Reef Octopus Classic 150INT 6” Internal Protein Skimmer

Reef Octopus Classic 150INT 6” Internal Protein Skimmer
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Reef Octopus Classic 150INT 6” Internal Protein Skimmer
  • Reef Octopus Classic 150INT 6” Internal Protein Skimmer Collection Cup
  • Reef Octopus Classic 150INT 6” Internal Protein Skimmer Pump
  • Reef Octopus Classic 150INT 6” Internal Protein Skimmer Bubble Plate
  • Reef Octopus Classic 150INT 6” Internal Protein Skimmer Chamber
  • Reef Octopus Classic 150INT 6” Internal Protein Skimmer Chamber Close Up

Reef Octopus Classic 150INT 6” Internal Protein Skimmer

SKU: 204062
Performance
100 Review(s)
$229.99
Please wait...
OR
  • Great Skimmer By on 2/8/2017

    I have had this skimmer for 2 years and I must say its a beast. Its on a 125 gallon with 40 gallon sump. I have a decent amount of fish and corals. I skim wet and have nothing but good things to say about the Reef Octopus Classic 150.
  • Great skimmer By on 12/8/2016

    I have been running the 150 INT for 1 year now so I thought I would give my input. I run a 75 gallon display with a 20 long sump.

    The skimmer was a little wonky for the first week. It overflowed twice back into the sump. After a little trial and error I got it dialed in just right. Since the first week I haven't adjusted the valve. I empty mine once a month, not because it's full but because the tube gets grimy after the neck tapers to fit into the collection cup. I use a baby bottle cleaner to clean the cup.

    One improvement I would like to have would be an easier to clean skimmer body. There is a grate with tiny holes built into the bottom of the skimmer. The underneath section is borderline impossible to clean without the use of chemical. I just leave mine dirty as it really is more of an visual problem. My guess is including a removable bottom would be cost prohibitive. I purchased this skimmer for the price/quality ratio I could afford.

    I have about 70lbs of pukani, 40lbs of sand.
    1 chromas
    1 clown goby
    1 Cardinal
    1 pajama Cardinal
    1 lawnmower blenny
    1 fire fish
    1 Royal grama
    5 sexy shrimp
    1 peppermint shrimp
  • Great skimmer By on 12/7/2016

    Great skimmer for the price. I run it on a 90 gallon reef with a 20 gallon sump. Would buy again.

    The only issue I have is that since I started using bio pellets the dry foam skimmer mate is crazy and over flows a little out of the collection cup but not back into the sump. Did not have this problem prior to using bio pellets.
  • A good value By on 9/9/2016

    I've had this skimmer running now for 7 months and am happy with it. It took a while to figure it out as I was new to reef tanks but once I did it does a good job. The instructions are non existent on how to properly set it up. I want to get a float switch for it to shut it off so it doesn't overflow as it does go hay wire sometimes.
  • Good skimmer, pay attention to instructions By on 7/29/2016

    There is a youtube video out there by coralvue. Make sure to watch, and pay attention to the setup instructions. I'd never had an in-sump skimmer before, and this had a lot of good reviews so I rolled the dice. I did fight with it a while to get it broken in but now she's running and pulling good skim. I'd recommend breaking it in with vinegar prior to installing just to shorten the breakin time. That said it's a pretty awesome skimmer.
  • works great By on 6/12/2016

    got skim right after setup
  • Good skimmer By on 6/10/2016

    Very good skimmer. It was pulling skimate within 2 hours of running.
  • Pretty good unit By on 5/6/2016

    Easy to set up. Quiet and pretty powerful. Only issue is that I guess it takes weeks to "break in" new skimmers and it overfills and then sometimes never reaches the top but since I'm still in that breakin period I can't fault this unit. Someone said if you soak it in vinagerfirst you shorten the breakin period.
  • Good skimmer for the price By on 4/22/2016

    It's bigger than I expected...but that's what I wanted. I have it in a 90 gallon mixed reef with 30 gallon sump that I feed decently. Took about a week to break in and get it dialed in, but it's skimming great now.
  • Not to happy with it By on 1/21/2016

    After my skimmer bit the dust I read the reviews on this skimmer and decided it sounded like a good one but boy was I wrong. I have it on a 75 gallon tank with a sump that holds about 15 gallons. I can't get this thing to skim one bit I have had it for about 4 weeks now and I am ready to throw it out the window. I have tried raising it from 8.5" to 6.5" and also raised and lower it inside the skimmers cup nothing seems to work. I know there is plenty to be skimmed out because because my old skimmer was constantly skimming. I rated it 2 stars because it at least turns on.