this 200 on my 160. Im in love with this skimmer. And it no louder than anything else in my tank. I can barely hear it
  • Awsome By on 1/1/2016

    This is an awsome skimmer!! Made very well and once you get it broke in and dialed in I've never had to re adjust it.
  • Awesome skimmer 1 year and counting By on 4/3/2015

    I have only owned Reef Octopus skimmers, so I may be biased, but this beast is great. I cleaned and vinegared the entire setup at 6 months and a year, and it continues to impress me. In smaller tanks I had the 4: skimmer, and loved it, so when I bought my 155, I knew I would get another one.

    It is as big as they say, and a tight fit for me, but the skimmate I get makes it worth it. As for noise, I really don't think it is that noisey, but I have nothing to compare it to
  • Good skimmer By on 1/14/2015

    I have owned the 4" 6" and now the 8" reef octopus int skimmers. They are quality made, affordable and skim like crazy!!! one of the only skimmers with gate valve in this price range.
  • Good Line of Skimmers for the Price By on 7/22/2014

    I recently upgraded to the 8" after running the 4" for some time. I upgraded my tank and added biopellets so I wanted the larger sized skimmer. So far so good as i'm still breaking in now. Pump rattles a bit, but for me it's not a problem in my basement sump. Running this on about 110 gallons of system water.
  • Great skimmer By on 2/20/2014

    Great skimmer in my opinion. Started skimming yesterday and its already pulling out some skimmate.. Relatively quiet, easy to tweak.. Definitely need a decent size sump, i put mine in a 20 gallon long tank, that i partitioned. It has a pretty big foot print, and is pretty tall, but it fit nicely into my sump under a 75 gallon stand.

    I have fead some of the bad reviews on this skimmer, and have not personally run into any of the complaints., and i will say that my corals have noticed a difference already. I was not previously skimming in this tank, because i didnt really have any kind of bioload, but recently have been adding more livestock, and the skimmer is working as advertised well before the stated break in period.

    I would highly recommend this skimmer, even for a beginner
  • Good skimming but noisy By on 12/9/2013

    The first year this skimmer was pretty quiet. Now that it is 13 months old, it has become noisy. Very noisy. I hope to find a quit one soon.
  • good loud skimer By on 10/8/2013

    The skimmer works great the only problem I have with it is the noise. Ican hear the loud hum sound as soon as I het the top of the stairs. Think I want to upgrade the pump to quiet it down. If the skimmer wasnot this loud it would have 5 stars. I have it running on a 120 with a total water volume of about 140
  • Great skimmer By on 9/18/2013

    I would like to begin with the dimensions of the skimmer they are spot on to what brs list and reef octopus has, in my case it turned out great because I went ahead and built the compartment for the skimmer on a 20 gallon long tank used as a sump. I have had the skimmer up and running about a month now and it is working really well. The one drawback I see is that some of the really fancy skimmers allow you to adjust the size of the bubbles along with the water level line. This skimmer allows only adjustment of the water level line which is fine by me since it is pulling the gunk out and it is not a top dollar skimmer but still worth every penny. Lastly I would comment on the noise of the skimmer. It is not the quietest thing in the world but it is in my living room so I don't have to sleep with it and in my case that is fine, I am not a noise junkie and my dog comfortably falls asleep next to my tank. With the cabinet closed I hear a hum and slight splashing sounds of water but this is not the deal breaker for me.
  • skims but noisy By on 8/29/2013

    the skimmer is solid and skims great but the pump is bulky, cheap and very noisy

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Reef Octopus Classic 200INT 8” Internal Protein Skimmer