Reef Octopus Classic 110INT 4” Internal Protein Skimmer

Reef Octopus Classic 110INT 4” Internal Protein Skimmer
Click on image to zoom
View full size image

More Views

  • Reef Octopus Classic 110INT 4” Internal Protein Skimmer
  • Reef Octopus Classic 110INT 4” Internal Protein Skimmer Pump
  • Reef Octopus Classic 110INT 4” Internal Protein Skimmer Collection Chamber
  • Reef Octopus Classic 110INT 4” Internal Protein Skimmer Bubble Plate
  • Reef Octopus Classic 110INT 4” Internal Protein Skimmer Silenser
  • Reef Octopus Classic 110INT 4” Internal Protein Skimmer Lower Unit
  • Reef Octopus Classic 110INT 4” Internal Protein Skimmer Valve

Reef Octopus Classic 110INT 4” Internal Protein Skimmer

SKU: 204061
Performance
87 Review(s)
$189.99
Please wait...
OR
  • The best entry level skimmer By Yak on 1/3/2016

    I tried this, the coralife super skimmer 125, and the aquac urchin pro. I like this one the best by far. Easiest to dial in, starts pulling black crud out immediately.
  • Awesome Skimmer! By Jeremy on 11/15/2015

    I had this skimmer on a 65g mixed reef, and it's the best skimmer I've ever used. It pulls out skimmate that has the consistency of chocolate pudding, The gate valve makes fine tuning this pretty easy and a foam head forms almost immediately. Even though the directions were pretty terrible, it doesn't take more than 5 minutes to assemble. I gave it a 5/5 despite the poor directions because it performed so awesome. I'll definitely be using the classic again when I upgrade.
  • Unstable, tough to tune By Geekymitch on 11/10/2015

    Seems like a decent enough skimmer...but trying to adjust to get a nice dry skimmate is virtually impossible. It's either wet, or it's not at all. Incredibly frustrating. Because of the weight of the pump and it being outside the skimmer, the thing is also very prone to tipping - like, every time you try to remove the collection cup.

    INCREDIBLY sensitive to change in water level - I built a stand for it, which works ok...but since it's also very prone to tipping, it's not the most ideal solution.

    The sound of flowing water coming out of the valve is also quite loud...making this by FAR the loudest piece of my setup. I intentionally setup a bean animal to keep volume down, but this skimmer sort of made it a moot point.

    It is what it is and in some ways you do get what you pay for. This is an inexpensive skimmer, and it behaves like it from a design perspective. I does remove crud from the tank, albeit usually found in the water that flows out of the collection cup rather than in the cup itself.. It will certainly do fine while I'm just running softies in a massively understocked tank...but once I really start stocking, I'll likely be ditching this in favor of something with an internal pump, quieter operation, and more known for easy tuning.
  • great product, good construction By Mitch on 6/16/2015

    For me being a newbie i really like this skimmer it was very easy for me to tune it and its very quiet
  • Pretty darn good skimmer for the price By Andrew on 5/18/2015

    Been going strong for close to three years on my 75g tank. Pulls out some nasty gunk. A little finicky when dialing it in, but it does a great job at this price point. I think if I were to upgrade, I'd need to spend a significant amount to get a better result, so this is a very good value.
  • Stay away from Reef Octopus By California Mixed Reef on 4/9/2015

    Buy any other skimmer on BRS except Reef Octopus. If any issues they are not allowed by Coralvue to return the skimmer or refund your money. I have been going back and forth with their customer service after purchasing elsewhere and they keep giving me the run around. While the BBB rates BRS an A+, Coralvue (the company that makes Reef Octopus) is not accredited and has a rating of D. Before sending replacement parts or refunding they will want you to perform test on faulty equipment and send them video of the malfunction. I have filed a complaint on Coralvue (reef octopus) with the BBB. Keep away from any Reef Octopus item customer service is a nightmare.
  • Skimmer tips over easy and is finincky. By oseymour on 3/15/2015

    The skimmer is well built but I had a couple of issues. The pump that is hanging on the side makes the skimmer tip over easily, every time I had to empty the collection cup, the skimmer would tip over. It also has a large footprint with the pump and exit pipe. It also takes a while to get dialed in
  • Solid Skimmer By Sean on 2/16/2015

    Very sturdy and stable, small footprint is perfect for my sump.
  • quiet By j roush on 12/16/2014

    this skimmer is super quiet and started skimming immediatly
  • Good but. . . By Ryan on 11/25/2014

    This is a great skimmer but in the first year I've already had to replace an impeller because it broke in half. other than that its a great skimmer and the smell of the liquid coming out is like sewage so that's nice.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Reef Octopus Classic 110INT 4” Internal Protein Skimmer