My Cart (0 items)
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

Reef Octopus Classic 200INT 8”
Internal Protein Skimmer

SKU: 204063


  • Good Line of Skimmers for the Price By Chris on 7/22/2014

    I recently upgraded to the 8" after running the 4" for some time. I upgraded my tank and added biopellets so I wanted the larger sized skimmer. So far so good as i'm still breaking in now. Pump rattles a bit, but for me it's not a problem in my basement sump. Running this on about 110 gallons of system water.
  • Great skimmer By DC on 2/20/2014

    Great skimmer in my opinion. Started skimming yesterday and its already pulling out some skimmate.. Relatively quiet, easy to tweak.. Definitely need a decent size sump, i put mine in a 20 gallon long tank, that i partitioned. It has a pretty big foot print, and is pretty tall, but it fit nicely into my sump under a 75 gallon stand.

    I have fead some of the bad reviews on this skimmer, and have not personally run into any of the complaints., and i will say that my corals have noticed a difference already. I was not previously skimming in this tank, because i didnt really have any kind of bioload, but recently have been adding more livestock, and the skimmer is working as advertised well before the stated break in period.

    I would highly recommend this skimmer, even for a beginner
  • Good skimming but noisy By joseph on 12/9/2013

    The first year this skimmer was pretty quiet. Now that it is 13 months old, it has become noisy. Very noisy. I hope to find a quit one soon.
  • good loud skimer By Jason on 10/8/2013

    The skimmer works great the only problem I have with it is the noise. Ican hear the loud hum sound as soon as I het the top of the stairs. Think I want to upgrade the pump to quiet it down. If the skimmer wasnot this loud it would have 5 stars. I have it running on a 120 with a total water volume of about 140
  • Great skimmer By Jay on 9/18/2013

    I would like to begin with the dimensions of the skimmer they are spot on to what brs list and reef octopus has, in my case it turned out great because I went ahead and built the compartment for the skimmer on a 20 gallon long tank used as a sump. I have had the skimmer up and running about a month now and it is working really well. The one drawback I see is that some of the really fancy skimmers allow you to adjust the size of the bubbles along with the water level line. This skimmer allows only adjustment of the water level line which is fine by me since it is pulling the gunk out and it is not a top dollar skimmer but still worth every penny. Lastly I would comment on the noise of the skimmer. It is not the quietest thing in the world but it is in my living room so I don't have to sleep with it and in my case that is fine, I am not a noise junkie and my dog comfortably falls asleep next to my tank. With the cabinet closed I hear a hum and slight splashing sounds of water but this is not the deal breaker for me.
  • skims but noisy By trueopinion on 8/29/2013

    the skimmer is solid and skims great but the pump is bulky, cheap and very noisy
  • Reef Octopus NWB200 By Budman on 3/14/2013

    I switched skimmer and went from a SWC160 to Reef Octopus NWB200, I've had it 3 days now and its nowhere near as quiet as my old, still hasn't had a chance though to break in which they say in the instructions could take 3-4 week, Thats a long time for a skimmer to break in ,I have to say after the 3 days Im starting to see foam,that being said its been 3 days of not exporting nutrients.I hear a hum from it and I should of went with one that had a better pump.I will give it time to see if it quiets down and i will update this in a couple weeks
  • Pinwheel shaft By Drake on 9/14/2012

    I love the skimmer it's an easy set up and completely does the job well above the needs of my tank. But the problem I have found with this set up is within two months I have had to get warranty replacement for two different pinwheel shafts for the magnet portion of the pump the second of which broke in the exact same spot within two seconds of install.
  • Amazing By Dusty on 9/9/2012

    This skimmer is simply amazing. Extremely easy setup, thorough directions, and overall built very well. A very short break in period and once that was done it was running circles around my old skimmer! If i ever set up another reef tank, Reef Octopus will be my first choice!
  • Works great! By Mike on 8/30/2012

    Been using the NWB200 for a year now and it's great. Lots of stinky foam and no breakdowns.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Reef Octopus Classic 200INT 8” Internal Protein Skimmer