Reef Octopus Classic 110INT 4” Internal Protein Skimmer

Reef Octopus Classic 110INT 4” Internal Protein Skimmer
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Reef Octopus Classic 110INT 4” Internal Protein Skimmer
  • Reef Octopus Classic 110INT 4” Internal Protein Skimmer Pump
  • Reef Octopus Classic 110INT 4” Internal Protein Skimmer Collection Chamber
  • Reef Octopus Classic 110INT 4” Internal Protein Skimmer Bubble Plate
  • Reef Octopus Classic 110INT 4” Internal Protein Skimmer Silenser
  • Reef Octopus Classic 110INT 4” Internal Protein Skimmer Lower Unit
  • Reef Octopus Classic 110INT 4” Internal Protein Skimmer Valve

Reef Octopus Classic 110INT 4” Internal Protein Skimmer

SKU: 204061
Performance
94 Review(s)
$189.99
Please wait...
OR
  • Happy with This Reactor By on 9/9/2016

    I've already been running the 6" version of this skimmer and was very happy. I had a smaller tank (40 gallon) that needed an ungraded skimmer and went with this smaller version. So far it has been working well but I wish I went with the larger skimmer as this one seems to be a little harder to "set." I'm happy with the pump and the skimmer product and it does a good job of sucking out the junk. You can't go wrong with this.
  • Unit to big for sump By on 3/29/2016

    It is so big it will not fit in the sump I am not sure what to do with it
  • Loved until pump died By on 3/20/2016

    Absolutely great skimmate produced after just a few days. Short break in period. I haven't even owned this one month and the pump stopped working. Hope BRS will replace.
  • Excellent By on 3/14/2016

    I just recently bought this Skimmer in preparation for building my tank. I did a lot of review readings, and comparisons to other makes and models. Probably a good solid 48 hours worth of research.

    For my tank size (55 gallon), for the price, this skimmer is hands down, the best you can get.

    Having said that, there is a problem with balance, (stability). Fully assembled, without any water, not running, it will stand on it's own. But, it will easily tip over with the slightest pressure. If your going to remove the skimmer cup for cleaning, use 2 hands! One hand to hold the skimmer in place, the other hand to pull off the skimmer cup.

    My plan to overcome/fix this annoyance, is to silicone the damn thing in place. I plan to use 3 or for dabs of silicone, and silicone it in place. Kinda like spot welding, I'll be spot siliconing the bottom of the skimmer to the sump itself.
  • Great Product By on 3/5/2016

    I upgraded to this unit from the Seaclone 100 and have noticed a night and day difference. This skimmer works excellent and is a grwat buy at a great price.
  • Wonderful Skimmer By on 2/21/2016

    I love this skimmer. The pump is super quiet, and the collection cup has a waste drain that i port to an empty wine bottle. I cant really fit my hand into the skimmer for cleaning but that is not worth subtracting a star over due to the great value of the skimmer.
  • Great for the money By on 2/5/2016

    This skimmer works real well. It is quiet and effective. Although, the break in period was a bit long for me. However, that could have been due to the fact that i have this thing running on a system of 35 gallons total water volume. I have owned this skimmer for a while and the higher the bioload gets the better this thing performs. It skimmed wet for me at first but i only had one fish so you could say it just didnt have enough to skim out in the first place.
  • The best entry level skimmer By on 1/3/2016

    I tried this, the coralife super skimmer 125, and the aquac urchin pro. I like this one the best by far. Easiest to dial in, starts pulling black crud out immediately.
  • Awesome Skimmer! By on 11/15/2015

    I had this skimmer on a 65g mixed reef, and it's the best skimmer I've ever used. It pulls out skimmate that has the consistency of chocolate pudding, The gate valve makes fine tuning this pretty easy and a foam head forms almost immediately. Even though the directions were pretty terrible, it doesn't take more than 5 minutes to assemble. I gave it a 5/5 despite the poor directions because it performed so awesome. I'll definitely be using the classic again when I upgrade.
  • Unstable, tough to tune By on 11/10/2015

    Seems like a decent enough skimmer...but trying to adjust to get a nice dry skimmate is virtually impossible. It's either wet, or it's not at all. Incredibly frustrating. Because of the weight of the pump and it being outside the skimmer, the thing is also very prone to tipping - like, every time you try to remove the collection cup.

    INCREDIBLY sensitive to change in water level - I built a stand for it, which works ok...but since it's also very prone to tipping, it's not the most ideal solution.

    The sound of flowing water coming out of the valve is also quite loud...making this by FAR the loudest piece of my setup. I intentionally setup a bean animal to keep volume down, but this skimmer sort of made it a moot point.

    It is what it is and in some ways you do get what you pay for. This is an inexpensive skimmer, and it behaves like it from a design perspective. I does remove crud from the tank, albeit usually found in the water that flows out of the collection cup rather than in the cup itself.. It will certainly do fine while I'm just running softies in a massively understocked tank...but once I really start stocking, I'll likely be ditching this in favor of something with an internal pump, quieter operation, and more known for easy tuning.